We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It All Depends What You Are Looking For” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #141 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It All Depends What You Are Looking For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If one is looking for location-location-location, this Hotel fits that bill perfectly. If one is looking to experience some turn of the 20th Century ambiance away from the hustle and bustle of Midtown, you won't be disappointed once you enter the front door. If you have no problem paying a premium for drink and food, then there are no problems. If one wishes to be surrounded by a more reserved people without the noise of children, you won't find a better place.

If one is looking for a large room with a large luxurious washroom, you may wish to look elsewhere. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room, make sure you have no claustrophobic tendencies.

This is a class/classy establishment starting with the doorman. I found the staff to be extremely professional and helpful when required.
As mentioned, it all depends what you are looking for...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    410
    133
    73
    52
See reviews for
176
463
92
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is my third stay at the Algonquin; we do they Broadway theatre every 3 years. 6 days 7 shows. Just a block and a half off Time Square it is perfectly located.

This is an old hotel so you have to appreciate that to enjoy the hotel. Such as small slow elevators that have hard to see numbers, Walk down - ride up. So get a lower floor.

The rooms are a good size and the cleaning staff are very good. We had a small suite and it was much less expensive than 3 years ago. The lobby area is very little changed over time and has a great history, but be prepared for Gin and Tonic $19 and 2 eggs on dry toast $29.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors to avoid the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the only place I could get last minute, and I regretted it. Room was tiny and gross, bathroom was small, the place was just old in general and needs a full tune up. Gym was tiny too. As a last resort, maybe, but otherwise stay away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
The Algonquin underwent a guts to décor renovation in the first half of 2012. The exterior restoration work on the 110 year old building has continued into 2013. The Algonquin has modest size guest rooms and has been complimented often on the décor and style found within those rooms, including the convenient receptacles for personal devices, the back lit make up mirror, the 37” HDTV, ihome clock radio with docking for an ipad, dimmer controlled lighting, duel flush commode and the incredible bedding with Frette linens, and L’Occitane bath products. With an AAA Four Diamond rating and an army of loyal followers we are disappointed by this commentary. At 850 square feet, the Algonquin Fitness Center is considered large for an 180 room hotel in the heart of mid-town, on West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues.

The Algonquin team is known to be very capable and we apologize for not meeting your level of expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Yes, it's true, I only stayed here the first time because of Dorothy Parker. But, then I grew to love this hotel for its own dear self. Superb location, lovely atmosphere, great special rates and a nice spot for gals like me who prefer to travel alone. I also tend to judge a hotel based on the quality of its room service cheeseburger. This one was top-rate.

Room Tip: I always find that speaking to someone at the actual hotel yields better rates and better service th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the Algonquin last week and found it to be warm, "cozy" and the perfect location.
The bed was comfortable and the room was fresh and clean. The staff was exceptional and very friendly, I stayed there a few years ago and found it to be a little cold.
Loved the workout area, I wasn't expecting much because the rooms are SO small but that was a pleasant surprise. If the rooms were larger I'd stay with my husband on our next trip. On second thought perhaps I'll ask for a larger room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbgard
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Any history that this once beautiful Hotel had has been literally ripped out during the renovation. If you visit this hotel now, what you will never know is that it had an outstanding wooden interior that exuded old New York. One could feel the presence of the early 20th century writers that congregated at the famous Round Table, now gone. Their spirits walked out the door in disgust as they saw their world was taken over by cold blue neon lights, glass, lacquer and black leather. No more cabaret. History has been wiped out at the Algonquin. The only sign of its history that you will see is the bill that you get because you will be paying for what it cost to get rid of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on the 2012 guts to décor renovation of the 110 year old Algonquin Hotel. Design and décor decisions do not always align with each individuals personal taste, fortunately an overwhelming number of guests old and new have been quite pleased by the design decisions that were made for this significant renovation.

The original wood paneling, pillars, capitals and moldings are all as they were prior to the renovation and date to 1902. The finish was touched up and repairs as necessary were made. The new furniture and color scheme are more contemporary in feel and design, and are sophisticated in their appearance. The Blue Bar through the use of LED lighting has become a very blue bar; the LED lighting replaced the fluorescent tubes wrapped in blue gel that formerly created a blue glow.

The Oak Room Supper Club cabaret did, after 32 years, end its run; it was a great place to see the art of the cabaret performance.

Change is often difficult to accept, and perhaps sometime in the future you will again consider visiting the Algonquin Hotel, Autograph Collection. To see what the renovation looks like we encourage you to visit algonquinhotel.com and view our photo gallery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I met another couple for a long weekend at the end of Jan. The location was great situated walking a couple of blocks from Times Square and just a short walk to Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, and plenty of great restaurants. For $199 we got comp cocktails and full breakfast, a cozy but fresh and functional room with a comfortable bed. The lobby is quaint and blends well with the restaurant and the connected Blue Bar. The staff was friendly and accommodating - they were sold out but managed to put us on the same floor with our friends. I had been considering the Iroquois located next door, and after strolling through their lobby, I'm sure the Algonquin was the right place for us. We've also stayed at Casa Blanca which is comparable with respect to accommodations. CB is 100' from Times Square, Algonquin is two blocks away, but with a better amenities and a shorter walk to Grand Central. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.