We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you hug the staff as you leave- you know you'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #145 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“When you hug the staff as you leave- you know you'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Algonquin is a beautiful historic hotel right next to Times Square and the theatre district. What makes the hotel is its staff- their friendliness, attentiveness, kindness to our children, and overall warm atmosphere made the hotel for us. Matilda the cat was a hit with our girls but not as much as Kevin, Peter and Sean who all got hugs as we left for the many ways they looked out for us (umbrellas, bag watching, cab grabbing in pouring rain-all with a smile).
Every nice hotel has good furnishings, nice beds and shampoo- very few have staff that make you want to return just to see them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    454
    141
    77
    55
See reviews for
197
531
94
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I had no idea what we had booked except that the hotel had a connection with Dorothy Parker going back to the 1920s and that it was one of the older Manhattan hotels. On arrival we were made welcome and managed to get an early check in. Good start.

The hotel is part of the Marriott Group Autograpg collection and is "bijoux" as such but the bedroom had adequte room and a comfortable bed. There was a big cupboard with an iron and ironing board, Very useful. The bathroom was supplied with fine soft towels and although there was no kettle in the room, coffee was readily available from a perculator type machine on the 2nd floor for free.

The lobby area had comfortable couches and chairs and although the drinks I thought were a bit more than our budget might afford, it was worth the opportunity to sit and relax aftrer a long walk around the many, many sights of Mid Town New York.

Free WiFi fast enough for me once you worked out how to connect.

Downsides - the rooms at the front and I would think the lower floors get all the road noise plus deliveries and collection of trash at two or three in the morning. maybe a bit of soundproofing is required at the front.

The location was quite good being close to Broadway and Times Square as well as abundant subway coneections to all parts of town.

Room Tip: Back rooms may be the best. Lower rooms get all the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a nice old New York Hotel with tons of character. Rooms are small as youi'd expect in an older hotel but nicely remodeled and very comfortable. Too small for more than two people. Service was also great but the best part is the location which is ideal, especially if you like to walk.
The downside is no movies........at all. HBO and regular channels. I wouldn't want to stay there with my family as a result. The bigger problem is the internet is about as slow as dial up. Simply not workable for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Double room very cramped;not enough room to open suitcase.However many positives;staff friendly and helpful;well-positioned for Times Sq/theatre district;good value Pre theatre dinner in hotel restaurant;free coffee/papers in lobby each morning.
Would be keen to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a quick overnight stay and the service was impeccable. The rooms are on the small side but very nicely appointed. Location is great for walking to Times Square. The bar is magnificent. If your looking for an ultra modern hotel, this is not the place for you. If you'd like to stay in NY and feel a part of days gone by, this place is great. Due to the age of the building and its local, they even provide you with earplugs to assure a quite nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a suite if you can, its well worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Algonquin hotel in the early 70's as a kid, then in the late 80's and then just recently. Over a span of 45 years and maybe 6 stays it was the same in 1971 as 2013 ( except for the renovations) that ambiance and feel was there.

Our stay in December 2012, we asked the front desk where a liquor store was, they told us to hold on, they actually called the liquor store to see if they were still open( it was late) and then they gave us directions which actually got us there... Nice.

I think the grapefruit is cheaper now then it was in 1971!

The hotel has the feel of NYC. My wife and I are going stay in late August and have decided we are going to spend an entire day sitting in the lobby lounge and people watch. I hope to see Anthony Hopkins, he stays at the Algonquin.. And we know he has taste... Not counting the fava beans! Great place, love the renovations.

Room Tip: King room with a sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My room was beautiful. Very clean and although I found it small upon arriving it was actually quite roomy. The bathroom is right out of a decorating magazine. Loved, loved, loved the shower! The shower head has several massaging settings. Bed is comfy and pillows too. The overhead picture lights up, nice touch to the already elegant room. You will find earplugs in the nightstand drawer, don't look puzzled, it's the only drawback. Very, and I mean very noisy even for a city girl like me. Seems like every available garbage truck makes a stop/ pick up in front of this hotel. Between 3am and 5am expect don't expect to get some shut eye, it's impossible, even the window shades light up with shadows making it hard to keep you from falling asleep.

Staff is pleasant and helpful as well as knowledgable about the history of the hotel. As an experience,absolutely. As a restful night sleep, not.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.