We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #139 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service and Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good customer service clean rooms. The hotel has a unique style; much different from any typical NY hotels. It is perfectly situated were minutes (I.e. 2 minutes) walking from Times Square & incredible restaurants.The only thing I wish that the rooms were a little bigger; but it's New York:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    414
    134
    73
    53
See reviews for
178
470
92
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We, too, spent 3 nights at The Algonquin recently and took advantage of the $199/night deal, which included continental breakfast and cocktails. At that price, I didn't know what to expect when booking. Upon arrival, any expectation that I might have had was surpassed. The lobby lounges are sexy and always packed. The staff were friendly and attentive. The drinks and food were superb. The shower in the room was a dream and stocked with high end product. The bed was comfy and offering 24 hour complimentary coffee was a nice touch. The location is PERFECT and if I had the chance, I would return here in a heartbeat. Kudos to The Algonquin for a job well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I can't write enough good things about The Algonquin... The staff is exceptional (so friendly and hospitable - they took care of all of my needs and then some), the rooms/beds/baths are top notch - modern luxury but maintain a cozy/comfy feel (the hotel is part of the Marriott "Autograph Collection" luxury line and the hotel completed an extensive renovation in 2012), the hotel itself is charming and has a very interesting history and then you can't beat the location. A coworker recommended the hotel as it is her favorite place to stay in NYC and after my recently completed ten day stay, it is now mine too! I highly recommend The Algonquin!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for an extra long weekend with our small children. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We didn't experience any of the elevator delays other reviewers mentioned and the rooms were quiet. We were on the 11th floor room 1110. By NYC standards, this room was HUGE. The hotel staff were also very kind and considerate regarding any of our needs. The location is great for a quick walk to Times Square and Broadway for theater shows. We will certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quick trip to NYC to visit family and see a play. Our night at The Algonquin was delightful. We walked from Penn Station in the pouring rain and arrived drenched and long before check-in. Our bags were stored and we were invited to relax in the lobby. We opted to go out to breakfast and our phone number was taken so that we could be informed when our room was ready. We were given umbrellas (ours had broken during our walk) by the very friendly doorman. When we returned we read in the beautiful lobby until our room was ready. We had requested an upgrade to a suite by e-mail and we were delighted to be given one on the 12th floor. It was lovely - a king bedroom and a separate living room and quite large bathroom for NYC. The hotel was very close to many restaurants and our theater (Lucky Guy with Tom Hanks was terrific!) Our morning coffee (free from the lobby) was disturbed from the noise of work being done on the heating system, but they clearly waited until most people had left for work or tourist attractions before the banging started. All in all, we had a wonderful time and will definitely return to The Algonquin. I am startled by the negative comments about the staff -- each one was friendly and helpful to us.

Room Tip: 1215 - a suite - was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I just spent three successive stays at the Algonquin and was very pleasantly surprised by my experience. Although many reviews were positive, there's nothing like experiencing a property first-hand and accordingly I was not let down. Here's a summary:

Rooms: My first stay was in a standard double room. Credit to the designers for making such good use of a very small space. The room was decorated in good taste and there was pretty much everything I needed to ensure a good stay.

I do have three criticisms of the room, which go for the other two rooms as well: 1) Noise travels very well through the doors, so anyone talking outside can be heard, and more importantly so can doors slamming shut. 2) There are two tiny little push buttons above the bed which turn on/off a backlit photograph of New York. The photo itself is a fantastic idea, and really reminds you that the hotel is proud to be party of the fabric of the city. Unfortunately, however, there are two tiny little blue lit rings around the little push buttons which are surprisingly bright at night and did keep me awake. I did make a remark as such on the comments card so hopefully that will be reviewed, however in the meantime anyone sensitive to light at night might want to bring an eye mask along. 3) The cream/beige coloured material used to cover the desk chair and the little side bench in each room feels like it's made from very cheap plastic faux-leather. Whilst it may look good and be very practical against spills etc. it feels very cheap to touch.

Bathrooms: Very well decorated and appointed, can't fault much, except the housekeeping staff could be a little more generous with replacing the amenities, especially the shampoo and soaps! I found it a little surprising that guests are expected to use one bar of soap for both the shower and the sink. If it was tedious for just myself to constantly have to carry a semi-wet bar of soap between the sink and shower, I can imagine it would be even more annoying for couples that share a room together. Perhaps as an alternative the management could consider putting out shower gel in addition to the shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. Nevertheless that was just one complaint for an otherwise great bathroom.

Service: This is definitely where the hotel shines. The service throughout all my three stays was absolutely great. The staff are exceptionally friendly, treat you like an individual instead of a battery chicken and are always on hand to help if you need any assistance.

Misc: Absolutely loved the 24/7 coffee station (which is shifted from outside the business centre to the lobby in the mornings). It's actually great that guests can go and make themselves a coffee (which tastes pretty good too!) as and when they want; promotes a more relaxed and friendly environment which is what the hotel does very well. My only suggestion is that the management consider having tea available all day as well as coffee. Surely can't be too hard to do. The free internet is also a great idea, which I put to good use. It did tend to go off occasionally but in general I managed to get most of my emails done and browse the web without too may hiccups.

On my second and third stays I was upgraded to a larger king room and definitely noticed the difference. Thank you Algonquin Team for doing this, it certainly was a very welcome bonus to the entire stay. For anyone which a space issue I'd highly recommend the extra price for these.

Overall: A fantastic little hotel, absolutely great location with excellent service - would definitely consider staying there again!

Room Tip: Get a room on as low a floor as possible as there are only two little elevators that service all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel truly is a gem and worthy of a 5 star ranking. Its luxuriously appointed rooms complete with ultra modern & sleek bathrooms are the perfect recluse from the hustle & bussle of this city. It is perfectly situated mere minutes (I.e. 2 minutes) walking from Times Square & incredible restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#92 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.