We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Amazing Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 15% Off
Ranked #135 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Amazing Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Love this hotel. The location is perfect. The hotel feel is intimate and relaxing from the hussle and bussle outside. While the rooms are small, the decor is absolutely gorgeous. I especially loved the lite artwork about my bed. I had dinner in the Alqonquin's main restaurant and the service and food were fantastic. Exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    503
    149
    79
    56
See reviews for
213
605
99
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Location is perfect on 44th Street, within walking distance of many NYC sights. Staff very friendly. Especially the valet outside. The renovation makes the hotel much nicer. Updated bathrooms. Suite was good for our family of four adults. A diner next door was much cheaper for breakfast than the hotel prices, which were typical of hotels in this class.

Room Tip: Suite fit two parents and two adult children well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel!
Excellent staff and service. Very clean throughout.
However the room we had was extremely small. I know it is NYC and most rooms are small but this was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in NYC (and I travel there quite often)
Elevators were very slow, there are only 2.
Other than that a beautiful hotel in the middle of manhattan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel lives up to everything written about it. The customer service is outstanding. The rooms are very nice and a good size for NYC hotels. Dont hesitate to spend the money. The location is great, nice bar, I dont know where to stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Even though I was ill the night we were at this hotel it was a nice hotel. I spent a lot of time in the room. Went to a Yankees game vs rangers. Easy to get to the train from hotel. Lobby gorgeous. Be prepared to drop a dime here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been staying at The Algonquin since 1996. There is absolutely no place in New York like the lobby of The Algonquin Hotel. The recent renovation has managed to keep the charm and warmth of this hotel, while creating a hip buzz that should appeal to the younger players in the city.

The rooms are all modern with classic appointments and a few nods to the hotel's literary past.

Those fantastic mattresses on the beds are worth the stay right there and the staff will do most anything for you. I am in New York a lot and this hotel is my home there.

Room Tip: Get a suite upgrade. You get much more real estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Algonquin hotel is a fabulous hotel filled with history and charm. My visits are mainly for business but I always incorporate my wife and if school is not in session my teenage son. The Algonquin became our home away from home this summer as we enjoyed the city for work and pleasure. Its location is perfect for the Manhattan Times Square area sites and tours without the busy crowds and noise. The staff is truly warm and welcoming and highly attentive to your needs. As we've become regulars we are always welcomed back and taken care of as if it were our first visit. The staff at the hotel really make the experience a pleasant one...from the restaurant staff proactively servicing you to the delicious and well made adult beverages of the Blue Bar, the meticulous job of housekeeping by the housekeepers and the Genuine smiles and greetings of the front desk staff and doormen. Even the operations and engineering deaprtment are more than accomodating and interested in making your stay a pleasurable one. The gym and business office are also immaculate and are of high standards. I will continue to make the Algonquin my first choice for lodging whenever business or pleasure bring me to NY City.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the corner units ending in 7 ie. 507, 707 etc. as these rooms are spacious and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and L'Occitane bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.