We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ive stayed in to date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Save Saved
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ive stayed in to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The next best was another Relais Château in Leukerbad Switzerland (La Source des Alpes). The hôtel décoration and style is low key but impressive (as confirmed by 3 other people that visited me at the hôtel). The rooms are well laid out and very comfortable, bedding included. The staff are very friendly, responsive and yet discreet. There is a beautiful rooftop bar. When I leave NY this hôtel is probably what Ill miss the most!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    167
    43
    22
    16
See reviews for
178
502
74
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our stay was part of a birthday celebration for my Mom and neice. Although we hadn't stayed here previously the location and reviews were encouraging and the actual experience exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Ms. Jennifer G,

We are honored to have been a part of your most special birthday celebrations for your Mom and Niece.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service through a delightful experience which is why we are especially thrilled to learn that our team was successful at exceeding your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Surrey. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC and MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just one stay at The Surrey years ago convinced us that we had found our "home" for visits to NYC and have returned several times each year to visit. We love the neighborhood, proximity to the park, the size of the hotel, the staff, bar and restaurant! It always feels like we have returned home and we are greeted with friendly smiles and welcomes the minute we get our of the car. The staff is so kind, polite and helpful and always go out of their way to make guest feel welcome. We were thrilled to share the hotel with family and friends when we married in the city several years ago and many have returned to experience The Surrey again and again. Special memories indeed, and we continue to return for other special events -- our most recent visit was a birthday celebration trip with friends and we are just starting to plan a return visit in the fall to celebrate our anniversary. (Nothing like returning to the "scene of the crime"!) And there is never a question where to stay - we love The Surrey!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We liked this elegant little Upper East Side boutique. The location is great, close to Central Park, the Met and restaurants and shops on Madison. We splurged on a one-bedroom suite that was cozy, with a small living room, compact king bedroom and excellent bathroom with a separate shower stall and tub. The cost was almost four figures a night, pretty pricey by our standards but this is Manhattan. We found good, friendly service and good drinks in the bar, and we had a fine early dinner before the theater in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Surrey is a 5-star hotel in every way. The staff is attentive, the rooms are elegant, and the service is outstanding! The beds are incredibly comfortable, the bathroom accessories are luxurious, and the decor is calming and restful. We enjoyed the rooftop garden, loved to walk to Central Park and Museum Mile. The Surrey is classy, quiet, understated, and refined--a lovely, romantic place to enjoy the Upper East Side and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If I could move in here I would! The Surrey is a luxury hotel on the upper East Side, one block from Central Park with quick access to the major museums.
My family loved everything about this hotel from the professional staff to the great rooms. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter because of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Aztraveler443,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your stay with us.

We are pleased that our idyllic Upper East Side with close proximity to Central Park and quick access to the major museums was convenient for you and your family.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service which is why we are especially delighted to learn that our team was successful at making you and your family feel comfortable in your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at The Surrey many times over, it's the reason I stay upper East when i'm in town. The size of rooms is what gets me there and the comfort of the beds. Never gets old. Really great. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Errikinky,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your stay with us. We are honored to be a hotel you return to on the idyllic Upper East Side, when you come visit New York City.

We are pleased that our spacious guest accommodations and custom Duxiana bedding exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#10 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional moments at The Surrey extend well beyond your accommodations. Whether you prefer entertaining in the garden, indulging ­in a relaxing massage at Cornelia Spa or dining at your favorite table at Café Boulud, personality and personal preferences inform our service from the moment you make your reservation. Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program which includes complimentary wireless Internet, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.