We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Customer Care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Night
Ranked #15 of 454 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Customer Care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

When my daughter from London, England, stayed at the Surrey as part of her honeymoon in April 2014, I asked the hotel to make her visit extra special with some flowers for her room. The Guest Relations team - led by Rachel Leyland - did a great job in helping me organise this remotely. She found and arranged the most suitable flowers and gifts. At all times she was friendly, courteous and efficient. Many thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear MLB1953,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience with us. We are truly honored to have been a part of your daughter’s honeymoon celebration.

I am thrilled to learn that Ms. Rachel Leyland, Guest Relations Manager, was successful in extending personalized and intuitive service delivery and was so efficient in assisting you.

We look forward to welcoming your daughter back for her anniversary and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    173
    43
    22
    16
See reviews for
187
521
77
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta/Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at The Surrey numerous times over the past few years. From girls trips to romantic getaways with my husband, The Surrey never disappoints. Just booked another stay for July! I LOVE being on the Upper East Side and so close to Central Park. You can't beat the location. Staying at The Surrey is always like coming "home". The staff always remembers us and goes above and beyond to make our stay extraordinary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear AmericanExpat92,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor from your frequent stays with us.

I am delighted that you continue to enjoy our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park and that our team members consistently exceed your expectations with warm, gracious and intuitive service delivery.

We truly thank you for your continued patronage and advocacy of The Surrey and look forward to welcoming you back in July to your home away from home. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, CO.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently stayed at The Surrey in NYC and were unsure of a nice hotel, since we had not been to NYC in many years. The Surrey is a small, quiet hotel with an excellent staff that was very welcoming and helpful. It is in a great location near central park and museum mile, with many small, great restaurants nearby. We will definitely go back! A special thanks to Mr. Shamar Brown at the front desk!

Room Tip: There was construction on the street below our room, but not the hotel's fault...just NYC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Johnfa,

Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and world renowned restaurants.

We pride ourselves on the warm and gracious service provided by our team members and I am thrilled that we were successful in achieving this with you. Thank you especially for recognizing Mr. Shamar Brown, Guest Service Agent, for the exceptional service he extended to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and found the place to be a very nice quality boutique hotel. Good location, far enough and close enough to the madding crowds. Doorstep of the park.

Staff were very good, polite, efficient and knowledgeable.

Nice bar and a great restaurant, see separate review.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear WFN,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor from your recent two night stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park and that the warm and gracious service provided by our team members exceeded your expectations.

I concur that Michelin starred Café Boulud and Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades are our most special attributes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the Surrey for a long weekend and we had the greatest time. It's truly a beautiful boutique hotel. The rooms are stylish and bright and clean. And the staff treated us like we were celebrities. It's so close to Central Park, all of the museums on the Upper East Side, and fabulous shopping on Madison Avenue. It's hard in NYC to stay somewhere that's actually restful and the Surrey really was a wonderful retreat. It's cool enough for young people, but elegant enough for visitors who don't want to stay at downtown hotels that feel like nightclubs. We loved it! We'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback from your recent long weekend with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park, famed Madison Avenue shopping and museum mile and that our inspiring Lauren Rottet design exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on the warm and gracious service provided by our team members I am truly pleased that we were successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

READ THIS BEFORE YOU BOOK THIS HOTEL

This hotel bears the sign of Relais and Chateau at this door, but that's probably the only relation it has with a Relais or a Chateau. Indeed the location is excellent ( if you are interested in this part of New York) and the rooms are large enough ( as described) BUT to be a real five star hotel you must provide the service and The Surrey doesn't.
To be more specific
1. It took us 24 hours and three calls to convince them to bring us the slippers.
2. I had to ask !!! for a minibar refill after 48 hours that nobody bothered to check our minibar
3. The second morning we had to wait 30 minutes for a breakfast table, because although there were free tables, they didn't have enough people to serve them ( in their words)
4. So for the next morning we took their advice and booked a table for breakfast at 10:00. We were there at 09:55. Our breakfast was served at 10:50 ( this is not a typo, it took them 50 minutes to sit us down and bring a coffee). When I asked for the manager, a young girl appeared 10 minutes later to apologize .
5. If you want to have a coffee, a drink or even a light meal inside the hotel forget it ( exactly as it happens in what we are used to call apartment hotels) . After breakfast hours the only place is the tiny and overcrowded bar. The whole common area of this five star Relais and chateau is two ( exactly two ) couches at the entrance. As an alternative, as the concierge advices us, we can go to the cafe two blocks up Madison .
6. If you wish to use the internet from the comfort of your room and you are not in possession of a US mobile,,you will be punished @ 16 $ a day.
7. I have stayed in airport hotels and I didn't hear anything. In this hotel on the sixth floor you feel that the traffic is driving straight through your bedroom. Somebody must speak to them about insulation.

All in all these small or not so small details make all the difference between a 4 star apparthotel ( that's what they are) and what they claim to be! And the worst part is that the only reaction to any complaint is a typical apology without any effort to " compensate", for example by offering the coffee when we had to wait 50 minutes to get it or by sending up a flower or a chocolate, when they forgot to refil the mini bar. On the contrary, when I asked for a half day extension of my stay ( check out at 18:00), they tried to charge a full nights rate, which is something no hotel has ever dared to ask anywhere in the world.

Oh, and be aware with your credit card. They have the habit of blocking an absurd amount of money on arrival. They have blocked the total cost of the stay ( maybe their average customers are thieves and usually go away without paying) PLUS an extra 1000 $ per room. Maybe they thought that I would steal their towels! Sorry guys, get somebody to tell you about etiquette.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am truly disheartened that we failed to exceed your expectations in so many regards. I would like to extend my most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience you experienced from the exterior noise pollution and having to repeatedly request services to the credit authorizations and response to your concerns.

I would like to also apologize for annoyance caused by internet pricing. Kindly note that the pricing is in keeping with the standards set by our neighboring hotels.

I was further disappointed to learn that your experience in Café Boulud was not in keeping with the standards in which we pride ourselves on. I have spoken to Mr. Dominique Paulin, General Manager, in hopes of preventing future such occurrences.

Please feel free to call on me directly at 646.358.3654 as I would love the opportunity to further discuss your overall experience. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We wanted to stay in a five star boutique hotel on the UES and that is exactly what we got with the Surrey.our room was light and airy and the bathroom was a very good size with a great shower. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and highly efficient . The bar was a great little place for a pre or post dinner drink and really adds something to the hotel.We loved this hotel and wee very sad to leave. It will definitely be our first choice of hotel when we return to New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your week long stay with us.

I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations from our tranquil Upper East Side location, inspiring Lauren Rottet design and warm and gracious service provided by our team members.

We truly appreciate your advocacy of The Surrey and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new home away from home. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#10 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#12 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional moments at The Surrey extend well beyond your accommodations. Whether you prefer entertaining in the garden, indulging ­in a relaxing massage at Cornelia Spa or dining at your favorite table at Café Boulud, personality and personal preferences inform our service from the moment you make your reservation. Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program which includes complimentary wireless Internet, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Venere, Amex, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.