We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury but a high price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #134 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Luxury but a high price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night last week. I emailed in advance asking for early check in as i am a reward member, got there and they wouldn't let me check in til after 4pm. Fine as they let you check the bag. The room was big compared to others in NYC. A lot of work going on at the hotel at the moment. Comfy bed, lovely ensuite and comp bath robe. There is free starbucks coffee on second floor. nice touch. Location is very convenient. Staff were lovely. Not sure if it value for money as no breakfast..

Room Tip: Try stay close to floor 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    487
    148
    78
    56
See reviews for
210
589
99
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times for work. It is a nice property with a good midtown location.I actually was here last year prior to the remodel and got stuck in their elevator for close to an hour. At that time, the management was very helpful and very sorry for my experience.Since then I was reassured that the elevator was fixed, it was not. Today, there were several people stuck in the elevator again. This time the manager did not leave the hotel lobby and was not overly helpful or sincere in his apology for those that were stuck in the elevator. They also did not follow New York City procedure and contact the Fire Department when such an emergency occurs. Instead, they chose to handle themselves. I will no longer use the elevator at the Algonquin Hotel and instead have to walk the 11 floors to my room. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the Algonquin for our annual girls trip to NYC. Stayed 3 nights in a suite and it was great. Beautiful decor, great staff, big room, great comfy beds.... We stayed at Marriott Marquis last year and were hesitant about staying somewhere else but it was AWESOME !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just returned from two nights at the Algonquin and had a wonderful experience. The room was clean, tastefully decorated and cozy. The bed was comfortable and they even left earplugs in the nightstand in the event there was outside noise, although it was perfectly quiet. The only thing we would've liked was a bigger bathroom, which was small even by NY standards. My in-laws stayed on another floor and their bathroom was much more functional. The lobby was restored beautifully and is a great place to relax with a cocktail after a day in the city. The staff was friendly and helpful (the doorman brought our bags down to the end of the block to help us hail a cab). The location was perfect too. It's right between 5th & 6th Avenues, close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and Broadway. There's a nice diner next door that we had breakfast in both mornings. We would definitely stay at the Algonquin again.

Room Tip: The bathroom in 902 was small, but the bathroom in 408 was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East End, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were in town for a concert and he surprise me with a stay at the Algonguin for a night. Very clean, modern, updated, comfortable room. Small but functional. Great bath - shower only. Love the lobby - a real clubby feel -like being back in the 1940's. Also like free coffee in the lounge.

The downside is the price. With tax and all, it was over $400. If I made the reservation I probably would have used Hotels.com or one of the other sites for a better price. But my husband made the reservation and he is not one to shop around. For $400 a night I would rather stay at Bryant Park Hotel or one of the other hotels on the block (Royalton is one I believe).

Very nice hotel, but too pricey. And where is the cat?

Five stars if the price were better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having recently completed extensive renovations the hotel sweetened our recent weekend stay with a good rate, free wi-fi, continental breakfast voucher (pay a bit extra for a full breakfast), and even cocktail vouchers! Our room on the 8th floor had a king bed and looked onto the busy and noisy street. New yorkers have returned to using their horns in earnest and honking is 24/7. There always seems to be construction happening on the street so be prepared for some noise! One of the things we really enjoyed was the lounge/dining area on the main level. The waiters there are attentive and very classy and I loved the wonderful dark oak decor. You can imagine the place filled with writers and cigar smoke in the 40's and 50's. A quick and easy walk to/from Grand Central and Times Square and also close to the MoMA.

Room Tip: There's only two elevators (and no service elevator) so if you hate to wait ask to stay on a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The Algonquin is an OLD hotel which has recently undergone major renovations. As others have noted, rooms are small, even for NY standards but this hotel was built long ago when folks had different priorities. The room in which I stayed was quite comfortable and the bathroom compact but modern. The TV, which is hundred in a frame like a picture was a bit fuzzy but not worth dealing with for my short stay. The room had a rather spacious (relatively speaking) walk in closet. But what I'd like to comment on is the beautiful old fashioned but redecorated lobby.

After a night at the theater I just wanted a drink in a comfortable place. I want up to the Blue Bar so I sat in a comfortable over stuffed chair in the lobby which is arranged so that many solos, couples, groups could sit together with a sense of privacy and comfort. The service was excellent, and while the drink was typical NY pricey, it wa a generous pour. It was a delightful way to end an enjoyable evening.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.