We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #138 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed in a suite with hubby & kids which was roomy. The decor was a mix of hip, contemporary & old world charm. The location was fantastic - within walking distance to Times Square & Rockefeller center. We were surprised at how quiet it was, considering the hotel is bordered by streets. Only downside to the room is no view, probably due to its lack of height. Room service value was ok - have had better at other NYC hotels.

We had a terrific short getaway in NYC to which the Algonquin definitely contributed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    409
    132
    72
    53
See reviews for
179
472
92
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Algonquin Hotel is a wonderful, historic hotel close to everything but very quiet.

My daughter (age 19) & I stayed for a weekend (2nights) of Broadway shows. Being very familiar with Manhattan, we did not want to stay in Times Square -- too crowded, too noisy! We chose the Algonquin for its reputation and location -- on 44th Street about two blocks from Times Square, but in another world crowd and noise-wise.

Yes, the rooms are small, but that adds to the hotel's charm. It IS an historic hotel, built in 1902 -- rooms were much smaller then. We were really only there to sleep and shower and breakfast.

Our room and bathroom were spotless and the room service quick and courteous.

We would definitely stay at the Algonqun again and recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Growing up in NYC, one of my first jobs was located in a building on the corner of 5th Ave and W 44th St. I used to walk past the Algonquin every day from the subway station on my way to work and, knowing some of the history behind the famous hotel, always dreamed of staying at the famous hotel.

Well, it took nearly 30 years, but I finally stayed there thanks to the Marriott Rewards points. The newly renovated hotel was everything you could imagine from a 100+ year old property. The furnishings, bathroom, linens, and bedding were great. We had no problem sleeping each night and they had HGTV as part of the TV listings for the few moments we weren't running around.

The room was very small and the bathroom was also tiny. My wife and I had to be creative when storing our clothing and toiletries. Needless to say, we danced around each other whilst getting ready each morning. Please understand that we are not complaining about the size of the accommodations--this would be expected from a building from the early 1900's--just be prepared so you're not shocked upon arrival.

The location of the hotel is perfect for walking around Midtown. We easily walked to Times Square, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, the Bryant Park Holiday Shops (and Citi Pond--free admission to ice skating), and the Hell's Kitchen Flea Market. We were also able to watch part of the Veterans' Day Parade near our hotel. The only caution I have about the location of the hotel is that if you need a cab, you're better off walking to 6th Ave or 5th Ave (depending on which direction you're heading) because few cabs went past the hotel and those that did were usually occupied.

Other pluses include: free wi-fi throughout the hotel, a parking garage directly across the street, exposed staircases so you can walk easily between floors, a business center, free coffee 24/7, NY Times delivered to your door (including the Sunday Times), and cute quotes on each guest room door to keep you entertained as you walk around (see photos).

I have only two complaints: firstly, the newly installed shower door was very leaky. If the shower head was pointed in a particular place, water ended up all over the bathroom floor. Secondly, the cost of dining at the hotel was very high. Yes, hotel restaurants are usually costlier and there were plenty of restaurants nearby, but we wanted to spend some time soaking in the ambiance of the historic landmark and we had a little sticker shock when we got the tab for two desserts, a coffee, and a soda in the Lobby: $50.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. And yes, we did see Matilda during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights (Sat., Nov. 3 - Sun., Nov. 4 and Mon., Nov. 5) following Hurricane Sandy, and the hotel was impeccable! We booked this hotel about four months ago and it happened to be the same weekend of the New York City Marathon. The room was immaculately clean. The hurricane damage never reached this mid-town area and the location was great for going to the theater and restaurants that were open. We had room #911 (!) and while it was on the expected small side and faced a glass office building, had every amenity. A nice touch is that each room has a framed card with a clever quote from a member of the Algonquin Society. The bed linens were soft and beautiful, and the towels thick and plentiful. We appreciated the L’Occitane en Provence toiletries. We also enjoyed the two complimentary drink tickets (value $21 each) that we used for cocktails in the famous and elegant bar/lobby on the first night. The completely remodeled bathroom had great water pressure. The closet was big enough with plenty of hangers, and there was a two-drawer dresser, desk with loads of outlets, and more on both sides of the bed which had overhead reading lights. The large flat-screen TV was positioned directly across the bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. On our next trip to New York City, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Algonquin is a perfect location to enjoy New York City. Many theaters are within walking distance. Times Square is a short walk. The rooms are well appointed...you are in New York so not spacious...but very comfortable. The staff very pleasant and helpful. We walked to the Met, Central Park as well as dinner each evening. I truly will never even consider staying anywhere else in Manhatten.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's a gorgeous hotel with thoughtful service. It's very charming and makes you feel as if you've gone back in time to the 1920's, especially with the hotel bar. Not to mention - there's a cat that roams the hotel which is just perfect. I have three cats that I miss terribly when we travel so still being able to pet a cat made we feel like I was at home. The rooms are a little smaller than most US rooms but you're in NYC so this is somewhat typical. It's in a great location and has quite a bit of history - maybe even a few ghosts! (Note I was using Marriott Points so I can't really speak to the value although I felt my Points value was quite reasonable. Plus we were supposed to come in on Friday but our flight got cancelled at 9pm. The hotel didn't charge us for Friday night (they would have been within their rights to as we'd called to cancel after 6pm.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We usually stay at the Mandarin but it was full so we decided to try the Algonquin as it's near Times Square where we were going to be most of the weekend. Glad we did! It's a great spot, in the Autograph Collection of Marriott, and has a great history (they go for drinks at the Algonquin on the show Mad Men every so often). Room was nice and comfortable, service was great. Food in the restaurant was very good too. Would definitely come back (when the Mandarin is full again).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.