We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Year’s Eve in NYC
Ranked #260 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

best hotel I ever stayed in! Staff were amazing rooms were big and clean and the location is 10/10 I loved my stay it is literally in the middle of everything and times square is a 1 minute walk away! Must stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear borntodoit,

Wow! Your review is simply thrilling – especially since you loved our central location so much!
Thank you so much for choosing Affinia Manhattan this time. Next time be sure to visit our website for some incredible deals as we look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    671
    300
    122
    84
See reviews for
492
565
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2013 just before Christmas as part of our belated honeymoon. I had chosen it due to the location even though the reviews were mixed

Prior to arriving I had sent a couple of email's to various addresses and got no reply, so I phoned as I wanted them to be aware of the special occasion and request a high floor room if possible a nice view.

On arrival at the hotel there was a decent sized queue for check in and we waited for approx. 30 mins, check in was smooth staff helpful. The hotel seemed full for the duration of our stay.

The lobby area is lovely, can use the PC'S or the wifi, we did not take advantage of the free wine hour, as we were too busy sightseeing this amazing city.

We were given a room on the 9th floor, which looked out onto MSG.

The room was clean and comfortable, had to pay for T.V, and the bathroom really is tiny.
We dumped our bags and went off out for something to eat.

The location of this hotel could not be any better, 5 mis walk to empire state, times square Macy's, plenty of bars, restaurants shops around it.

Our first night sleep was a nightmare, constantly woke up by sirens, could hear word for word an argument on the street below, taxi's beeping horn's - was a little frustrating but also added to the excitement of being in New York. I was thinking of asking to move but just decided to stay with it. the 2nd and 3rd night we were so tired from all our sightseeing, matches walking we slept fine.

The staff were very helpful, you can get theatre and sports tix at the concierge desk.
There is a starbuck's directly opposite and dunkin donuts right outside the hotel .

The negative points were, we could not find ear plugs in the room, the noise could be a real issue for some people, and I was just a little disappointed that the hotel did not recognise the special occasion or give us a higher floor, but we did not complain as we spent so little time in our room it did not matter in the end.

I Hope we will return to New York as I loved the place, and esp the basketball and Ice Hockey games - and would most definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Jbund,

Thank you for your review.
It looks like overall you enjoyed your stay and I’m happy to see that we were able to accommodate you during the holidays in New York City. Our team does a fantastic job and assisting our guests with requests and preferences to ensure each stay is more memorable than the last. Whenever you decide to visit us again, don’t hesitate to contact us directly, and we will be delighted to oversee you stay from start to finish. Thank you so much for selecting the Affinia Manhattan for such a very special occasion.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Location was great, walking distance for most of Manhattan, and Penn station across the street made it easy to go further. Room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff had great local knowledge and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Htibballs,

Loved reading your review – thank you!
It’s delightful to see just how much you enjoyed our central location and our friendly and helpful staff. They truly enjoy doing whatever they can to aid in you having the most memorable experience at Affinia Manhattan. And we’d love to have you again – hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a quick visit to NYC in March and my daughter and I loved this hotel. We got a great room for a great price! There was a complimentary wine hour, and the two servers were quite nice. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was in fabulous condition and was quite stylish. The only downside is that it was noisy at night - but it's NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Karensbw,

Thank you for your lovely review! It’s a pleasure to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and your stay enjoyable. Whenever your travels bring you back to New York, we look forward to being your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Thank you for choosing Affinia Manhattan.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is looks very nice but you cannot get the wireless internet everywhere. I had to go to the lobby area to use it but there are always a lot of people there. I had to go to a coffee shop to use the internet when I had to do work and it was not fun.

The place is nice except for all of the people that come inside and it would get very busy a lot. It is close to a lot of good places to visit so I liked it anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Lydia V,

Thank you for sharing your review.
Our hotel is centrally located in the heart of New York City – in the immediate vicinity of Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Macy’s Flagship location at Herald Square and a short walk to Times Square. Please note that Wifi is available throughout our entire hotel – guestrooms, suites and in the lobby, and for all reservations booked on our website Wifi is complimentary. I do hope this clarifies any confusion and should you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

What hotels nowadays don't have free wifi in the room?

You can use wifi, but only downstairs in the lobby. Which makes it so busy & chaotic.

The room was quite small but still good. I suppose you have to remember you're in New York.

It's in a good location. You can walk to Times Square if you feel upto it. About 15-20 mins walk I think.

Average stay, could be much better by changing a few things

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Kasey D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
While it looks like you enjoyed your overall stay with us, it seems that there might have been some misunderstand regarding the Wifi. We do provide Wifi in our entire hotel, and when booked directly on our website it’s complimentary in the room as well as in the lobby. I do hope that this clarifies the availability of Wifi, however, should you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Concierge staff are extremely knowledgable, location is so close to Penn Station. Not in the centre of Times Square so rooms are spacious, modern and affordable. But still close enough to walk to. I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Naomi_love_2_travel,

Thank you for your lovely review of Affinia Manhattan.
Your points are precisely right – while not in the middle of Times Square, our hotel is a ten minute walk away. Additionally, it’s close to all other New York City attractions – whether for business or pleasure.
We can’t wait to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just right for those who love the thrill of Broadway life and live performances. Manhattan NYC captures the spirit of a buzzing pre-show theater. Guests gather under high ceilings and flow between its New York inspired lobby, stunning ballroom, designer event space and suites. Manhattan NYC's location puts you at the crossroads of the city's most iconic districts. You'll be staying steps from Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea and Times Square. Designed by the acclaimed Rockwell Group, Manhattan NYC's 618 guest rooms and suites have a downtown look. Striking a balance between residential and stylish, select suites are over 1,000 sq. Ft. And come complete with kitchens. Up -to-the minute amenities are provided including 37" flat screen TV's, IPod docking stations and wireless internet. Up to 325 guests can be accommodated in over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile event space at the hotel. From the palatial ballroom to a VIP boardroom, there are nine distinct, multi-purpose venues in total. Each unique, but all are outfitted with cutting-edge audio/visual equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.