We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Amazing Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #138 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Amazing Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Love this hotel. The location is perfect. The hotel feel is intimate and relaxing from the hussle and bussle outside. While the rooms are small, the decor is absolutely gorgeous. I especially loved the lite artwork about my bed. I had dinner in the Alqonquin's main restaurant and the service and food were fantastic. Exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    408
    132
    72
    53
See reviews for
179
470
92
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Location is perfect on 44th Street, within walking distance of many NYC sights. Staff very friendly. Especially the valet outside. The renovation makes the hotel much nicer. Updated bathrooms. Suite was good for our family of four adults. A diner next door was much cheaper for breakfast than the hotel prices, which were typical of hotels in this class.

Room Tip: Suite fit two parents and two adult children well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice hotel!
Excellent staff and service. Very clean throughout.
However the room we had was extremely small. I know it is NYC and most rooms are small but this was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in NYC (and I travel there quite often)
Elevators were very slow, there are only 2.
Other than that a beautiful hotel in the middle of manhattan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel lives up to everything written about it. The customer service is outstanding. The rooms are very nice and a good size for NYC hotels. Dont hesitate to spend the money. The location is great, nice bar, I dont know where to stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Even though I was ill the night we were at this hotel it was a nice hotel. I spent a lot of time in the room. Went to a Yankees game vs rangers. Easy to get to the train from hotel. Lobby gorgeous. Be prepared to drop a dime here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been staying at The Algonquin since 1996. There is absolutely no place in New York like the lobby of The Algonquin Hotel. The recent renovation has managed to keep the charm and warmth of this hotel, while creating a hip buzz that should appeal to the younger players in the city.

The rooms are all modern with classic appointments and a few nods to the hotel's literary past.

Those fantastic mattresses on the beds are worth the stay right there and the staff will do most anything for you. I am in New York a lot and this hotel is my home there.

Room Tip: Get a suite upgrade. You get much more real estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Algonquin hotel is a fabulous hotel filled with history and charm. My visits are mainly for business but I always incorporate my wife and if school is not in session my teenage son. The Algonquin became our home away from home this summer as we enjoyed the city for work and pleasure. Its location is perfect for the Manhattan Times Square area sites and tours without the busy crowds and noise. The staff is truly warm and welcoming and highly attentive to your needs. As we've become regulars we are always welcomed back and taken care of as if it were our first visit. The staff at the hotel really make the experience a pleasant one...from the restaurant staff proactively servicing you to the delicious and well made adult beverages of the Blue Bar, the meticulous job of housekeeping by the housekeepers and the Genuine smiles and greetings of the front desk staff and doormen. Even the operations and engineering deaprtment are more than accomodating and interested in making your stay a pleasurable one. The gym and business office are also immaculate and are of high standards. I will continue to make the Algonquin my first choice for lodging whenever business or pleasure bring me to NY City.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the corner units ending in 7 ie. 507, 707 etc. as these rooms are spacious and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.