We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night on Us
Ranked #265 of 463 Hotels in New York City
SCOTLAND
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at the Affinia Manhattan in December for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location across from Penn station. Easy access to the whole city from here. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was spotless.

The room I had was a double,double with a kitchen. Again the room was spotless and cleaned everyday. I will be staying at this hotel again in May with my family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back. There is a lot of city noise in the rooms to the from and side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear FDNYBUFF,

Thank you for your review and lovely comments regarding our impeccable service and spotless rooms. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay in December and look forward to welcoming you back in May. See you soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    792
    363
    146
    93
See reviews for
583
674
83
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed at the affinia Manhattan last year,was fabulous, we upgraded to a suite, had wine hour every night and the staff were excellent, particularly the bar staff. The hotel is straight across from Madison Square Gardens and approx 2 blocks from Macy's, we could see the Empire State Building from our window, a great location and price, highly recommended

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for an extra $50, loads more space and a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear LCauvin,

Thank you for such a lovely review!
I’m very happy that you had a great time at the Affinia Manhattan and enjoyed our central location right across the street from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. As you mentioned we are just steps away from the flagship Macy’s location as well as just a few blocks away from Empire State Building. The Affinia Manhattan offers a variety of rooms and suites – the upgrade is well worth it for the utmost comfort and space. Many thanks for choosing our hotel!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have visited the Affinia Manhattan twice now, and both times the customer service could not faulted. Unfortunately we arrived last year whilst large renovations were being carried out however we gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt and returned this year to be pleasantly surprised. Our stay ran smoothly, and the team there were fantastic (Mary, Franklyn and Lou special thanks to all three of you). We will definitely be giving the Affinia Manhattan another go!

Room Tip: Whichever room you stay in will be a little noisy given the location of the hotel (7th Avenue, Madis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Felicity B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review – and giving the Affinia Manhattan another chance after the full renovation. I cannot wait to share your kind words with the entire team and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was my first time staying in New York overnight and it was the perfect location. It is right across the street form Madison Square Garden. It has many eateries close by. It is in walking distance of TImes Square. the room was pretty nice also. Although the bathroom could have been a little bit bigger, it was OK. It was great they had a complimentary wine hour. The staff as very accomodating and gave me an upgraded room. Overall, it was a very nice and realxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear EbonieK,

Thank you for your review. For the most central location – you simply cannot go wrong with the Affinia Manhattan. As you mentioned, we are right across the street from Madison Square Garden and just a few blocks away from the infamous Times Square area. Next time, be sure to book one of our spacious suites for the utmost comfort. Many, many thanks for choosing the Affinia Manhattan.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very exciting time to be in NYC..Big East basketball tournament and the hotel taken over by rabid Creighton Blue Jay fans...Great location right across from Penn Station...Fantastic front desk staff ( Jenny, Margaret Jenna )...Room nice size...refrigerator and separate work spaces all a plus..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear jim e,

Thank you so much for your review! I’m delighted that you had such a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed the Creighton Blue Jays experience! I highly appreciate the wonderful feedback for our team – I look forward to sharing it with each team member mentioned. We all look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Me and my partner were in new york on a 5 day trip for her 21 st birthday we travelled a long way from scotland and from start to finish the staff at affinia coulnt have morw polite,kind,and helpful jenny who checked us in was great at helping us as we had a little difficulty of not having a cradit card she sorted this out for us and also rememberd the day of my partner birthday and the littlw things like this make a great difference when working in the hoapitality industry, beautiful hotel an staff would definetly return to an affinia hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear April H,

I’m thrilled to see what an exceptional experience you had at the Affinia Manhattan. Our team truly enjoys what they do on a daily basis and it shows by the personalized service they provide to all of our guests. Whenever your travels bring you back to New York, be sure to visit our website for the select offers and packages. We look forward to your next stay at the Affinia Manhattan.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have now stayed in this hotel twice in the last 4 months. The location is great. Penn Station is across the road and Macy's is a 5 minute walk . The front desk staff is very friendly. I arrived at the hotel around 7 am and the front desk was kind enough to allot me a room.
Though the rooms are slightly small but if you are an individual traveling for a short visit i think this is perfect

Room Tip: Would recommend staying at a higher floor as lower floors can get noisy due to street noise. Also r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Amitssethi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review! I’m very happy that you enjoyed our central location – and for a business traveler being across the street from Penn Station could not be more perfect. Whether one chooses public transportation or a taxi for their commute, you are simply minutes away from most NYC business districts and attractions. I would also like to thank you for recognizing what a friendly team we have and the exceptional service they provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just right for those who love the thrill of Broadway life and live performances. Manhattan NYC captures the spirit of a buzzing pre-show theater. Guests gather under high ceilings and flow between its New York inspired lobby, stunning ballroom, designer event space and suites. Manhattan NYC's location puts you at the crossroads of the city's most iconic districts. You'll be staying steps from Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea and Times Square. Designed by the acclaimed Rockwell Group, Manhattan NYC's 618 guest rooms and suites have a downtown look. Striking a balance between residential and stylish, select suites are over 1,000 sq. Ft. And come complete with kitchens. Up -to-the minute amenities are provided including 37" flat screen TV's, IPod docking stations and wireless internet. Up to 325 guests can be accommodated in over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile event space at the hotel. From the palatial ballroom to a VIP boardroom, there are nine distinct, multi-purpose venues in total. Each unique, but all are outfitted with cutting-edge audio/visual equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Groupon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.