We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #145 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic and classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

3 nights with 'Cat on a Hot Tin Roof', the Guggenheim, the High Line and fine dining in mind. It all happened! Getting around the city is easy, lots of things to do nearby (Chrysler Building, Grand Central Terminal) and the staff, especially Peter and Chuck, were great. Drinks were a bit expensive but we had coupons, so thoroughly enjoyed the lounge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    432
    136
    74
    54
See reviews for
191
491
92
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Algonquin for 4 night in August 12, and couldn't have asked for a better location to see all that New York has to offer. The rooms were small, as was expected, but had everything you need, and when in New York, you are not in your room that often anyway! The bar/lounge area was nice for a quiet drink. Staff were excellent. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We’re pleased to report the passenger elevator at the Algonquin has been restored to service after extensive work by the elevator service provider to rebuild the hoist motor. We understand the importance of timely vertical lift and believed this level of repair was now necessary for safety reasons. It is accurate that associates, supplies and guests travel on the same elevator cars. The hotel has been successful on most occasions with timing vertical movement of supplies and associates to not interfere with guest travel, we regret that it did impact some guests while visiting the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the Algonquin for 3 nights this past week, and it was everything that we had hoped for. The place is a CLASSIC, and it is smack dab in the middle of all the restaurants and stores and bars and broadway shows and and and. The rooms are small, as we expected, but very well appointed. Shower was great, all tile, and some serious water pressure. Bed was very comfortable, and the linens/pillows were great. There is a great workout room on the 2nd floor that has free bottled water and breakfast bars. There is FREE coffee all day long. Staff was really helpful, concierge was crisp, and the doorman flagged down a cab to the airport in under 30 seconds, even though there were a dozen other peeps just a few businesses down looking for rides. The only complaint was that we couldn't find the cat (Maggie), but we will return to finish that off the checklist down the road. Great martinis in the Blue Bar (attached to lobby). Loved it..

Room Tip: Lower floors are better as elevators are a tad slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Algonquin Hotel this past weekend as we were in town to see a Broadway show and did not want to make the mad rush to catch the LIRR for the trip home. The hotel was elegant. The lobby outstanding. The room was great, but small. This did not present a problem since we were not in NYC to stay in a hotel room. The staff was outstanding, very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.
The only short coming was the two elevators. Upon arriving one of the elevators was "temporarily out of service". The other elevator was in use on the upper floors (8 through 12), never coming down to the lobby. The reason appeared to be the housekeepping staff moving their supplies between floors. Finally the out of service elevator was returned to service after complaining to the front desk. The problem did not end at that point. Sunday morning we were going to check out, again one of the elevators had been removed from service. After waiting with two other couples with four large suit cases, we elected to walk down to the lobby. The problem again seemed to be the housekeepping staff moving supplies and eqipement between floors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We got a reasonable rate for a suite here on Christmas night, 12/25/12. Parked across the street and had a very comfortable room and stay. Did not eat at the hotel as it seemed pricey, but there is a convenient diner just up the block.

We appreciated the complimentary issue of the "New Yorker" magazine.

The business office is available 24 hours and free - very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Even though The Algonquin Hotel is owned by Marriott, the atmosphere and decor is one of a high-end independent hotel. The interior decoration and design of the room I stayed in was elegantly imaginative, more like a guest room than a hotel room. First class furniture and fixtures, which reminded me of a very good European hotel. The bathroom, again, very well appointed with a creative use of space, however, it would have been a challenge for even a slightly over-sized adult. Complimentary L'Occitane toiletries were a deluxe touch as was a very comfortable bathrobe. Marriott beds are the best and the queen-size bed in this room was no exception. Very nice sheets and pillows. Interesting and well-written reading materials on the history of the Algonquin, which allowed me to further appreciate its fame and popularity in former times. A complimentary copy of the New Yorker connected the past and the present.
I wasn't enamored with the service. The front desk was friendly and accommodating at arrival and I was pleased to be able to check in at 11:00am. Other interaction with the front desk and the doormen were less hospitable. Room service, which I used for breakfast, again, was aloof.
Not a hotel for young children was my impression. However adults can basked in the history, exceptional decor and enjoy staying in truly unique accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a post-holiday NYC weekend, and our stay was pleasant for the most part. If you are interested in staying here you probably know that this is a vintage 1920s hotel that played an important role in NYC literary history at that time. The hotel does not disappoint on vintage charm, though of course cramped, creaky, slow elevators and smaller rooms go along with that kind of charm; rooms here are completely refurbished however, and are very stylish, modern, and comfortable while still paying tribute to the past. Amenities include a really nice business center, free coffee all day, and a small fitness room on the second floor, and Starbuck coffee in the lobby during business hours. If you are in town to see a show, the pre-show $39 three-course dinner at the restaurant is a pretty good deal--decent food in a cozy environment, though nothing too astounding. I really wanted to see Matilda, the hotel cat, but I missed her--maybe some other time.

The most unpleasant feature of the hotel is unfortunately its staff. While the Concierge was extremely friendly and welcoming when we arrived, the bell staff and the clerk were distant, unhelpful, and uncommunicative in a manner and to a degree that I've never experienced before in a hotel at any star level. After we checked in, we went up to our room to take a short nap before dinner, but not twenty minutes later, there was a strange tentative knock on the door, which we first tried to ignore, but it was insistent. Finally we answered it--it was a hotel maid, and we asked her what we could do for her. She said "just checking, just checking" and walked off with no further explanation, leaving us baffled! The next morning, we received a phone call from a person who identified herself as the operator and who knew my name; she asked me if the Engineer happened to be in my room? When I said no, she simply said thank you and hung up, leaving me to wonder why she thought an Engineer WOULD be in my room, and if we could expect one at any time in the near future (no Engineer showed). These experiences made us a bit suspicious, since I have never had any similar experiences at a hotel before. Were they checking to see if we were out so they could use their passkey and rifle through our belongings? Or was something else going on with our room that they didn't want to explain to us (there was a strange wet spot on the floor the whole time we were there, so maybe there were plumbing problems?)? We didn't lose anything, but the rooms have safes so I would definitely use them if I stayed here again, just to be sure.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for Algonquin Round Table and New Yorker fans--it was very charming and the location was great. Just be a bit wary of the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Greetings and thank you for the candid feedback on your recent visit to the Algonquin Hotel, Autograph Collection. We appreciate the time you have taken to point out the highlights of your stay and to note the interactions that you encountered with our team. Algonquin associates take great pride in creating positive experiences for the hotel’s guests. Algonquin associates have been the back bone of the business since it opened 110 years ago. Your feedback is valuable and will be used as a positive training tool to demonstrate how interactions can impact individuals and more importantly how the team could have handled your encounters more professionally and in a more caring manner. Good wishes in 2013, and please plan to return to the Algonquin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.