We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York ! New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #138 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New York ! New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Algonquin is a perfect location to enjoy New York City. Many theaters are within walking distance. Times Square is a short walk. The rooms are well appointed...you are in New York so not spacious...but very comfortable. The staff very pleasant and helpful. We walked to the Met, Central Park as well as dinner each evening. I truly will never even consider staying anywhere else in Manhatten.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    408
    132
    72
    53
See reviews for
179
471
92
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's a gorgeous hotel with thoughtful service. It's very charming and makes you feel as if you've gone back in time to the 1920's, especially with the hotel bar. Not to mention - there's a cat that roams the hotel which is just perfect. I have three cats that I miss terribly when we travel so still being able to pet a cat made we feel like I was at home. The rooms are a little smaller than most US rooms but you're in NYC so this is somewhat typical. It's in a great location and has quite a bit of history - maybe even a few ghosts! (Note I was using Marriott Points so I can't really speak to the value although I felt my Points value was quite reasonable. Plus we were supposed to come in on Friday but our flight got cancelled at 9pm. The hotel didn't charge us for Friday night (they would have been within their rights to as we'd called to cancel after 6pm.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We usually stay at the Mandarin but it was full so we decided to try the Algonquin as it's near Times Square where we were going to be most of the weekend. Glad we did! It's a great spot, in the Autograph Collection of Marriott, and has a great history (they go for drinks at the Algonquin on the show Mad Men every so often). Room was nice and comfortable, service was great. Food in the restaurant was very good too. Would definitely come back (when the Mandarin is full again).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived in NYC less than a week after Hurricane Sandy, and into the arms of the incredible staff at the Algonquin Hotel. I have always dreamed of staying at this historic place, and my mom's 75th birthday celebration made me decide to splurge. It was worth it. Jennie in particular is an absolute gem; on hearing it was my mom's birthday she promptly handed us two cocktail coupons (and if you haven't tried an Algonquin martini, you really should - just beware - they are potent!!). She and another staffer had almost single handedly held down the ship in the week after the hurricane, as so many employees couldn't make it in.

Our room was small, which I'd expected, given the age of the property. But it wasn't TOO small - a perfect fit for two - and beautifully decorated. The bathroom is teeny but again, they use the space so well. We loved our room. And the king-sized bed is probably the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Dreamy.

The lobby is exquisite, the history imbues the place - have a look at the replica of Dorothy Parker's round table - and best of all, they still have a resident feline, Matilda. This incarnation of Matilda is hilarious - HUGE and fierce, with the most dour expression ... she is beautiful! I loved this hotel - you really get a feel for the New York of yesteryear, but with all the mod cons.

Room Tip: I always prefer a higher floor and a quiet room away from the elevators, which they were very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I normally avoid Times Square area like the plague favouring the character of downtown - glad I didn't on this occasion, partly as I was there in the Sandy aftermath, but also this was a real gem of a hotel that exceeded every expectation, at a fantastic price.
The Algonquin is obviously steeped in history, which is a wonderful draw, and the hotel has retained it's early 20th century style and charm. The resident cat, Matilda, adds a quirky element completely lacking in its fellow midtown bigscale hotel chain neighbours. I loved my stay here, for the following reasons:
- Style & ambiance: This hotel is small, which makes it feel very intimate and old school. Even the clientele seem timeless. The bar is simply gorgeous, large comfortable sofas and armchairs, dark with ambient lighting and delicious cocktails. The rooms have a similar feel, well decorated and a good size, the bay window created a nice seating area as well.
- Comfort: The shower was great, hot and powerful. The bed was extremely comfortable and warm, the closet was big with a lot of hangers. I also always appreciate when L'Occitane products are on offer.
- Staff / service: The staff were outstanding, so polite, so friendly, so attentive.
- Value for money: we booked on a deal from travelzoo which provided room, continental breakfast and a cocktail each evening for $239+tax - really unbeatable value. they seem to have a few more good rates as they are still in reopening mode.

My only areas for improvement would be the air conditioner in our room was very noisy and woke me up when it came on in the middle of the night. Also, the prices for cocktails were crazily above normal prices ($24 each average) which would put me off drinking there beyond one, which is a pity.

I'd go back in a heartbeat, in spite of its midtown location. It is actually very close to Bryant Park and much quieter that side of 6th Ave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Algonquin Hotel was the quintissential experience: service, friendliness, room ambiance, delicious breakfast. The room was lovely. The bathroom was weel-supplied, had a great shower, and was eco-friendly. We would return there in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyumen, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was just for one night. The other hotel i had been staying in could not extend me. So booked this place. Must say expected more lustre, given the price i was to pay. Yes the lobby is decadent. The room quite disappointing. A bit bigger than hotel rooms can be but still quite small. Bathroom probably the smallest i've ever been to. Nice L'Occitane amenities though. Big window, but frosted glass so you can't see the courtyard (not that you especially want to see this type of courtyard). It was freezing in the room when i checked in. Had to turn the AC to 80. The bathroom was also a freezer. The water running cold for a good five minutes until it started to get warm. Was beginning to wonder if they had hot water at all. When trying to go to sleep and switching off all the lights there were still irritating blue glimmer coming from the bedstand switches. Had to cover them with some adhesive bandages i was lucky to have with me. I think it's weird. More blinking lights at some sort of a smoke detector on the ceiling. Okay, was dead tired so slept well anyway. The staff I spoke to were all nice. Stay here if you are willing to pay extra for historical lobby. Also for a cat (whom i didn't see). And there is a bible in the drawer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.