We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking & Wifi
Ranked #262 of 461 Hotels in New York City
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Couldn't have asked for a better location. Stayed with two other couples on a friends 40th birthday trip. All on different floors which was a shame. Room very small but clean. Double glazed windows would make a massive difference to sleep quality. Although we didn't have any noise problems from inside the hotel. We expected some noise as it is in a city, but loads of siren noise. On the plus side the beds were very comfortable. Stayed begging of January it was very cold but room well heated. Bathroom small but fine. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Probably not on 7 th ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    763
    343
    140
    91
See reviews for
559
642
81
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I spent four days in NYC for Labor Day weekend. This hotel has good value and is well-located - across the street from Penn Station, Starbucks, Dunkin' Donuts at the bottom and healthier options less than a block away... We stayed on the 8th floor, which made things a bit noisier than we wanted at night, especially because there's a fire station nearby...the apartment was good and comfortable, service was good as well.

Room Tip: Get a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent one night in this hotel. Ventilation was very poor. The room was dirty when you look beyond the obvious. Light switches, desk drawers, kitchenette, arm rests aso.were dirty and grimy. Complimentary shower condiments such as shampoo, shower gel and conditioner were empty and again the dispensing bottles were grimy. Additionally the hotel is located next to an active fire house station - if you like blaring sirens - great place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently in the city for a girl's weekend with my sister. The location of this hotel was the absolute best for sightseeing and shopping. We traveled from LGA by cab, fare was around $32 before tip. Upon getting to the hotel around 12:30 we were notified that no rooms were available, but they would be happy to store our luggage until the 3pm check-in time. This worked perfectly as it made us get out and start exploring the city. Macy's flagship store is only 2 blocks from the hotel and allowed us to stretch our legs and do some initial shopping. (If you are visiting during the summer, venture over to 32nd and Broadway for "Broadway Bites". Fun outdoor beer garden vibe.) We returned to the hotel at 3pm and were promptly delivered our bags and ushered to our room on the 27th floor.

Our room was a 1 bedroom suite with two double beds. Biggest benefit was the two bathrooms! This is the largest hotel room I've stayed in while in Manhattan and could have easily slept 6 given the pull out couch. From the living room window we could see the Hudson River and Freedom Tower. The room was clean and full of towels which made us not need a room freshen up our entire stay. Given our short stay we did not use the kitchen amenities, but on longer stays the fridge would have been beneficial.

You will read in other reviews that the noise level is high. Well, you are in New York City! Having a location that is right across the street from MSG and Penn Station along with a fire station next store will bring additional traffic. However, being that accessible to the subway and centrally located for walking allowed us to explore almost every suburb of Manhattan in a 3 day trip. We explored from Harlem to the Financial District and everywhere in between. Many days we just walked, but the last day the subway was a huge blessing and very easy to navigate. We purchased a metro card for $10 per person and that afforded us 3 trips on the subway which decreased our walking time by 3 hours. Don't be afraid to use the subway! Easy and affordable.

We had both WiFi and breakfast included in our rate. As with any hotel stay, to feel from being nickel and dimed I tend to purchase these in advance and have them as part of the room rate. Breakfast was eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, oatmeal, hashbrowns and fresh fruit. Starbucks is right across the street and on almost every other street in Manhattan if you want a proper cup of coffee/espresso. Having a good breakfast in the hotel made for easier walks through the city with only the need to have a small lunch (slice of pizza!) before having great dinners. Good dinner location is Malatesta in the West Village and great brunch location in Harlem at Red Rooster.

All in, I would stay at this hotel again. The location was perfect, staff was accommodating and room was spacious and clean.

Hope this review helps you have a great stay in NYC!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I'll preface this by saying, the location of this hotel is fantastic, we (my husband and I) were able to walk everywhere and being right opposite MSG was great!

However, from the moment we walked into the lobby the service was terrible.

1. Despite the fact that we paid upfront for our 7 night stay, they still wanted to put complete hold on our debit card rendering it useless for the whole trip or leave them $250 in cash for incedentals (even though there is no mini bar in the room).

2. Also upon check in, we were not informed that the hotel had a gym and guest laundry, instead overhearing this on our second last night. We couldn't read about these in the hotel guide as there wasn't one provided.

3. No WIFI in the rooms... Free WIFI in the lobby (and right outside the room door) but as soon as you step inside your room you must pay for WIFI. Something you usually get in even the cheapest of hotels!

4. We made two phone calls to confirm transfers and flight details, one a toll free number that costed more than the local call. Which during checkout we did end up receiving for free after detailing all of these inconveniences.

5. I ordered a $6 cereal, it arrived promptly inside the window I ticked, however the man asked for $15 - for a packet of cereal and milk... He said service charges bumped up the price written on the menu.

We stayed in room 730 unfortunately there was works on the building opposite us which every night ran very noisily until 3am, obviously the hotel can't control this but it was unfortunate none the less!

All in all we certainly can't wait to come back to NYC but we definitely won't be staying at this hotel again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Manhattan NYC – Affinia Hotel is an awesome hotel and in a prime location!! You are able to walk or catch the subway to several stores and restaurants which was extremely convenient for us, even in the snowy weather. Upon arrival with a friend, we experienced a very friendly front desk staff member, Amanda. She was an excellent help to us, in which her professionalism and kindness made a great start to the trip. The room itself had incredible views, was very clean and had a great modern room design.
I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel on my next trip! Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Reception staff was excellent! Will, the night front desk man, was always looking up and smiling - gave me the feeling that he was aware of everything happening in the lobby area. The room took me back a bit...we had reserved a 2 bedroom suite and didn't expect a kitchenette to come with it. We didn't use the kitchenette but it was nice to have a refrigerator for our water bottles, drinks and restaurant leftovers. Also, the rooms were separated by mini-hallways...it felt more like an apartment than a hotel room but the kids loved it. Mom and dad got one room to the right of the hallway, the girls got the living room w sofa bed and the boys got the room to the right of the kitchenette- all very secluded. The windows were small, not like what we're used to in LA, SF or Vegas...but that was ok. It gave it that NY apt feel. And the bathroom was tiny compared to what we're used to but that was ok too. Overall we had a great time and being central to everything (and across from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden) was great!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just right for those who love the thrill of Broadway life and live performances. Manhattan NYC captures the spirit of a buzzing pre-show theater. Guests gather under high ceilings and flow between its New York inspired lobby, stunning ballroom, designer event space and suites. Manhattan NYC's location puts you at the crossroads of the city's most iconic districts. You'll be staying steps from Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea and Times Square. Designed by the acclaimed Rockwell Group, Manhattan NYC's 618 guest rooms and suites have a downtown look. Striking a balance between residential and stylish, select suites are over 1,000 sq. Ft. And come complete with kitchens. Up -to-the minute amenities are provided including 37" flat screen TV's, IPod docking stations and wireless internet. Up to 325 guests can be accommodated in over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile event space at the hotel. From the palatial ballroom to a VIP boardroom, there are nine distinct, multi-purpose venues in total. Each unique, but all are outfitted with cutting-edge audio/visual equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.