We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ESPRIT DE CORPS!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Save Saved
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night
Ranked #18 of 451 hotels in New York City
Hot Springs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ESPRIT DE CORPS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay in New York that even Hurricane Irene could not spoil thanks to the wonderful team at The "New" Surrey. First, a word about our history with The Surrey, dating to the mid-'00's when we lived there for several weeks while on assignment in NYC. We loved our home-away-from-home: our enormous suite, the lovely neighborhood and the kind housekeeping staff who tended to us morning and evening. Despite the shabbiness of the increasingly threadbare, traditional decor, we just pretended that our Surrey suite was on loan to us by a beloved, elderly UES aunt and nested there happily. Naturally, we were dismayed when The Surrey closed for renovation and transformation into a chic, hip boutique hotel, having experienced the very mixed bag these establishments can be. Too often style substitutes for substance and service and the young staffs mistakenly think it's all about them, not their guests. Consequently, we have avoided The "New" Surrey for several years in favor of our fond memories of The "Old" Surrey.
Needless to say, we were thrilled beyond compare by the delightful surprise The "New" Surrey proved to be during our four-day stay over "Hurricane Irene Weekend". Altho' our Grand Deluxe Salon on the 8th floor was half the size of our old suite, having been created from only one of the rooms of the old one-bedroom suites, we loved it! Incomparable in decor and comfort, we fell in love with The Surrey all over again.
But, our most ardent praise goes to the wonderful, young staff at The "New" Surrey. Beautifully trained and completely committed to their guests' comfort and safety, they proved themselves beyond question during a stressful weekend when Hurricane Irene brought "The City That Never Sleeps" to a halt. Whether testing flashlights in guest rooms, providing umbrellas for the driving rain, ensuring that guests had breakfast and dinner at hand when many UES restaurants closed for the hurricane's duration or re-booking transportation in the aftermath, they performed with complete commitment and quiet assurance. They personified the phrase "Esprit de Corps", i.e., the capacity of a group to maintain belief in a goal, particularly in times of stress, and to pull together persistently and consistently in pursuit of a common purpose. Kudos to the management and staff of The Surrey!! We were deeply impressed and touched by the wonderful way all of you demonstrated a genuinely caring attitude despite many disruptions, reduced staff and long hours on the job. The Surrey is once again our home-away-from-home in NYC. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were truly delighted to learn that you have made The Surrey your home away from home and that we continue to retain your loyalty. “Merci infiniment pour votre fidélité!”

Our colleagues are indeed an asset to us and I have shared your comments and personally thanked them for their outstanding service delivery throughout Hurricane Irene. We pride ourselves on being able to touch the heart and soul of each and every one of our guests and it is only with a dedicated and passionate team that we were able to have achieved this with you.

We were truly delighted that not even Hurricane Irene could spoil your visit and sincerely hope that Mother Nature is much kinder during your future travels to New York City. We look forwarding to welcoming you home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    160
    40
    22
    16
See reviews for
162
474
69
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband spent hours in our room on conference calls and I never enjoyed NY more knowing I was coming back to The Surrey every night! Comfortable over-sized upholstered chairs face each other to allow a well-planned seating area, a big comfortable bed and a great bathroom --- what else does one need in a hotel room?

An added treat is outdoor penthouse patio with wifi -- a hidden gem in NY.

Lots of room service as this became a traveling office -- he thought it was much better than average despite the cost.

Only question is why does the bathroom having a sliding door?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high praise and rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that our spacious and tastefully appointed guestrooms and amenities, including our private Roof Garden, exceeded your expectations. We were truly delighted to see that you enjoyed the innovative culinary offerings of our in-room dining menu crafted by Café Boulud.

We hope that during your next visit, your husband has an opportunity to enjoy the city with you and we look forward to welcoming you home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at this Hotel the week prior to Thanksgiving. He had business and we decided to add some fun days to the trip. We would get up early every morning and walk through Central Park since it was so close and then get our Starbucks. The rooms are spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable. Loved the beautiful Marble Bathrooms. The Surrey Hotel knows how to do it right!! I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were pleased to learn that you chose us for some rest and relaxation and that we excelled and surpassed your expectations.

We concur that our prime location to Central Park, tastefully appointed accommodations, bespoke Duxiana bedding and floor to ceiling Carrara marble all make for a most memorable and enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Loved this place! Not a huge fan of modern interiors but this was really nicely done. Clean & beautiful, with great service. Perfect location! Could do without the huge pic of Kate Moss staring at me every time I used the elevator but no complaints & will definitely stay again next time we're in NYC. So glad we found it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were truly delighted to learn that you have made The Surrey your new home and we have earned your love and loyalty.

We appreciate your comments on our perfect location and tastefully appointed décor. We pride ourselves in providing a superior level of service that is warm, gracious and attentive and are so proud that we successfully achieved this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great for museums and central park. Upscale, good service, great bed and bath.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you were most impressed with our superior levels of service, quality of amenities and found our location to be perfect.

Your recommendation of The Surrey is very important to us and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, remain at your service.


Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a great hotel: modern and luxurious, nicely decorated and located in a quiet, perfect locataion of NYC - Upper East - very close to Central Park, museums and exclusive shops on Madison Avenue etc. The hotel is nicely decorated and the beds are very comfortable (Swedish Dux beds).

Other good experiences are the restaurant and the private rooftop garden. Some members of the front desk staff are significantly much more polite, experienced and professional than others. However, I would not complain about any of them. The new general manager has just been onboard for a few months, and you can already see the great improvements she has achieved at the Surrey. Even though the Surrey is one of the best hotels in New York, it is a shame that the walls are so thin that you can hear other guests coming and leaving. In addition, I would suggest that the windows would be replaced to newer ones (soundproof).

The stay was in total much better than expected and I will definitely go back. Keep up the good work, Shan!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am humbled by your extremely generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are truly delighted that our tastefully appointed décor, luxurious Duxiana bedding and convenient location to Central Park attributed to a most memorable experience. Our colleagues are indeed an asset to us and we are undeniably focused on being consistent with our service delivery. I have passed along your praise to the Café Boulud and Roof Garden teams; they were certainly pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

I regret the noise pollution that you experienced from the adjoining rooms and from the street. I kindly ask that you call me at 646.358.3605 so that we may ensure we accommodate you in a quiet room during your next stay with us.

Once again, I thank you for your heartening words and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Surrey has a huge photo of Kate Moss with no makeup hanging on the wall at the end of the hall off the lobby and that about sums up my experience there. It is the sort of hotel where the turn down housekeeper steps over trash on the floor of your room to leave you a special madeline dipped in chocolate. Perish the thought that she might pick up the trash too.

The bar off the lobby is lovely, but it does not begin serving light food until about 3 pm. The following conversation is a metaphor for the Surrey experience:

Guest: "Could I get something to eat here while I wait for my room to be ready?"

Bartender: "No, we do not start serving food until 3 pm."

Suggested response for a hotel that wants five stars:

Bartender: "While we do not serve food here until 3 pm, here is the room service menu and I can take your order through room service and have it delivered here since your room is not ready and that way you can get something to eat."

The rooms are nice. Bathrooms are small and there is no separate water closet for the toilet. The mini bars are very nice. Be forewarned. A two bedroom suite is not really a suite in the conventional sense, but three bedrooms that are connected and the middle bedroom has a sofa sleeper instead of a conventional bed, Indeed, when the hotel is busy, I suspect a two bedroom suite can quickly become three separate bedrooms. Remember this fun fact when comparing the price of a two bedroom suite at the Surrey with other NYC hotels. It may not be an apples to apples comparison.

The fitness center is crammed into a double room with frosted windows and includes some home style Life Fitness equipment- two treadmills, two elipticals and an exercise bike. It is 24 hours, but after one hour, you will long to break free and get some air.

The bar on the roof is impressive with a great view and some food service. Cafe Baloud is next door and it is five star and lives up to its billing.

The laundry service is dangerous. My jacket was returned with broken buttons. I have to commend the hotel though. When I brought it to their attention, they took the charge off the bill and had it fixed over night.

If you park a car with the Surrey, know that it takes a very long time for them to return it to you. I am not sure where they take the valet parked cars, but my experience tells me it may well be New Jersey. Plan ahead if you are going to need your car. A half hour wait is not uncommon.

The Surrey is the sort of place that you think you are supposed to like. It is the sort of place that Kate Moss must like. But, it is more "Hollywood" and less comfortable. If you are 30 years old, wear Prada, eat sushi, and worship Adam Levine, then the Surrey may well be the place for you. But, if you are a 53 year old guy who still wears a tie to dinner at a nice restaurant rather than leather slacks, then you might want to stay at the Ritz Carlton instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us.

We understand that design can be very personal to each individual’s taste. Lauren Rottet, our interior designer was inspired by The Surrey’ authentic bone structure and being a part of the tapestry of the neighborhood. She designed the hotel for the neighborhood, like a family townhouse passed down from generation to generation and layered her vision with a modern perspective.

However, I regret to learn that you were disappointed by the service rendered by Housekeeping and from Bar Pleiades. Please forgive us for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced. This is certainly not indicative of the service levels that we pride ourselves on. We take such feedback very seriously and rest assured that we will provide the required re-training in Housekeeping to prevent future such guest dissatisfaction. Please know that I have shared your valuable feedback with Boulud’s leadership team so they may take the required steps as it relates to your service experience at Bar Pleiades.

I was disappointed that you experienced service delays with the retrieval of your vehicle. Please accept our sincere apologies for this as this is unusual.

Kindly please call me personally at (646) 358 3605 as I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us.

I look forward to hearing from you and to being of service.


Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Manhattan
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#15 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#1 of 451 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,389 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Manhattan
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#3 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Manhattan
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#6 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#12 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Manhattan
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 451 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional moments at The Surrey extend well beyond your accommodations. Whether you prefer entertaining in the garden, indulging ­in a relaxing massage at Cornelia Spa or dining at your favorite table at Café Boulud, personality and personal preferences inform our service from the moment you make your reservation. Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program which includes complimentary wireless Internet, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.