We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a decent price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stanford to your Saves list
Hotel Stanford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location at a decent price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is located right by Korean town. The hotel is in a good location and is a decent price relative to other hotels in the area. The room size is small, but if you are looking for a good location at a lower cost than this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    546
    214
    60
    46
See reviews for
223
372
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Stanford Hotel during the Thanksgiving holidays after arriving on Amtrak at Penn Station. We are both 65, but the walk to the Hotel, with bags, was easy. The price was reasonable and the location could not be better: a subway stop at the corner, Macy's just around the corner, virtually on Braodway and a manageable walk to Times Square. The room was very clean (small, but what visitor spends much time in a room in Manhattan?), the staff very helpful, and the neighborhood very interesting because of the number of Korean restaurants. The included breakfast was limited (good coffee, orange juice, fresh fruit, and baked goods), but enough to start a day (again, who visits Manhattan to brag about a big free breakfast?).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is good. It needs renovation but the rooms are big and clean. Front Desk staff is friendly. They should be more, but that is okay.
The location is great, so you can walk almost to everywhere in Manhattan. We could walk to Central Park, Pier 83, Times Square, Madson Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and Victoria Secret Store is on the back street. The lounge on the 2nd floor is a great place to drink some wine and talk. That's what we did! The guy who was waiting on us is sooooo friendly, so polite, so profesional. I don't know his name but he is great! He deserves a great position in this hotel.
It was a family trip, so I traveled with my mother and my 12 years old brother and they gave us a rollaway bed for free. That was so nice! It makes us wanna return.Thank you!
The only bad thing I guess is the heating in the room. I had to complain 'bout 5 times to get it fixed. It was too hot like a sauna, I meant it, or it was too cold. It never worked properly. Our room was # 412. The last two nights were okay, but my mom complained it was cold. We couldn't adjust the temperature because the thermostat was there but it never worked properly. That was very, very bad! Breakfast is also very poor, Oh my...
Overall, the hotel has a ngreat location, not very cheap but it is nice. The Front Desk Manager is a very good guy, so you can look for him. He was always smiling and professional.
If I go back to NYC again, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location wise this is in the heart of Manhatten. The Empire States is around the corner (5 minutes) and Macey's is just round the corner up the road (5 minutes), Times Square is about a 10 minute walk. If you are looking for a large, comfortable room that is not dated, this isn't the hotel for you. Extremely basic and the breakfast is terrible, so don't book thinking you will get a good "American breakfast". There is a cafe just outside to the right that is fab and has everything you can imagine and more! On the positive side about this hotel the staff are helpful (if a little hard to understand- you are in a Korean district)), and were very helpful with any questions or bookings we had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is small we were on the 8th floor and there was only one lift that was extremely slow the hotel was run by Asians and most of the guests were Asians breakfast was a joke.
We booked a site to sleep 5 and there was only bedding for 4 there was enough linen. Had to argue with manager about extra charges for fifth bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel before and had no complaints. But this time the room was basic, shabby and very small. There were dirty splashes on the wall paper. The room was cleaned everyday with clean towels. The free breakfast was basic but got you going for the day. You did have to wait for a seat most mornings. You did have acess to a computer free wifi and free tea, coffee and biscuits during the day. There was also a happy hr in the bar from 6-8pm. The location was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Excelent location, staff very helpful... Two times this year at Stanford Hotel. Good and clean room. They receive packs from amazon and bring it to our room. Near Penn Station and Subway. 10 blocks from time square. Very Good place to stay and have Good time in New York. Good price and benefit relation. They have basic breakfast, good and included on stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#244 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#254 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stanford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.