We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home to Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Save Saved
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night
Ranked #18 of 451 hotels in New York City
London
1 review
“Home to Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I cannot, in enough words, describe how great this hotel is. From room comfort, to friendly staff and amazing terrace, The Surrey is a truly a hidden gem in New York. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Located in a super location, right by central park, you would be silly not to stay here. Taxis are mega cheap, so if you wanted to be in the centre of everything, its a 5 minute taxi. I wish I stayed longer. The staff were so pleasant and helpful, it was unreal. So friendly and always happy to help. The food was great, especially the burgers! Wow! Its the kind of place you need to visit yourself. New York is wonderful, and The Surrey is truly magnifique!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Missmagnifique,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and thank you for your kind review.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the experience and most of all, the service of the hotel. My teams works hard to provide the best in service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Surrey and wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    160
    40
    22
    16
See reviews for
166
477
70
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los An
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Wow- great place to stay in Upper East Side. Calm, Sophisticated . Service excellant, everyone focused on customer service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Mandroski,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Surrey and thank you for sharing your comments.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am very pleased at your review and will gladly share with my team. We work very hard to provide the best in service and the team takes great pride in that, They will be happy to know they succeeded with your experience.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I booked our stay at The Surrey after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. Our stay was even better than we expected. The entire hotel has a very cool decor with great attention to detail. My wife is an interior designer and was impressed. We booked the upgraded room with about 370 sq ft. It was outstanding. The materials and the fixtures are top notch. We have stayed in numerous high end hotels over the years and this was amongst our favorite hotels - if not "the" favorite. Since we stayed 3 nights we received one night free. This makes The Surrey a no-brainer. The location is upper east side so you can walk to downtown or just hop in a cab. Having Central Park across the street was better for us than having crowded sidewalks outside like downtown. Rowing and lunch at the Central Park Boat House was fun. Ate at the restaurant Boulad downstairs. The food was very good and the service excellent. We spent a couple late nights at the roof top bar. Awesome! Highly recommended. Staff was very friendly. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Dear Dr Zeus72,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and for your amazing review.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. i am very happy to share your comments with my team and Cafe Boulud. i know they will be excited to know that they created a positive impression on you and the Mrs. We continuously work to improve on our service and your feedback helps tremendously.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Surrey and thank you again.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We've just returned from a 7 night stay at The Surrey. We've loved every moment there. Perfect place and excelent staff.
The staff were extremelly friendly and helpfull. At check in we've arrived from a overnight flight, and the concierge had our room ready for us for an early check in. Provided us with maps and information about the hotel. We were able to get a showere, rest a bit and were ready for a sight seen. She offered us several suggestions and helpfull information. At the rooftop there is a bar with light food and drinks, perfect for early evening drink!
Also the location: at upper east side, between 5th and Maddison near the Met! We had great time walking around, and definetelly a place to rest in peace (far from midtown buzz) but close enought for a theatre at night!
Furthermore: Cafe Boloud! Well I can not stress how much I loved the dinner there! There was a night when the rooftop bar was closed due to heat alert and I went down and asked if it was possible (without previous reservation) dine there. They managed to get me a table and I had the mopst delicious meal! 3-course meal, with wine! Perfect in every detail.
The room was great, two large wardrobes! Inernet access for a fee (paid one week and talked to my family using skipe everyday), Turn down service (the chocolate dip madeleines were great!). We had breakfast in the room once and loved it!
Finally a personal touch from the manager. I was impressed that everythime something might happen later there was a letter form the manager explaining (like the heat alert, or a fire alarm one night). A personal touch that make us feel confortable and taken care!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Dear Ferrazalves,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and for sharing your experience.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am happy to read your review and am happy to know that you enjoyed the property, location and most of all, the service in the hotel. My team takes great pride in what they do everyday and they will be happy to know they have won your loyalty.

I am excited to share that i am traveling to Brazil soon and am excited to see you country for the first time.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Surrey on your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I love this hotel. It is very new, just far enough away from the crowds, has lovely staff and pretty rooms.
The hotel has a very nice feel to it and the staff just add more to that. they are helpful in every way.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The rooftop deck is very nice and the drinks are great in both bars, the rooftop and the lobby bar.
breakfast in the cafe was very good.
the beds are the most comfortable i have ever slept in. I was on the 12th floor and noise
was not an issue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Dear christy2064,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and thank you for the wonderful comments.

My name is Spencer Wadama, general manager. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your experience and made use of the property. We are very proud of the product but most importantly the staff I get to work with everyday.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Had a great stay at the Surrey for our first wedding anniversary. Coming from the UK, the Upper East felt like Chelsea in London - very exclusive, quiet and populated with well-dressed people. Our room on the fifth floor was very large with excellent furniture, toiletries etc. It overlooked the front of the hotel and as long as windows were closed at night, it was quiet enough. Probably one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. The staff were all friendly and professional and the common areas were great. Breakfast was very good with excellent quality pastries, coffee, smoothies and juice. We had room service once, which again was excellent - served on a large table with a flower, nice cutlery etc. The rooftop terrace was a delight with the sun setting after a long hot day walking the streets of Manhattan. My wife had a very relaxing pedicure + manicure as well.

Only one small gripe is the $14.95 per day WiFi - makes no sense whatsoever in a luxury hotel... WiFi is a necessity for those people coming from abroad with smartphones and expensive roaming dataplans...

Definitely highly recommended and would stay here again without a second thought. This is how a hotel should be run. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Dear Bryceadvisor,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey for your visit to New York City and thank you for sharing your experience.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am pleased to read your comments and feel happy that you could enjoy the amenities of the hotel and the Spa. I will share your comments with my team.

I do understand your comment on the coffee makers in rooms and rest assured we are looking into options to add this to our rooms.

Thank you again and I wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad,ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our stay at The Surrey. For us, it was a splurge where we said "it was really worth it." The location on 76th and Madison is very elegant; the staff is wonderfully knowledgeable and helpful (great concierge); and the rooms have a great Duxiana bed, wonderful overhead showers and everything is new. Best of all is the downstairs bar and the delightful drinks from the resident "mixologist," and the rooftop penthouse with fantastic views of Manhattan and comfortable tables.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Dear PKRAS,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey and Thank you for your comments.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am excited to read your thoughts on the hotel and service. Our staff strive to provide Considered Moments for our guests in hopes that they go home with a great impression not only of the hotel, but New York City.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Surrey in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional moments at The Surrey extend well beyond your accommodations. Whether you prefer entertaining in the garden, indulging ­in a relaxing massage at Cornelia Spa or dining at your favorite table at Café Boulud, personality and personal preferences inform our service from the moment you make your reservation. Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program which includes complimentary wireless Internet, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;