We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Blend of History and Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #143 of 452 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Perfect Blend of History and Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Even though The Algonquin Hotel is owned by Marriott, the atmosphere and decor is one of a high-end independent hotel. The interior decoration and design of the room I stayed in was elegantly imaginative, more like a guest room than a hotel room. First class furniture and fixtures, which reminded me of a very good European hotel. The bathroom, again, very well appointed with a creative use of space, however, it would have been a challenge for even a slightly over-sized adult. Complimentary L'Occitane toiletries were a deluxe touch as was a very comfortable bathrobe. Marriott beds are the best and the queen-size bed in this room was no exception. Very nice sheets and pillows. Interesting and well-written reading materials on the history of the Algonquin, which allowed me to further appreciate its fame and popularity in former times. A complimentary copy of the New Yorker connected the past and the present.
I wasn't enamored with the service. The front desk was friendly and accommodating at arrival and I was pleased to be able to check in at 11:00am. Other interaction with the front desk and the doormen were less hospitable. Room service, which I used for breakfast, again, was aloof.
Not a hotel for young children was my impression. However adults can basked in the history, exceptional decor and enjoy staying in truly unique accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    424
    135
    74
    54
See reviews for
188
488
93
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a post-holiday NYC weekend, and our stay was pleasant for the most part. If you are interested in staying here you probably know that this is a vintage 1920s hotel that played an important role in NYC literary history at that time. The hotel does not disappoint on vintage charm, though of course cramped, creaky, slow elevators and smaller rooms go along with that kind of charm; rooms here are completely refurbished however, and are very stylish, modern, and comfortable while still paying tribute to the past. Amenities include a really nice business center, free coffee all day, and a small fitness room on the second floor, and Starbuck coffee in the lobby during business hours. If you are in town to see a show, the pre-show $39 three-course dinner at the restaurant is a pretty good deal--decent food in a cozy environment, though nothing too astounding. I really wanted to see Matilda, the hotel cat, but I missed her--maybe some other time.

The most unpleasant feature of the hotel is unfortunately its staff. While the Concierge was extremely friendly and welcoming when we arrived, the bell staff and the clerk were distant, unhelpful, and uncommunicative in a manner and to a degree that I've never experienced before in a hotel at any star level. After we checked in, we went up to our room to take a short nap before dinner, but not twenty minutes later, there was a strange tentative knock on the door, which we first tried to ignore, but it was insistent. Finally we answered it--it was a hotel maid, and we asked her what we could do for her. She said "just checking, just checking" and walked off with no further explanation, leaving us baffled! The next morning, we received a phone call from a person who identified herself as the operator and who knew my name; she asked me if the Engineer happened to be in my room? When I said no, she simply said thank you and hung up, leaving me to wonder why she thought an Engineer WOULD be in my room, and if we could expect one at any time in the near future (no Engineer showed). These experiences made us a bit suspicious, since I have never had any similar experiences at a hotel before. Were they checking to see if we were out so they could use their passkey and rifle through our belongings? Or was something else going on with our room that they didn't want to explain to us (there was a strange wet spot on the floor the whole time we were there, so maybe there were plumbing problems?)? We didn't lose anything, but the rooms have safes so I would definitely use them if I stayed here again, just to be sure.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for Algonquin Round Table and New Yorker fans--it was very charming and the location was great. Just be a bit wary of the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Greetings and thank you for the candid feedback on your recent visit to the Algonquin Hotel, Autograph Collection. We appreciate the time you have taken to point out the highlights of your stay and to note the interactions that you encountered with our team. Algonquin associates take great pride in creating positive experiences for the hotel’s guests. Algonquin associates have been the back bone of the business since it opened 110 years ago. Your feedback is valuable and will be used as a positive training tool to demonstrate how interactions can impact individuals and more importantly how the team could have handled your encounters more professionally and in a more caring manner. Good wishes in 2013, and please plan to return to the Algonquin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Historic, yet elegantly updated. This hotel has absolutely the friendliest most accomodating staff of any I've ever visited. Our suite was lovely, beds ultra comfy, and extremely soft sheets. The lobby and bar are chic and relaxing. Vodka martini with blue cheese olives was one of the best I'd ever had. Worth the $22. Great location. We highly recommend it, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the eighth floor and noise was not a problem, though ear plugs were supplied. Suite was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had orginially booked a suite at Loews Regency on 61st but saw they were closing on Jan 1 for a complete renovation. I panicked when I saw their Trip Advisor reviews going downhill quickly and I certainly didn't want to be one of their last guests before they closed so I quickly grabbed a suite at Algonquin for similar price during Dec 27-30 (average $620 per night, which is good that time of year).

The Algonquin was perfect- except for the street noise. I took the advice of past travelers and asked for a high floor, away from the street. The street noise was DEFINITELY still apparent on the very top floor (12th floor, it's a small old hotel) but they provided ear plugs. By the second night I was used to it. The kids didnt' seem to mind but it you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you.

Other than that, the hotel was perfectly situated just one block away from Toys R Us on Times Square and one block away from Bryant Park and 5th Ave. Our kids loved the suite. Plenty of room for all of us. Nicely updated bath. Very comfy bed. And an incredible hotel staff. Very friendly and helpful.

We came back to the beautiful lobby every evening after dinner to enjoy a nightcap and hot chocolate. My kids were over the moon at their very own little pot of hot chocolate with extra plates of whipped cream. They also loved checking in on the hotel cat, Matilda, who resides behind the front desk.

Great history to building. Very grown-up and cozy without being stuffy. Will def go back.
Keep up the great service!

Room Tip: We had the Robert Sherwood suite on floor 12 in the back of building. A great location away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved hotel. Stayed a night when we traveled to NYC for a play. Staff was very friendly. Drinks are expensive but well worth it. Blue bar is attached, whole different feel but again great time, great drinks, and friendly bartenders. Would definitely recommend and stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights post Christmas holidays. The lobby is beautiful, the staff were amazing, the location was great, the room was average. This hotel has a beautiful old lobby that is comfortable and relaxing. The room was small and the shower/bathroom was even smaller. Our room looked out onto 44th street so it was rather noisy but they did provide ear plugs and around midnight the traffic dissipated enough that the noise level was negligible. The bed was very comfortable and they offer free wifi and water in the rooms. The hotel is a quick walk to Times Square and other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed the over Christmas for a short vacation with the Kids (19 & 23). It was a great hotel to stayt for 2 days. the elevators are still slow, but we didn't have to wait that long for them. Our suite was on the 4th floor and we did not have a view of anything worth while. Our waiters in the restaurant (for breakfest) and the bar were great. It was redone nicely, especialy the bar,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.