We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first choice when in NY City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #132 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“My first choice when in NY City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Algonquin hotel is a fabulous hotel filled with history and charm. My visits are mainly for business but I always incorporate my wife and if school is not in session my teenage son. The Algonquin became our home away from home this summer as we enjoyed the city for work and pleasure. Its location is perfect for the Manhattan Times Square area sites and tours without the busy crowds and noise. The staff is truly warm and welcoming and highly attentive to your needs. As we've become regulars we are always welcomed back and taken care of as if it were our first visit. The staff at the hotel really make the experience a pleasant one...from the restaurant staff proactively servicing you to the delicious and well made adult beverages of the Blue Bar, the meticulous job of housekeeping by the housekeepers and the Genuine smiles and greetings of the front desk staff and doormen. Even the operations and engineering deaprtment are more than accomodating and interested in making your stay a pleasurable one. The gym and business office are also immaculate and are of high standards. I will continue to make the Algonquin my first choice for lodging whenever business or pleasure bring me to NY City.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the corner units ending in 7 ie. 507, 707 etc. as these rooms are spacious and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    528
    150
    81
    56
See reviews for
222
632
102
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Pros:
The Algonquin is in a great location steps from Times Square and Madison Avenue. It's not on Broadway so it's much quieter than those hotels. It's a standard botique hotel - small rooms and vintage appointments. The hotel was clean, bathroom was updated.

Cons:
The front desk staff was not attentive to my arrival. There is no club/elite lounge as typical for Marriotts. They have a coffee lounge which consists of a Keurig coffee machine in a vestibule. No mid-day snacks or refreshments. A continental breakfast was included which was adequate. I requested an upgrade and instead was placed in the room directly across the elevator. This hotel is expensive (as is NYC) but try to find a look no further rate.

I would stay here again only because of the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your commentary we appreciate your feedback. Your comments will be shared with the Associates at the upcoming customer service training session. Guest experience and personal attention to detail have always been a focus of the Algonquin Hotel and will continue to be priority. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, it helps us to continually improve our product and service for our valuable guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This review is only of the lobby bar at the Algonquin Hotel. I had a friend in from London who was staying at the Algonquin and he told me that the rooms are very nice. The lobby bar is where I met him, and it's very nice. It has an old world feel to it in the lobby portion of the bar, and then when you step into the bar itself the blue neon lights Are the first thing that hits your eyes. It was extremely busy at 6 o'clock with the after work crowd. I ordered a glass of Chardonnay, and when the bill came I was quite shocked to find it being $20.69. So when you add the tip you're quite shocked to find out you just bought a $24 glass of wine. My friend ordered the blueberry Martini which was excellent, however I'm afraid to figure out what that might've cost. John was our bartender, and did an excellent job throughout the time we were there. He was extremely attentive and extremely friendly. Overall, other than the prices the bar is a great place to stop.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This wonderful hotel located close to shopping on 5th Ave, close to Broadway to catch a show, or just to stay in the hotel lounge and people watch is definitely a must stay. This is a very nostalgic hotel and although the hotel has some age on it; the rooms are spacious, clean, and have very comfortable beds. If you can't stay at this hotel; you must at least go into the lounge for a drink and enjoy the beauty of this fabulous NYC hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

First off I want to state that I received an excellent rate of $239 (minus taxes etc) through a Travel Zoo special that I'm glad I jumped on. It was a week after Superstorm Sandy had hit. The refurbished Algonquin is like walking into a moment in time from early in the last century. The lobby is cozy and inviting. My room, though smallish, was excellently decorated! I even had a bit of a view...of the neighboring building. The bathroom fixtures and tile seemed brand new. TV, mattress, lighting etc in the room were top notch. The staff were friendly and courteous. When I inquired about the famous Rag Doll house cat Matilda I was led into the baggage room where she was sleepy. Maltida III is part of the rich tradition of cats at The Algonquin dating back to the 1930's. I had a cocktail that was delicious, though the prices are bit steep.

One of the best things about The Algonquin is the location. Location, location location. A block East of Times Square, one block north of Bryant Park and the subway....and walking distance North to Rockefeller Center and Central Park make this a great place to stay.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I recently traded in some AA Miles for a Saturday night stay at the Algonquin. Our stay was perfect from start to finish. Our room was great - very nicely decorated, very clean and well appointed. Comfy bed, great shower and amazing L'Occitane toiletries. We stored our luggage when we checked in, had some complimentary Starbucks coffee, were offered help with directions or anything else we needed and then on check-out, once again stored our luggage for the day. We never once felt like we were treated any differently than any other guest because our stay was paid for with travel miles. We were treated just as nicely as every other guest. We absolutely loved our stay at the Algonquin. It's in a fantastic location - easy to get to subway and local landmarks. It was a wonderful stopover during our Thanksgiving week travels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, a tranquil oasis in the middle of bustling, crazy Times Square. Often old hotels are in need of repair; this one is in mint condition, beautifully restored to its former glory.
The rooms are small (as most NYC rooms are) but elegantly furnished. There are no views of the exterior, windows are frosted and the thick walls keep traffic noise out, so the feeling of being in a secluded place -- in the middle of one of the world's most hectic locations -- is heightened. This is good for resting, but the room is too small to spend any extended time in. But who goes to NYC to spend time in a hotel room when the whole world is outside? The hotel lobby, lounge, and restaurant -- the location of the legendary Algonquin Round Table, the gathering place of Dorothy Parker and her literary friends -- are lovely places to hang out to check email with free wifi and a glass of wine, or dine. I like this hotel a lot. It gives you the best of both worlds - a pocket of serenity in the middle of Times Square. Great hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are expensive. Try to scope better rates on getaroom.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#26 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,324 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#170 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#99 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#61 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,856 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times...
#116 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#50 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and L'Occitane bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.