We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #147 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Algonquin. It was the perfect location for us; close to Times Sq and the Theater District. Room was very nice. It was also small but we expected that. Noise level was very low and our room was opposite the elevator. Mattress was comfortable. We slept great.

The lobby was inviting. The blue bar was fun and crowded both nights we were there. The continental breakfast that came with our package was much better than I anticipated. It came with coffee, juice and three pastries for each of us. Staff was friendly. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because the elevators were very slow. We had to drag our bags down 5 flights. We were traveling light so not a big problem.

We were there on a Rue La La deal so I based the value for what we paid as excellent. Might not have been so generous if we had paid their rack rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    455
    141
    77
    55
See reviews for
198
532
94
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've been going to the Alqonquin for at least 30 years and are pleased to report that "Matilda" the resident cat continues to reign supreme over the front desk, accepting respectful chin chucks from her adoring public. She used to greet us at the door, but NYC food regulations (and an electronic collar) prevent her from dropping off the counter.
The lobby, with some unfortunately gaudy chairs (many shiny touches throughout whose provenance is unclear but plastic) maintains its elegant bones. The rooms have had an overhaul, with the addition of good showers (but poor design that pitches water into the bathroom thorough poorly fitted glass doors) and nifty sinks and excellent hairdryers. The bed with down comforters are wicked comfortable and they won't change your sheets every day, saving money and water. Great towels!
The Round Table Room is staffed by excellent staff, some of whom have been there almost as long as we've been coming, and the food, while not as adventurous as DB next door, was excellently prepared and presented. The new function room that supercedes the Oak Room spills too much noise out into the restaurant (ask for the other side) and the fiftiies and sixties music is often much too loud. About the BLUE Bar the less said the better, suffice to say it is PAINFULLY BLUE, UGH!
All in all though, we love the Algonquin and its our best romantic getaway. Always a pleasure to be welcomed by the impeccable hotel staff and our quibbles are small. I was especially pleased to see younger families there as well-a whole new generation coming to the Algonquin!

Room Tip: Two Small elevators, easier to have a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I use the lobby of the Algonguin as a meeting place for business sometimes. The front part has ample tables, chairs, sofas and light for comfortable meetings. The dining room in the back can also be conducive to quiet conversation if they are not piping in Frank too loudly. My colleague and I consider it our home away from home in many respects though the service leaves a lot to be desired these days. It takes SEVERAL tries to flag waitstaff down and often we needed to get up and look for them in the back or in the Blue Bar. Surprising for a high end hotel. Food is pretty good. We had smoked salmon, chicekn quesadila, manhattan clam chowder, sparkling water and also white wine of the day by the glass. 2 large bottles of sparkling water with tax came to $40 plus tip (INSANE). A glass of white wine of the day is $23! (also INSANE).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the service in the Lobby area did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apology. We hope that you will continue to visit us so that we may be able to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Algonquin during our first trip to New York. It is such a great location; we walked everywhere (NBC studio/30 Rock, Times Square, Pier 84, Empire State Building, subway to museum/Central Park). Of course the room was small, but well decorated, clean, and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was the (sporadic) street noise during the night, however the hotel supplies ear plugs or you can just turn on the furnace/ac fan. I would stay there again! Side note: the doorman suggested John's Pizzeria (just a few blocks over) and it is wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I like the Marriott hotels and Algonquin is part of the chain. It is also listed on our corporate approved hotel. I stayed there 5 nights mainly because my first choice was fully booked. I prefer modern hotels, but Algonquin offers great modern facility inside authentic old building. The rennovation paid attention to the minor details and the rooms are of very high standard. However, most of them are small as one would expect from NYC hotel. Bath room is clean and modern with shower, but everything is dense in a way that works nice. The room and bath are very clean and greatly maintained. They offer La-Occitane bath products, which is very nice. There is also good coffee 24x7 at the lobby, and 24x7 small gym that despite its small size offers reasonable options for work out.

The staff is great. Very polite, willing to help and helpful in the restaurant, reception and bell boy.

I had 2 dinners there. The food is good and the pricing of the fixed manu is also good. However, if you go a-la-cart you will pay significantly more.

I liked the location. 3 minutes from Times square, but still relatively quiet with good sleep quality.

The things I like less are:
1. Most of the rooms are facing back yard. This is good in terms of noise, but there is very little day light in the room (I stayed at 6th floor).
2. Breakfast pricing is exaggerated. Granola parfiat, which is small cupt with granole and about two spoons of yogurt with some berries cost $16; add coffee for additional $7... Don't get confuse the coffee is not included even though they offer it to you as if this is free. wWell NYC is not cheap, but $23++ for cup of coffee and cup of granola....at least they could have put more yogurt so one doesn't eat dry granola. Other products are as much expensive for breakfast.
3. Afternoon and in the evening there was no hot water, but more like warm water.

There is convenient parking across the street for $35 to hotel guests. There are good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Go to higher floor. There are very little rooms facing the street. I did not say in one. Back yard f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

my second stay at the Algonquin was even better than the first. The room was cozy and clean. Matilda the cat was at the front desk which only adds to the charm of this establishment. The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. it is always nice to be remembered when you return to the hotel after a full day of being out and about. Some of the staff have been there over 20 years which tells you something about loyalty. My husband and I had dinner and drinks in the Round Table restaurant on site and it was delicious. The continental breakfast the next morning was equally good. We both agreed that it is the only place to stay, full of charm and character and a far cry from every other big city hotels out there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Algonquin Hotel for eight nights. It was right after Sandy and we had no problems at all.

It was our return to New York after 10 years.

The Hotel is conveniently located at a walking distance from Times Square and the theaters. It was a nice surprise to find that The Algonquin hasn`t changed at all. Although renovated, it remained the same friendly hotel that we like to find at the end of the day. The happy hour at the lobby has the same atmosphere and, thanks God, the same excellent dry Martini.
Everything is brand new, but seems to have always been there.

Besides, Matilda, the Hotel`s cat, was at the reception counter to welcome us upon our arrival.

Wanda & Sergio Teixeira
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.