We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 15% Off
Ranked #135 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking for a nice hotel in mid town, consider the Algonquin. The rooms are nicely renovated, but they are small. If you have a short stay, as we did, it didn't matter to us. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. The flood and drink prices are high if you are planning to eat and drink there, but with so many options in the area, you can easily find other options. The only negative for me was the complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby in the mornings. No cream for your coffee or tea...only milk??? And, Lipton tea bags. I had to walk across the street to Gregory's. The parfait and bagel and lox we had for breakfast were great, however. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    503
    149
    79
    56
See reviews for
213
604
99
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Was excited to stay at the Algonquin Hotel Times Square for it just become part of the Marriott Reservation system as part of the Autograph Collection. Very cool that this is where the Algonquin Round Table was with Dorothy Parker and her cronies. Hotel is very recently renovated. Nice renovation but not luxury. Rooms can be close together and hear next door . But the staff is top notch and being a Marriott Platinum they upgraded us to a two room suite which was very comfortable. Rooms are very nicel. Bathroom small but very nice. a Winner and worth i for a trip into Manhattan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Good location to midtown. Room furnishings and bedding and bathroom amenities are excellent. Rooms are on the smaller side of other Manhattan rooms and definitely smaller than luxury hotels in this class. Lobby is a fine place to have a drink but they charge "tourist" prices for food. Better off going next door to DB's for a bite.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Algonquin over Memorial Day weekend. It was the first time there since the renovations. Marriott has refurbished it while preserving and enhancing the character of the hotel that played such a role in 20th century writing, literature, and intellectual life. Like most New York hotels, the rooms are comparatively small. However, they are well appointed and very comfortable. The famous lobby and Roundtable area are intact and quite enjoyable. The staff were very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. We also had the pre-theatre prix fixe dinner. It was excellent and, by New York standards, a real bargain. We had two minor problems during our stay. One was with a reading light and the other was with television brightness. The light was fixed quickly but the television problem was not resolved. Aside from this, our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Algonquin -- best known for the Algonquin Round Table literary circle of the 1920's and its part in the founding of "The New Yorker" magazine -- remains a character-filled classic hotel a couple of blocks from Times Square. Now a part of Marriott's Autograph collection, the rooms -- while small (as are most NYC hotel rooms) -- have been completely updated and are quite comfortable. I would recommend a king room, which is somewhat larger for marginally more money. Bathrooms are quite tiny, but well appointed. Staff were universally very friendly and helpful. The public areas in the lobby are nicely done, and food and drink -- while not cheap -- are good quality. The hotel is on 44th Street just east of 6th Avenue, which is reasonably quiet, while being very close to all Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center and Fifth Avenue shopping. Convenient to the subway, and taxis are easily available (and not as expensive as you might think). All in all, a great place to stay in the theater district.

Room Tip: King rooms are larger, but bathrooms remain small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights at the Algonquin. The rooms are nicely decorated but they are tiny and completely overpriced for what you get. The staff is generally nice. They have a small gym which tends to be quiet. The bar downstairs is OK if you are looking for something old fashioned. The location is very convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be tiny so no escape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a tough review for me because there were a lot of things I really wanted to like about this hotel.

Checking in at 10:30pm after riding in a chartered bus for 4 and a half hours, I really wanted check in to be easy and smooth. It wasn't. The woman who was checking me in was unfriendly, indifferent, and not helpful when I had questions about using a credit card vs. debit card.

After that too-long unpleasant experience, I squashed myself into one of their elevators and up to my room. My room. It wasn't a room. it was a closet. It is literally the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My best guess is that the room itself was about 80 square feet. And a queen bed took up half the space. I had to walk sideways to comfortable walk around the bed to the bathroom. The desk was tiny and thankfully I didn't have to do any work from the room, because my laptop would have barely fit on it. The bathroom - tiny. I kept bumping into the walls and the doors when I was in the shower.

Don't get me wrong - other reviewers are correct: This is a beautiful old hotel. The appointments in the room were very nice. The headboard in particular was really cool - it was a blown up sepia toned vintage print of the city that lit up from behind.

But, the room was simply too small for the rate they charged. The service was pitiful for the rate they charged. One easy solution would have been to outfit the tiny rooms with full sized beds instead of queen beds. It would have been more appropriate for the scale of the room. Actually, a twin bed would have been most appropriate.

If I ever book a comparable rate in NYC, it will be at a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Algonquin Hotel. We are sorry that you did not have the experience you hoped for. The Algonquin Hotel values guest feedback and appreciates the time you took to comment about your visit. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have read your commentary and identified the glitches you experienced with your room accommodation and staff service, in particular your arrival experience. The Algonquin understands the importance of the arrival experience to a guest and how that can affect your overall visit. This commentary will be shared with the team of associates to be used as a teaching tool for improvement.

As a boutique style hotel our rooms are not large in size, however they are very well equipped with all the necessities today’s traveler needs. The hotel does have options available for room types, Algonquin rooms consist of one queen size bed, one king size bed, or a suite, which consists of a bedroom with a king size bed and a living room area with a queen sofa bed. We hope this recent stay does not dramatically change your perception of our hotel please consider the Algonquin Hotel for your next visit to New York City.

Thank you,
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and L'Occitane bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.