We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel -good location-good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #142 of 456 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very nice hotel -good location-good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Was excited to stay at the Algonquin Hotel Times Square for it just become part of the Marriott Reservation system as part of the Autograph Collection. Very cool that this is where the Algonquin Round Table was with Dorothy Parker and her cronies. Hotel is very recently renovated. Nice renovation but not luxury. Rooms can be close together and hear next door . But the staff is top notch and being a Marriott Platinum they upgraded us to a two room suite which was very comfortable. Rooms are very nicel. Bathroom small but very nice. a Winner and worth i for a trip into Manhattan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    441
    137
    74
    54
See reviews for
192
510
92
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good location to midtown. Room furnishings and bedding and bathroom amenities are excellent. Rooms are on the smaller side of other Manhattan rooms and definitely smaller than luxury hotels in this class. Lobby is a fine place to have a drink but they charge "tourist" prices for food. Better off going next door to DB's for a bite.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Algonquin over Memorial Day weekend. It was the first time there since the renovations. Marriott has refurbished it while preserving and enhancing the character of the hotel that played such a role in 20th century writing, literature, and intellectual life. Like most New York hotels, the rooms are comparatively small. However, they are well appointed and very comfortable. The famous lobby and Roundtable area are intact and quite enjoyable. The staff were very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. We also had the pre-theatre prix fixe dinner. It was excellent and, by New York standards, a real bargain. We had two minor problems during our stay. One was with a reading light and the other was with television brightness. The light was fixed quickly but the television problem was not resolved. Aside from this, our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Algonquin -- best known for the Algonquin Round Table literary circle of the 1920's and its part in the founding of "The New Yorker" magazine -- remains a character-filled classic hotel a couple of blocks from Times Square. Now a part of Marriott's Autograph collection, the rooms -- while small (as are most NYC hotel rooms) -- have been completely updated and are quite comfortable. I would recommend a king room, which is somewhat larger for marginally more money. Bathrooms are quite tiny, but well appointed. Staff were universally very friendly and helpful. The public areas in the lobby are nicely done, and food and drink -- while not cheap -- are good quality. The hotel is on 44th Street just east of 6th Avenue, which is reasonably quiet, while being very close to all Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center and Fifth Avenue shopping. Convenient to the subway, and taxis are easily available (and not as expensive as you might think). All in all, a great place to stay in the theater district.

Room Tip: King rooms are larger, but bathrooms remain small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights at the Algonquin. The rooms are nicely decorated but they are tiny and completely overpriced for what you get. The staff is generally nice. They have a small gym which tends to be quiet. The bar downstairs is OK if you are looking for something old fashioned. The location is very convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be tiny so no escape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a tough review for me because there were a lot of things I really wanted to like about this hotel.

Checking in at 10:30pm after riding in a chartered bus for 4 and a half hours, I really wanted check in to be easy and smooth. It wasn't. The woman who was checking me in was unfriendly, indifferent, and not helpful when I had questions about using a credit card vs. debit card.

After that too-long unpleasant experience, I squashed myself into one of their elevators and up to my room. My room. It wasn't a room. it was a closet. It is literally the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My best guess is that the room itself was about 80 square feet. And a queen bed took up half the space. I had to walk sideways to comfortable walk around the bed to the bathroom. The desk was tiny and thankfully I didn't have to do any work from the room, because my laptop would have barely fit on it. The bathroom - tiny. I kept bumping into the walls and the doors when I was in the shower.

Don't get me wrong - other reviewers are correct: This is a beautiful old hotel. The appointments in the room were very nice. The headboard in particular was really cool - it was a blown up sepia toned vintage print of the city that lit up from behind.

But, the room was simply too small for the rate they charged. The service was pitiful for the rate they charged. One easy solution would have been to outfit the tiny rooms with full sized beds instead of queen beds. It would have been more appropriate for the scale of the room. Actually, a twin bed would have been most appropriate.

If I ever book a comparable rate in NYC, it will be at a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Algonquin Hotel. We are sorry that you did not have the experience you hoped for. The Algonquin Hotel values guest feedback and appreciates the time you took to comment about your visit. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have read your commentary and identified the glitches you experienced with your room accommodation and staff service, in particular your arrival experience. The Algonquin understands the importance of the arrival experience to a guest and how that can affect your overall visit. This commentary will be shared with the team of associates to be used as a teaching tool for improvement.

As a boutique style hotel our rooms are not large in size, however they are very well equipped with all the necessities today’s traveler needs. The hotel does have options available for room types, Algonquin rooms consist of one queen size bed, one king size bed, or a suite, which consists of a bedroom with a king size bed and a living room area with a queen sofa bed. We hope this recent stay does not dramatically change your perception of our hotel please consider the Algonquin Hotel for your next visit to New York City.

Thank you,
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murwillumbah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We particularly wanted to stay at this hotel because of its links to the past. We were not disappointed. Yes, the room was small, but it is an old hotel - recently renovated - and the appointments were luxurious. The receptionists delightfully friendly and the bar staff attentive. It is a great pity that Matilda the incumbent cat is not allowed to roam, because of some "politically correct" nonsense - if someone is unable to enjoy the wonderful companionship of a cat - then by all means find another hotel! The witty writers of the past who frequented the "round table" would, I am sure, be sad that Matilda must remain behind the reception desk at all times. No one seems to complain about the labradors at The Fairmont in Vancouver. Apart from this, we were delighted with our six night stay at the famous Algonquin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.