We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel located close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night
Ranked #14 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel located close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Upscale rooms with a nice restaurant and bar. This hotel is close to shopping and sites. Beds are very comfortable and showers were great. Would definitely stay here again. The concierge was very helpful and the hotel limo took us to our restaurant reservations without asking! People remember your name here and the door men are very helpful also by loaning umbrellas and getting you a taxi if you need it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    179
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
195
535
79
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about this rather special hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous. The location was perfect for us. We would wander through Central PArk before hitting 5th Avenue. The only thing to watch is the price of food and drinks; although the bar does have an excellent atmosphere every day of the week!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were elated to hear that our exceptional level of intuitive and customized service to tastefully appointed guest accommodation to our prime location exceeded your expectations and resulted in an extraordinary experience.

We concur that the contemporary libations at Bar Pleiades make for a most enjoyable start to any night out on the town and it is a favorite amongst our guests and the local community.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

To begin The Surrey has an excellent location. It's within walking distance to the Metropolitan Mluseum, Guggenheim and other 5th Ave. museums. Around the corner, on Madison Ave. the 3 Guys diner offers a resonable alternative to the upscale Cafe Bouloud located within the hotel. Many other dining choices abound either on Madison Ave. or nearby side streets. If arriving by auto (like I did) check in can be a challenge because town cars often block the hotel's entrance. I was able to pull in at a hydrant accross the street and the doorman provided excellent service by quickly coming over to take charge of my car and bags. My welcome at the check in desk was equally prompt and warm. Our room was large. I especially liked the double sinks in the bathroom. The towels were thick and the hot water endless. I found the shower to be of hurricane force and there was no way to adjust this. All our needs, such as a request for ice, were promptly answered. Likewise when it was time to check out a bellman appeared quickly. Our bill was calculated without error and checkout was easily done. A sore point the the charge for WiFi. In this day and age this is just an outrage. On the other hand we got a freeee NY Times each day. A plus for the room was its two comfy easy chairs. The large work desk with its comfortable easy chair was also a plus. The bed was comfortable too.

Room Tip: You may find it quieter to be on a high floor facing away from Madison Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent visit with us.

We were pleased to learn that our prime location, tastefully appointed and spacious guest accommodations, along with our custom designed double vanity and sumptuous terry surpassed your expectations. We were especially delighted that our team members were so successful in making you feel warm and welcome.

Rest assured we will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we periodically review our pricing strategy for internet services.

We thank you for your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night as our planned hotel had issues after the recent hurricane. Arrived having just made the booking, of which the reception staff had no knowledge but that was no problem. Made to feel welcome, especially nice since we arrived in the middle of the snow falling courtesy of the nor'easter passing through the area.

We stayed in room 513, which was a corner room at the back of the hotel. No issues in relation to the ongoing outside renovations. Bed was very large and very comfortable but the room and bathroom were quite small but probably quite standard in NYC.

Spent the evening in the bar, which was very cosy and good, attentive service.

Although just a block away from Central park and the 'Museum Mile' on Fifth Avenue, it is quite a distance to the other attractions of NYC. There are plenty of decent shopping nearby as well as coffee shops and restaurants.

Only minor issue with room is that there were scuff marks on the desk, making it a bit scruffy and not what I would have expected in this standard of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While arrival was great and most (not all) employees friendly, there are a few comments that warrant mentioning:

At $500+ per night, they should not be nickel and diming guests with $15 per day to access the Internet. Further $6 for a cup of coffee downstairs (even take out) is ridiculous! They should have given it to me for free. The armoire that houses the TV looks like it belongs in my grandmothers house and the light with fabric draped over it reminds me of the Addams Family. HVAC controls left much to be desired. Finally water pressure in the shower is wasteful. While I enjoy high pressure, this was probably 8GPM and hugely wasteful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments on your warm and welcoming arrival experience.

We understand that design can be very personal to each individual’s taste. Ms. Lauren Rottet, our interior designer was inspired by The Surrey’s authentic bone structure and it’s being a part of the tapestry of the Upper East Side. She designed the hotel for the neighborhood, like a residential townhouse passed down from generation to generation and layered her vision with a modern perspective.

We sincerely apologize that you were not properly informed in respect to our lobby coffee service as we serve complimentary coffee and tea daily in the lobby from 5:30am – 8:30am.

I would welcome any additional feedback that you may have on our temperature controls so I may share with Mr Dave Stewart, our Director of Engineering. We continue to receive high praise for our water pressure and will monitor should guest comments should this trend not continue.

Rest assured we will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we periodically review our pricing strategy for internet services.

Kindly please call me personally at 646.358.3605 as I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith and confidence in us and have you return to The Surrey. I look forward to hearing from you and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Go to the Surrey!... On the upper east side, everything about this boutique hotel hits the nail on the head, from the warm reception by the doorman, to the cool place-to-hang bar..but especially the rooms. They are a great size for a few days stay in NY. They have a wonderful separate sitting area and the beds are as good as they get: down pillows, yummy comforter and pillows, and luxurious sheets. The location can't be beat : for Museums-The Whitney is around the corner and the Met an easy walk. Take a stroll in Central Park-also within walking distance, or go shopping on Madison. One of my favorite places is Morgane Le Fey, and Vince, right across the street. One can buy anything at Zitomars, and Clydes! This Hotel underwent a renovation a few years back and is the perfect place to stay in NY. We've stayed at lots of places over the years but this is the one we keep going back to! Ask for a high floor to get some fun views!

Room Tip: Higher floor=better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us and for the recognition of being a “your favorite hotel in New York City”.

We were delighted that our prime location and spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations and our custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens provided you with a luxurious sleep experience.

We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Service great ....ambience perfect ....yes it is expensive but worth every cent !! Michael who was the afternoon / night concierge was fantastic ...sent us to 5 different restaurants in location & style & was spot on 5 times out of 5. Location was great close to Central Park & upper East Side with all of it's attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our tranquil ambience and personalized service to our close proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and the famed shopping on Madison Avenue.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of intuitive and personalized service and I am proud to learn that our team members, especially Michael Cerrato, Concierge were so successful in making your experience most memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional moments at The Surrey extend well beyond your accommodations. Whether you prefer entertaining in the garden, indulging ­in a relaxing massage at Cornelia Spa or dining at your favorite table at Café Boulud, personality and personal preferences inform our service from the moment you make your reservation. Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program which includes complimentary wireless Internet, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.