We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Near Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #136 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Classic Near Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Algonquin -- best known for the Algonquin Round Table literary circle of the 1920's and its part in the founding of "The New Yorker" magazine -- remains a character-filled classic hotel a couple of blocks from Times Square. Now a part of Marriott's Autograph collection, the rooms -- while small (as are most NYC hotel rooms) -- have been completely updated and are quite comfortable. I would recommend a king room, which is somewhat larger for marginally more money. Bathrooms are quite tiny, but well appointed. Staff were universally very friendly and helpful. The public areas in the lobby are nicely done, and food and drink -- while not cheap -- are good quality. The hotel is on 44th Street just east of 6th Avenue, which is reasonably quiet, while being very close to all Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center and Fifth Avenue shopping. Convenient to the subway, and taxis are easily available (and not as expensive as you might think). All in all, a great place to stay in the theater district.

Room Tip: King rooms are larger, but bathrooms remain small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    412
    134
    73
    53
See reviews for
177
467
92
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights at the Algonquin. The rooms are nicely decorated but they are tiny and completely overpriced for what you get. The staff is generally nice. They have a small gym which tends to be quiet. The bar downstairs is OK if you are looking for something old fashioned. The location is very convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be tiny so no escape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a tough review for me because there were a lot of things I really wanted to like about this hotel.

Checking in at 10:30pm after riding in a chartered bus for 4 and a half hours, I really wanted check in to be easy and smooth. It wasn't. The woman who was checking me in was unfriendly, indifferent, and not helpful when I had questions about using a credit card vs. debit card.

After that too-long unpleasant experience, I squashed myself into one of their elevators and up to my room. My room. It wasn't a room. it was a closet. It is literally the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My best guess is that the room itself was about 80 square feet. And a queen bed took up half the space. I had to walk sideways to comfortable walk around the bed to the bathroom. The desk was tiny and thankfully I didn't have to do any work from the room, because my laptop would have barely fit on it. The bathroom - tiny. I kept bumping into the walls and the doors when I was in the shower.

Don't get me wrong - other reviewers are correct: This is a beautiful old hotel. The appointments in the room were very nice. The headboard in particular was really cool - it was a blown up sepia toned vintage print of the city that lit up from behind.

But, the room was simply too small for the rate they charged. The service was pitiful for the rate they charged. One easy solution would have been to outfit the tiny rooms with full sized beds instead of queen beds. It would have been more appropriate for the scale of the room. Actually, a twin bed would have been most appropriate.

If I ever book a comparable rate in NYC, it will be at a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Algonquin Hotel. We are sorry that you did not have the experience you hoped for. The Algonquin Hotel values guest feedback and appreciates the time you took to comment about your visit. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have read your commentary and identified the glitches you experienced with your room accommodation and staff service, in particular your arrival experience. The Algonquin understands the importance of the arrival experience to a guest and how that can affect your overall visit. This commentary will be shared with the team of associates to be used as a teaching tool for improvement.

As a boutique style hotel our rooms are not large in size, however they are very well equipped with all the necessities today’s traveler needs. The hotel does have options available for room types, Algonquin rooms consist of one queen size bed, one king size bed, or a suite, which consists of a bedroom with a king size bed and a living room area with a queen sofa bed. We hope this recent stay does not dramatically change your perception of our hotel please consider the Algonquin Hotel for your next visit to New York City.

Thank you,
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murwillumbah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We particularly wanted to stay at this hotel because of its links to the past. We were not disappointed. Yes, the room was small, but it is an old hotel - recently renovated - and the appointments were luxurious. The receptionists delightfully friendly and the bar staff attentive. It is a great pity that Matilda the incumbent cat is not allowed to roam, because of some "politically correct" nonsense - if someone is unable to enjoy the wonderful companionship of a cat - then by all means find another hotel! The witty writers of the past who frequented the "round table" would, I am sure, be sad that Matilda must remain behind the reception desk at all times. No one seems to complain about the labradors at The Fairmont in Vancouver. Apart from this, we were delighted with our six night stay at the famous Algonquin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful hotel with lots of history. The location is great, near many attractions, but on a quieter street. We had a king room, and the only negative was how small it was. However, this is not unusual for NY. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get up in the morning. Service was good overall, although the doorman seemed more interested in texting. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Algonquin is a beautiful historic hotel right next to Times Square and the theatre district. What makes the hotel is its staff- their friendliness, attentiveness, kindness to our children, and overall warm atmosphere made the hotel for us. Matilda the cat was a hit with our girls but not as much as Kevin, Peter and Sean who all got hugs as we left for the many ways they looked out for us (umbrellas, bag watching, cab grabbing in pouring rain-all with a smile).
Every nice hotel has good furnishings, nice beds and shampoo- very few have staff that make you want to return just to see them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I had no idea what we had booked except that the hotel had a connection with Dorothy Parker going back to the 1920s and that it was one of the older Manhattan hotels. On arrival we were made welcome and managed to get an early check in. Good start.

The hotel is part of the Marriott Group Autograpg collection and is "bijoux" as such but the bedroom had adequte room and a comfortable bed. There was a big cupboard with an iron and ironing board, Very useful. The bathroom was supplied with fine soft towels and although there was no kettle in the room, coffee was readily available from a perculator type machine on the 2nd floor for free.

The lobby area had comfortable couches and chairs and although the drinks I thought were a bit more than our budget might afford, it was worth the opportunity to sit and relax aftrer a long walk around the many, many sights of Mid Town New York.

Free WiFi fast enough for me once you worked out how to connect.

Downsides - the rooms at the front and I would think the lower floors get all the road noise plus deliveries and collection of trash at two or three in the morning. maybe a bit of soundproofing is required at the front.

The location was quite good being close to Broadway and Times Square as well as abundant subway coneections to all parts of town.

Room Tip: Back rooms may be the best. Lower rooms get all the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.