We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was looking for a good place to crash - Found a very good one in Algonquin.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #147 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mooresville, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Was looking for a good place to crash - Found a very good one in Algonquin.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Came to NYC for a friend's bachelor party at the Yankee game, so I was really looking for some place to crash that 1) wouldn't be too expensive, 2) had easy access to the D or 4 train, and 3) wouldn't be too expensive. #'s 1 and 3 were taken care of with reservations made through Priceline.com, and I'd recommend that to anyone thinking of staying in NYC. There are way too many hotels around here to pay retail, and Algonquin accepted a very reasonable rate.

Their acceptance of my rate was a very pleasant surprise, because the hotel is really quite nice. If you're into historical hotels, this one doesn't disappoint. It's been around a long time, but to me it really did appear 'antique' without being 'old'. For example, I climbed a marble/wrought iron staircase to a room with an HD flat screen TV. Antique in all the right spots, modern in all the others. I liked it!

The location was perfect for us, as the Bryant Park train station is just a block or so away. That made it easy to get to the Bronx and back. Plus, since I was on a budget for this trip but without too much time constraint, I was able to hop on the F train to get to/from Laguardia (short bus-ride included, comes to $2.25 for ground transportation).

Overall, it met my needs (cheap and convenient), and it also happened to a pretty nice place.

Room Tip: Elevator slow - Get low floor and take the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    454
    141
    77
    55
See reviews for
198
531
94
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

A beautiful old hotel in a great location with a staff that makes you think you have stepped back in time! The welcome, the conversation, the desire to please and serve exudes from this place. The history of the round table, the clean, comfortable rooms. Not modern, but fashionably historic.

One of my new favorite hotels in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I can't rate this for value as I got a terrific deal on Priceline. So that's worth knowing. All I can tell you are things I noticed.

Parking: if you've got a car, forget about cheap or free parking. Car park opposite that they will validate (cost me $35 for 24 hours as a result).

Room was small but I think that's how it works in Manhattan.

Terrific location slap band in the middle of Midtown, so near Times Square and 42nd Street theatreland.

My room had a lovely old big bath with a great shower.

Two complimentary bottles of water.

No fridge or tea/coffee making facilities.

Beautifully comfortable bed.

Decent wardrobe space.

Rubbish view of back of buildings (again, I think this is common in the city)

Wonderfully characterful hotel, proud of its artistic history.

Free wifi in rooms.

Pleasant reception staff, allowed me to check in a bit earlier than normal (at about 1pm).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The second we walked in the door, we were greeted by friendly hotel workers who immediately got us to our room. Although the room was somewhat small, it is an older hotel and most hotels in NYC have smaller rooms. The bathroom was a good size though, and everything worked just fine. The best parts of the hotel are the unique decor of the lobby, the classy chairs and sofas in the lounge area, and the fun New Yorker cartoons on the wallpaper. Also, the Algonquin is only a few blocks from Times Square, and it was unbelievably quiet! I recommend ordering a drink in the lounge. It's a little expensive, but well worth it! All in all, we had a very comfortable stay and we'd be happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in April. We arrived on a Wednesday night and were told they had overbooked, but they had us a room right down the street at Hotel Mela. I was a little bit perturbed, but I was on vacation so I tried to just be rational. The Night manager, Nelson, was very apologetic and offered us free breakfast for the remainder of our stay and free drinks the next evening. That was sufficient as the bellhop who was very nice carried our luggage and got us checked in at the Hotel Mela(which was not as nice as the Algonquin, but good for just laying our heads down in a good, clean, new hotel after a long day of travel). We checked in the next morning and had a very nice room. The rooms were extremely clean, regardless of what anybody else has said. We enjoyed breakfasts every morning at the hotel in a very nice lobby and were helped by a friendly concierge before we left in the morning to help direct us around the city.
I booked on Priceline last time, but on my next trip to the city I will book through this hotel directly. The location is second to none and the staff was accommodating after the initial problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne,pa
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I had stayed here before in a minisuite with my daughter and managed to book it again for a Friday night. It is probably one of the best deals in Manhattan if you want 2 rooms. The sofa bed is not the greatest, but ok . The bathroom is small but has all necessary amenities. The staff was excellent. When we arrived the room was not ready, but the woman at the front desk made sure we got another room fairly quickly and gave us 2 drink coupons (drinks are high so these were worth about $40). I enjoyed a drink later in the hotel bar that the bartender suggested. Room service was prompt . Cost was dealable. The location cannot be beat if you are seeing Broadway shows. This is not a luxury 5 star, but for NYC I think it is a super choice. Clean, welcoming, accomodating. Only real issue is the surliness of NYC taxi drivers and the difficulty of getting a taxi which is something not in their control. Mayor Bloomberg really ought to look into that.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed here for the purpose of business travel. The hotel itself was in Midtown, close to subways, Rockefeller Center and Times Square. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has some lovely period details. The rooms, typical of any NYC hotel, are small but more than adequate considering you should only be there to sleep anyway. Quite clean, too. Ultimately, travelers will enjoy stepping back in time while still benefitting from modern-day amenities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.