We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine-tuned boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Save Saved
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Night
Ranked #18 of 449 hotels in New York City
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fine-tuned boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

The staff is incredible. The bar has a really good and esoteric cocktail list. The design is very interesting. It is located in the heart of Upper East Side and one step from Central Park. Only downside: huge pillows, I like small ones.

Very lovely stay

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Dear Mencaji,

Thank you very much for staying at the Surrey and thank you for submitting a review.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your Surrey experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Until then, my best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    744
    156
    39
    22
    16
See reviews for
158
467
69
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed with my girflfriend in "The Surrey Hotel" in March 2010.
It's a beautiful hotel located close to Central Park ( one block -5minutes ) in the Upper East Side.
Near the hotel there is the subway ( line 6 ).
Excellent staff, especially the concierge staff and reception.
Rooms are beautiful and clean.
Breakfast is very good.
I'm a travel agent and I have been in many hotels in the world and I can confirm you that The Surrey is one of the best in NYC.
Thanks to all The Surrey's staff for their assistance and help for my journey in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Dear Giammy77,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review of your experience.
My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am delighted to read that we could provide you a great expereince and that my staff could help enhance your stay in NYC. We look forward to your return.

Please feel free to call on us for any assistance when planning your next visit.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Surrey twice in the last month and have found a new gem! The hotel is located on a lovely side street off Madison Avenue on the Upper East side (76th). Upon arrival, the staff is welcoming and very personal. The lobby is serene and soft (quite different from the Mark Hotel around the corner). I especially love the inlaid mosaic floor - beautiful.

We stayed both nights in a Grande deluxe room with a separate living room, but even the regular rooms are lovely. Everything is decorated in a soft gray palette with lots of white and gray marble. The rooms are so quiet that you can't believe you're in NYC! The only side note is that on our last stay this week they were working on building something on the penthouse floor - maybe a rooftop lounge, and the construction was ongoing from 9 -5 pm both days. I only noticed because we were on the 16th floor.

I ordered room service for breakfast and was shocked when i was told it would arrive within 30 minutes, but would try to get it there sooner. 15 minutes later ( I kid you not), a beautiful breakfast arrived from Cafe Boulud! It was hot, and they did not miss a thing!

We have eaten at Daniel's restaurant, Cafe Boulud (adjoining to the hotel), which is spectacular and I highly recommend trying it. I have had cocktails in the Hotel bar. It is very dark and clubby. Done is beautiful grays and black, with a modern, seductive feel. I would also recommend going around the corner to The Mark for a drink. The bar is very cool and happening, but I would not recommend Jean Georges at the Mark. It was ok, but really nothing special. We had the Roast chicken for two, which someone had recommended and it was dry and very blah. There are much better places at that price - one being Cafe Boulud!

The staff was terrific at the Surrey and all seemed to be trying very hard to make everyone's stay, their best experience ever. They offer you bottled water as you leave for your outing and for your trip home. A lovely warm towel greeted us upon our check-in and I noticed constant attention to the smallest details while staying there.

The Surrey is my new favorite and we have stayed all over NYC as my husband works in the city and we try to spend two nights a month there. Run to make your reservation - it is the best deal in town right now!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadama, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Dear Travllots,

Thank you for choosing the Surrey, and I appreciate the wonderful comments about your stay experience.

My name is Spencer Wadama, General Manager. I am excited to share your comments with my staff. It great to hear from our guests that the hard work and commitment they are making everyday is achieveing the results we strive for.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and until then, wish you the best.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional moments at The Surrey extend well beyond your accommodations. Whether you prefer entertaining in the garden, indulging ­in a relaxing massage at Cornelia Spa or dining at your favorite table at Café Boulud, personality and personal preferences inform our service from the moment you make your reservation. Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program which includes complimentary wireless Internet, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Splendia, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.