We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #146 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
st. charles, mo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location if you are going to broadway shows & frequenting time square. We walked everywhere. The hotel rooms are very well appointed, but keep in mind they are small: a boutique hotel right? Everyone was very attentive to our needs and quick to offer assistance.

There are many restaurants nearby that are great. The hotel does have a bar and restaurant. The restaurant does have a per-fix menu. We did not eat here because we already had reservations at other eateries prior to our arrival

I highly recommend staying at the Algonquin especially if you will be in the mid-town area.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    454
    141
    77
    55
See reviews for
198
531
94
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We called by this evening for a drink after an emotionally connecting day with John Lennon at Strawberry Fields Central Park. Not only was there an emotional rendering of Imagine by a very accomplished performer, but while he was singing a ray of light shone on the Imagine Mosaic. Later we walked across to the Dakota Building at the entrance of which John was shot.
We needed a cocktail at The Algonquin Hotel to connect with Dorothy Parker after this experience - I can recommend the Blueberry Lemonade - my wife Colleen tried a Mojito which was sublime, and friend Helen a classic martini, James Bonds
'S favourite! We can highly recommend the Artisanal Ne York Cheese Plate and the Chicken Quesadilla.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Some people might not, but I love this place. It is my preferred Marriott property in the City (and I've tried a several of the top grade other ones.) It is perfectly situated in midtown to be close to the theaters and out of the tourist madness. it suits me for getting to my business location too and is close to countless good restaurants. The rooms are a little snug, but have been nicely upgraded with attractive newly-fitted bathrooms. The elevators are creaky and a bit unreliable and can be slow. I could hear the person in the next room through the adjoining door, but I sleep really soundly, so who cares?

Bottom lin: it is a charming place with New York history and character! The staff are helpful and welcoming! It's a perfectly convenient location! You can eat in the Round Table restaurant! I'll stay another two weeks here anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a very old, famous hotel (Dorothy Parker and the Algonquin Round Table in the 1920s). It was renovated last year. It has retained all of the old New York character in the lobby and restaurant/bar. The room was fairly large, with a large, modern bathroom. Unfortunately, the frosted window looked out on an air shaft. The hotel offered to give us a different, smaller room that looked out over the street, but we stayed with the larger room. Everything was new and clean and of good quality. We had breakfast once in the hotel dining room. It was excellent but pricey. The staff was very friendly. So was Matilda the cat (the hotel mascot). Location is very good (mid-town on 44th Street, between Fifth and Sixth). A fifteen minute walk to Grand Central or the theater district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a lovely New York landmark. Stayed during the week of September 11th and was not disappointed. Small room is all you need for an NYC stay. Was there for 6 days. Excellent service from the staff, friendly, and the room was very clean. Very comfy bed. Loved the decor. Front room was a bit noisy late at night, but that's NYC. Zero noise from the hallway. I'd stay again without a doubt!

Room Tip: Higher rooms may have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Greetings and thank you on behalf of the Algonquin team for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate your business and your feedback too.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I liked the hotel. The room was on the small side, but big enough. Even being on the street side of the hotel was quiet. The Blue Bar was great. Good location, quiet, near the subway - all made for a great stay. Only complaint: no half and half with the free coffee (only milk).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I can't say I would stay here again and spend my own money! I used my points for two nights last week and found it to be very dark in the lobby, very cramped in the bar area and very loud in my room. So loud that we could not get a good night's sleep. You know when they have ear plugs in the night stand it must be a loud room.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the street side. It is very loud otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Greetings, The Algonquin always appreciates guest commentary and feedback. The hotel is pleased that you did decide to stay for two nights and see the historic and iconic venue that opened in 1902. The dark paneled walls are original to the design of the Lobby and restaurant area. The Blue Bar is often quite crowded, it is a popular bar in New York City and during the 2012 guts to décor renovation was expanded by 20% to the current size. The Algonquin has long provided the thoughtful amenity, ear plugs, for guests to use when they find the sounds of our city to be a contrast to what they are most used to back home. Thank you for your business.
Gary J Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.