We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Affinia Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Affinia Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off August Getaways
Ranked #254 of 449 hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“A nice suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a suprise, since we travelled as a group, I did not pick this hotel myself. The rooms vere very nice, and a most helpful stay. A perfect choice for midtown and the sights there. A very helpful staff, and easy acess to taxi/metro gives everyone a chance to get around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Affinia Manhattan.

We are please you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    497
    224
    98
    59
See reviews for
368
417
55
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived at 9:30am after a horror flight with children. Not only did they check us in, they gave us an upgrade to a suite with kitchenette! Room was spacious, beds comfortable, service was impeccable, and were very happy with the free WiFi given our 7 night stay. Close to Time Square and Empire State!

Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Sarah H. Thanks for sharing your review of your recent stay. A flight from Australia is never easy so I am glad we were able to upgrade you and your family to a nice room upon arrival. As you mentioned, our location makes it easy to explore all of New York. On your next visit please stop by our complimentary wine hour, served in the sparkling new lobby, every night.

See you soon.
Joseph Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robe Sa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Said at the Affinia on our recent trip to New York. The location was great as we came into penn station and only had to walk a short distance. The hotel is well located not far to time square or the Empire State Building. The room was a good size but the bathroom was very small not that this spoilt our stay. They offered free wifi in the lobby and complementary drink between 5-6 pm. A coin laundry in the hotel was excellent when travelling and very convenient. Staff where friendly and helpful overall a wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sharon H,
Thanks so much for your review of Affinia Manhattan. Our team is happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the great service you received. Glad you could join us for our complimentary wine hour in the evening. As you said, our location is ideal and we look forward to having you with us on your next trip to New York!

Best regards
Joseph Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

As a business executive and news reporter I travel often to NYC. Manhattan as everyone can attest is a vibrant, exciting city full of activities and events and a good hotel and customer service is 90% of the experience. When attending a conference at the Affinia manhattan hotel I was welcomed with a smile from every employee and a willingness to assist in all my needs. From one request to the next not only was instantly executed but everyone went above and beyond!. In a city where they see thousands of people to have employees remember you from your last visit and to be grateful to your return was not something I was expecting to feel. The Banquet manager Franklyn Polonia was incredibly efficient, dutiful, sharp, welcoming and truly marvelous to be around. He truly embodies leadership and excellence. If you are looking for a unique, impressive hotel that embodies the best Hospitality and a special magical experience look no further than the Affinia Manhattan!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Fiobella,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your conference at the Affinia Manhattan. We appreciate the glowing comments regarding our staff and service. Thank you for highlighting Franklyn; he is one of our All-Stars!

We hope to see you again soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Hotel would have to be in one of the best positions in New York. The staff were great,we even got an upgrade to a 1bedroom suite which had every thing you wanted for an 8 night stay. Each evening there was wine tasting in the Foyer which went on for 2 hours Maureen in the Concierge is a walking New York encyclopedia, her help at finding places was great. Walk every where you want,plenty of bars and resturants close by,The Dallas BBQ,Mustang Harrys,Molly Wee Pub and Plams which was outstanding.Buy a drink at the bar and you get a real drink.We would highly recommend the Affinia to anyone wanting to stay in Manhatton

Room Tip: Try to get a 1 Bedroom Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear redsquid,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

The location is great, and we are centered near so many restaurants, bars and clubs, that if nightlife is what you're looking for, just step outside our door.

We are happy we could provide you with a upgrade to your room.

We hope to see you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 children- 6 & 9. We are from Australia and it was our first trip to New York. It was so hard to decide where to stay without it completely blowing out of control. On recommendation from someone we decided on a 1 bedroom deluxe suite at the Affinia Manhattan. Everything about the hotel was fabulous- the location, the staff, the actual apartment- such a bonus having 2 bathrooms and 2 wardrobes HOWEVER if you book please be aware of the NOISE. The windows are not sound proof, in fact it sounds like there is a window open at all times. I did complain and room changes were offered however it was all too much drama- however by the 4th night with road works right outside we took them up on their offer. They did bend over backwards to accommodate us but I felt I shouldn't have had to go through this with 2 young kids in the first place. If ANYONE is going to stay PLEASE ask for a room not located near 7th Ave or you will be awake all night. Maybe if enough people complain they will make their windows sound proof- which in light of the recent renovations, find it astounding that they are not sound proof.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from 7th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear MVM81,

Thank you for your comments.

We're pleased that your first time in the Big Apple was with the Affinia Manhattan. We hope when you return, you make us for your hotel of choice.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I ended up at this hotel due to Priceline's Name your Own Price. They put me in what a front desk clerk called their "petite room" initially. Jenny came to our rescue and placed us in a different room which most likely has not been remodeled. That room had a shower fly infestation. I sent an email to the hotel manager but heard nothing before our departure. Judging from the other comments, I guess it was the Priceline quality rooms that I got. When I bid for a four star hotel, I expect a four star room. My bad!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Rstary,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for mentioning Jenny. It is great to hear positive comments about our team.

We hope to see you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Affinia Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Manhattan

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Affinia Manhattan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely renovated hotel features a stunning new lobby with a stylish, smart, and comfortable design infused with the energy of New York City. Get comfy in one of our 618 new guest rooms, redesigned for maximum comfort by the world-renowned design firm, Rockwell Group! Kick back and relax. The comforts of technology await, including flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and wireless Internet. Then choose from our Six-Choice Pillow Menu, and doze off on one of our signature Affinia beds. Hungry? Studios and suites all have kitchens. Or, pop down to the hotel’s restaurant, Niles New York City Restaurant & Bar, for contemporary American cuisine, stylish décor and a very lively atmosphere. (Note: When there’s a game at the Garden, there’s a gang at Niles.)Staying at the Affinia Manhattan affords guests access to a complimentary Wine Hour. Or walk outside, New York City is at your fingertips. Just steps from Penn Station and most subway lines, it’s easy to explore the city’s most exciting neighborhoods and attractions -- Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea art galleries, Broadway and Times Square -- at our Midtown Manhattan hotel. And for larger groups, we have more than 9,000 sq. ft of meeting space and great catering options to accommodate any event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Affinia Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.