We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #135 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed in a suite with hubby & kids which was roomy. The decor was a mix of hip, contemporary & old world charm. The location was fantastic - within walking distance to Times Square & Rockefeller center. We were surprised at how quiet it was, considering the hotel is bordered by streets. Only downside to the room is no view, probably due to its lack of height. Room service value was ok - have had better at other NYC hotels.

We had a terrific short getaway in NYC to which the Algonquin definitely contributed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    518
    149
    80
    56
See reviews for
217
620
101
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Algonquin Hotel is a wonderful, historic hotel close to everything but very quiet.

My daughter (age 19) & I stayed for a weekend (2nights) of Broadway shows. Being very familiar with Manhattan, we did not want to stay in Times Square -- too crowded, too noisy! We chose the Algonquin for its reputation and location -- on 44th Street about two blocks from Times Square, but in another world crowd and noise-wise.

Yes, the rooms are small, but that adds to the hotel's charm. It IS an historic hotel, built in 1902 -- rooms were much smaller then. We were really only there to sleep and shower and breakfast.

Our room and bathroom were spotless and the room service quick and courteous.

We would definitely stay at the Algonqun again and recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Growing up in NYC, one of my first jobs was located in a building on the corner of 5th Ave and W 44th St. I used to walk past the Algonquin every day from the subway station on my way to work and, knowing some of the history behind the famous hotel, always dreamed of staying at the famous hotel.

Well, it took nearly 30 years, but I finally stayed there thanks to the Marriott Rewards points. The newly renovated hotel was everything you could imagine from a 100+ year old property. The furnishings, bathroom, linens, and bedding were great. We had no problem sleeping each night and they had HGTV as part of the TV listings for the few moments we weren't running around.

The room was very small and the bathroom was also tiny. My wife and I had to be creative when storing our clothing and toiletries. Needless to say, we danced around each other whilst getting ready each morning. Please understand that we are not complaining about the size of the accommodations--this would be expected from a building from the early 1900's--just be prepared so you're not shocked upon arrival.

The location of the hotel is perfect for walking around Midtown. We easily walked to Times Square, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, the Bryant Park Holiday Shops (and Citi Pond--free admission to ice skating), and the Hell's Kitchen Flea Market. We were also able to watch part of the Veterans' Day Parade near our hotel. The only caution I have about the location of the hotel is that if you need a cab, you're better off walking to 6th Ave or 5th Ave (depending on which direction you're heading) because few cabs went past the hotel and those that did were usually occupied.

Other pluses include: free wi-fi throughout the hotel, a parking garage directly across the street, exposed staircases so you can walk easily between floors, a business center, free coffee 24/7, NY Times delivered to your door (including the Sunday Times), and cute quotes on each guest room door to keep you entertained as you walk around (see photos).

I have only two complaints: firstly, the newly installed shower door was very leaky. If the shower head was pointed in a particular place, water ended up all over the bathroom floor. Secondly, the cost of dining at the hotel was very high. Yes, hotel restaurants are usually costlier and there were plenty of restaurants nearby, but we wanted to spend some time soaking in the ambiance of the historic landmark and we had a little sticker shock when we got the tab for two desserts, a coffee, and a soda in the Lobby: $50.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. And yes, we did see Matilda during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights (Sat., Nov. 3 - Sun., Nov. 4 and Mon., Nov. 5) following Hurricane Sandy, and the hotel was impeccable! We booked this hotel about four months ago and it happened to be the same weekend of the New York City Marathon. The room was immaculately clean. The hurricane damage never reached this mid-town area and the location was great for going to the theater and restaurants that were open. We had room #911 (!) and while it was on the expected small side and faced a glass office building, had every amenity. A nice touch is that each room has a framed card with a clever quote from a member of the Algonquin Society. The bed linens were soft and beautiful, and the towels thick and plentiful. We appreciated the L’Occitane en Provence toiletries. We also enjoyed the two complimentary drink tickets (value $21 each) that we used for cocktails in the famous and elegant bar/lobby on the first night. The completely remodeled bathroom had great water pressure. The closet was big enough with plenty of hangers, and there was a two-drawer dresser, desk with loads of outlets, and more on both sides of the bed which had overhead reading lights. The large flat-screen TV was positioned directly across the bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. On our next trip to New York City, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Algonquin is a perfect location to enjoy New York City. Many theaters are within walking distance. Times Square is a short walk. The rooms are well appointed...you are in New York so not spacious...but very comfortable. The staff very pleasant and helpful. We walked to the Met, Central Park as well as dinner each evening. I truly will never even consider staying anywhere else in Manhatten.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's a gorgeous hotel with thoughtful service. It's very charming and makes you feel as if you've gone back in time to the 1920's, especially with the hotel bar. Not to mention - there's a cat that roams the hotel which is just perfect. I have three cats that I miss terribly when we travel so still being able to pet a cat made we feel like I was at home. The rooms are a little smaller than most US rooms but you're in NYC so this is somewhat typical. It's in a great location and has quite a bit of history - maybe even a few ghosts! (Note I was using Marriott Points so I can't really speak to the value although I felt my Points value was quite reasonable. Plus we were supposed to come in on Friday but our flight got cancelled at 9pm. The hotel didn't charge us for Friday night (they would have been within their rights to as we'd called to cancel after 6pm.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived in NYC less than a week after Hurricane Sandy, and into the arms of the incredible staff at the Algonquin Hotel. I have always dreamed of staying at this historic place, and my mom's 75th birthday celebration made me decide to splurge. It was worth it. Jennie in particular is an absolute gem; on hearing it was my mom's birthday she promptly handed us two cocktail coupons (and if you haven't tried an Algonquin martini, you really should - just beware - they are potent!!). She and another staffer had almost single handedly held down the ship in the week after the hurricane, as so many employees couldn't make it in.

Our room was small, which I'd expected, given the age of the property. But it wasn't TOO small - a perfect fit for two - and beautifully decorated. The bathroom is teeny but again, they use the space so well. We loved our room. And the king-sized bed is probably the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Dreamy.

The lobby is exquisite, the history imbues the place - have a look at the replica of Dorothy Parker's round table - and best of all, they still have a resident feline, Matilda. This incarnation of Matilda is hilarious - HUGE and fierce, with the most dour expression ... she is beautiful! I loved this hotel - you really get a feel for the New York of yesteryear, but with all the mod cons.

Room Tip: I always prefer a higher floor and a quiet room away from the elevators, which they were very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and L'Occitane bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.