We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in New York at The Surrey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Save Saved
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night
Ranked #16 of 452 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay in New York at The Surrey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Surrey is a gem of a hotel on the Upper East side, right in the heart of all of the beautiful shops and boutiques and walking distance to the park. The bar in the lobby area is lovely and has a moody vibe to it - lovely evening spot but my favourite was the rooftop terrace - amazing views of the city and the service here was fabulous - especially Labi - an asset to The Surrey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    786
    160
    40
    22
    16
See reviews for
174
485
73
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We tried the Surrey again with a gift certificate that we received as compensation for the problems last time. I had 2 email confirmations for this wknd, yet was booked for 7/14 I was told at check in. Whatever amenities were promised for my granddaughters might have come on that date. We were promised 2 more sets of towels by the man who delivered our luggage, as only 2 sets were in a rm for the 4 of us. They never materialized nor did any amenities until I called. My younger granddaughter was in the shower when we realized that the one set of toiletries given consisted of a conditioner and 2 shower gels and NO shampoo for any of us; another call. It was nice that they took care of bkfst for us and sent some treats but this trip was meant to demonstrate that the last one was unusual withal it's problems; I guess we just have no luck there. We enjoy Relais and Chateaux properties as they are always so special; in a good way.This is an exception. Even though everyone is nice at the Surrey, many people are not doing the right things. I cannot believe this visit was intended to convince us that the past one was not their routine way of treating guests. They failed again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Peggyvb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am truly disheartened that we failed to meet your expectations. I would like to extend my most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience.

This is truly not indicative of the service levels we pride ourselves on. Please know that your feedback has been taken in the spirit intended and I have shared your comments with our team so that we may improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had previously stayed at Trump Towers on Columbus Circle on a previous visit with our family to NY.We had chosen Trump Towers because it offered an apartment and since we had little kids,we needed the space.But on this second visit,it was a business trip and we were just 2 people so we opted for a small quiet boutique hotel to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
What a good choice it was!Just one street away from Central Park but quiet and peaceful.Warm welcome from the doorman and concierge,easy check in and friendly reception staff.The concierge is to be praised for his in depth knowledge of the transport system both within the city and around,as well as being very helpful with any request.A true gentleman.
Rooms were beautiful,lovely bespoke furniture and an amazing Duxiana bed and incredibly luxurious linen.Nice spacious bathroom.Rooms were clean,spacious and very luxurious.
Gorgeous bay window too.
Breakfast at Boulud was an elegant affair,though a little too stiff for breakfast.More like a dinner atmosphere.But the a la carte menu options were creative and impressive.Not just the usual eggs-fried,scrambled,poached or omelettes.

Well located to be close enough to subway and nearby attractions but in a small quiet street.
i will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone,and will certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We asked to be moved from a 6th floor room with a view of brick walls and AC vents when we first arrived, and a slight upgrade to 7th floor gave us a great corner room. Yes it's noisy outside on the street, but, hey, it"s NYC and the city never sleeps! The private roof top bar is exceptional (if a tad expensive) and tables were always available. Views of Central Park and the skyline: magical. Only open to residents. The linen and bed were extremely comfortable, and bathroom products good quality. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a delightful hotel! Discrete and relaxing.
We spent eight nights at the Surrey and the quality level of service was similar to that at other world class hotels in which we have stayed. However the personal care and consideration provided was better, outstanding in fact.
Perfect for business or pleasure. The style, size and quality of the rooms met our every need. Two visits to the restaurant, a lovely experience, delicious food and like seamless in quality. A perfect boutique hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great Hotel in a quiet area very near to Central Park, Guggenheim & other museums. Rooms very well appointed with comfortable beds. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Fabulous roof top bar. Overall a very good boutique hotel, and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My fiancée and I were there for the second time. I had picked up this hotel for its perfect combination of location , easy access to central park and to some of NYC' famous musea, comfort of room and friendly staff. We were not disappointed. Actually their staff make a real difference between a costly upper class hotel and a kind of boutique hotel closer to our European style. Will definitively go back .
Lili & Claude

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional moments at The Surrey extend well beyond your accommodations. Whether you prefer entertaining in the garden, indulging ­in a relaxing massage at Cornelia Spa or dining at your favorite table at Café Boulud, personality and personal preferences inform our service from the moment you make your reservation. Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program which includes complimentary wireless Internet, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.