We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History brought me, the hotel kept me.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #145 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“History brought me, the hotel kept me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Yes, it's true, I only stayed here the first time because of Dorothy Parker. But, then I grew to love this hotel for its own dear self. Superb location, lovely atmosphere, great special rates and a nice spot for gals like me who prefer to travel alone. I also tend to judge a hotel based on the quality of its room service cheeseburger. This one was top-rate.

Room Tip: I always find that speaking to someone at the actual hotel yields better rates and better service th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    454
    141
    76
    55
See reviews for
197
530
94
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the Algonquin last week and found it to be warm, "cozy" and the perfect location.
The bed was comfortable and the room was fresh and clean. The staff was exceptional and very friendly, I stayed there a few years ago and found it to be a little cold.
Loved the workout area, I wasn't expecting much because the rooms are SO small but that was a pleasant surprise. If the rooms were larger I'd stay with my husband on our next trip. On second thought perhaps I'll ask for a larger room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbgard
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Any history that this once beautiful Hotel had has been literally ripped out during the renovation. If you visit this hotel now, what you will never know is that it had an outstanding wooden interior that exuded old New York. One could feel the presence of the early 20th century writers that congregated at the famous Round Table, now gone. Their spirits walked out the door in disgust as they saw their world was taken over by cold blue neon lights, glass, lacquer and black leather. No more cabaret. History has been wiped out at the Algonquin. The only sign of its history that you will see is the bill that you get because you will be paying for what it cost to get rid of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on the 2012 guts to décor renovation of the 110 year old Algonquin Hotel. Design and décor decisions do not always align with each individuals personal taste, fortunately an overwhelming number of guests old and new have been quite pleased by the design decisions that were made for this significant renovation.

The original wood paneling, pillars, capitals and moldings are all as they were prior to the renovation and date to 1902. The finish was touched up and repairs as necessary were made. The new furniture and color scheme are more contemporary in feel and design, and are sophisticated in their appearance. The Blue Bar through the use of LED lighting has become a very blue bar; the LED lighting replaced the fluorescent tubes wrapped in blue gel that formerly created a blue glow.

The Oak Room Supper Club cabaret did, after 32 years, end its run; it was a great place to see the art of the cabaret performance.

Change is often difficult to accept, and perhaps sometime in the future you will again consider visiting the Algonquin Hotel, Autograph Collection. To see what the renovation looks like we encourage you to visit algonquinhotel.com and view our photo gallery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I met another couple for a long weekend at the end of Jan. The location was great situated walking a couple of blocks from Times Square and just a short walk to Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, and plenty of great restaurants. For $199 we got comp cocktails and full breakfast, a cozy but fresh and functional room with a comfortable bed. The lobby is quaint and blends well with the restaurant and the connected Blue Bar. The staff was friendly and accommodating - they were sold out but managed to put us on the same floor with our friends. I had been considering the Iroquois located next door, and after strolling through their lobby, I'm sure the Algonquin was the right place for us. We've also stayed at Casa Blanca which is comparable with respect to accommodations. CB is 100' from Times Square, Algonquin is two blocks away, but with a better amenities and a shorter walk to Grand Central. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Algonquin for its excellent location in Midtown Manhatten. Its seems to be an equal location between Times Square and Grand Central Station. A perfect locaton for Broadway plays. We thoughly enjoyed our visit at this quaint comfortable hotel with some good amentities. Our room was very comfortable and the shower was great. Everyone from the desk clerk to the bellman was very friendly and helpful. We also received a very afforable rate for New York City. This historic hotel will grow on you with each additional stay.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room to receive a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a lovely gem in the middle of the hustle and bustle of NYC. Across the road from Times Square and close to many famous attractions. Room was a bit cramped but beautifully refurbished. probably more comfortable if there is only one of you, not 2!!
Good restaurant (the Roundtable) with lots of history attached which is quaint. Staff very helpful and friendly. Better value than the expensive hotels next door and round the corner.
Noisy aircon affected sleep.

Room Tip: We had an interior room which was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Algonquin Hotel last fall. You can't beat the location near Times Square and certainly within walking distance of 30 Rock, NY Public Library, every major theater, etc. Perfect location for the NYC tourist. The hotel itself is nicely appointed and the rooms have a newly remodeled feel to them. We stayed in the Noel Coward Suite. I highly recommend you rent a suite as some of the individual rooms can be quite small. And you will notice that the price difference is minimal. You will be happy your chose the suite. While there, ask the staff to tell you about Mathilda (the house cat) and the historic Algonquin Round Table. The hotel is charming and has a wonderful ambiance. The staff members are accommodating and will do anything to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Again, I highly recommend choosing a suite. Single rooms are quite small. The price difference is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.