We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night on Us
Ranked #265 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 9:30am after a horror flight with children. Not only did they check us in, they gave us an upgrade to a suite with kitchenette! Room was spacious, beds comfortable, service was impeccable, and were very happy with the free WiFi given our 7 night stay. Close to Time Square and Empire State!

Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Sarah H. Thanks for sharing your review of your recent stay. A flight from Australia is never easy so I am glad we were able to upgrade you and your family to a nice room upon arrival. As you mentioned, our location makes it easy to explore all of New York. On your next visit please stop by our complimentary wine hour, served in the sparkling new lobby, every night.

See you soon.
Joseph Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    793
    363
    146
    93
See reviews for
583
675
83
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robe Sa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Said at the Affinia on our recent trip to New York. The location was great as we came into penn station and only had to walk a short distance. The hotel is well located not far to time square or the Empire State Building. The room was a good size but the bathroom was very small not that this spoilt our stay. They offered free wifi in the lobby and complementary drink between 5-6 pm. A coin laundry in the hotel was excellent when travelling and very convenient. Staff where friendly and helpful overall a wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sharon H,
Thanks so much for your review of Affinia Manhattan. Our team is happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the great service you received. Glad you could join us for our complimentary wine hour in the evening. As you said, our location is ideal and we look forward to having you with us on your next trip to New York!

Best regards
Joseph Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

As a business executive and news reporter I travel often to NYC. Manhattan as everyone can attest is a vibrant, exciting city full of activities and events and a good hotel and customer service is 90% of the experience. When attending a conference at the Affinia manhattan hotel I was welcomed with a smile from every employee and a willingness to assist in all my needs. From one request to the next not only was instantly executed but everyone went above and beyond!. In a city where they see thousands of people to have employees remember you from your last visit and to be grateful to your return was not something I was expecting to feel. The Banquet manager Franklyn Polonia was incredibly efficient, dutiful, sharp, welcoming and truly marvelous to be around. He truly embodies leadership and excellence. If you are looking for a unique, impressive hotel that embodies the best Hospitality and a special magical experience look no further than the Affinia Manhattan!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Fiobella,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your conference at the Affinia Manhattan. We appreciate the glowing comments regarding our staff and service. Thank you for highlighting Franklyn; he is one of our All-Stars!

We hope to see you again soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Hotel would have to be in one of the best positions in New York. The staff were great,we even got an upgrade to a 1bedroom suite which had every thing you wanted for an 8 night stay. Each evening there was wine tasting in the Foyer which went on for 2 hours Maureen in the Concierge is a walking New York encyclopedia, her help at finding places was great. Walk every where you want,plenty of bars and resturants close by,The Dallas BBQ,Mustang Harrys,Molly Wee Pub and Plams which was outstanding.Buy a drink at the bar and you get a real drink.We would highly recommend the Affinia to anyone wanting to stay in Manhatton

Room Tip: Try to get a 1 Bedroom Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear redsquid,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

The location is great, and we are centered near so many restaurants, bars and clubs, that if nightlife is what you're looking for, just step outside our door.

We are happy we could provide you with a upgrade to your room.

We hope to see you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 children- 6 & 9. We are from Australia and it was our first trip to New York. It was so hard to decide where to stay without it completely blowing out of control. On recommendation from someone we decided on a 1 bedroom deluxe suite at the Affinia Manhattan. Everything about the hotel was fabulous- the location, the staff, the actual apartment- such a bonus having 2 bathrooms and 2 wardrobes HOWEVER if you book please be aware of the NOISE. The windows are not sound proof, in fact it sounds like there is a window open at all times. I did complain and room changes were offered however it was all too much drama- however by the 4th night with road works right outside we took them up on their offer. They did bend over backwards to accommodate us but I felt I shouldn't have had to go through this with 2 young kids in the first place. If ANYONE is going to stay PLEASE ask for a room not located near 7th Ave or you will be awake all night. Maybe if enough people complain they will make their windows sound proof- which in light of the recent renovations, find it astounding that they are not sound proof.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from 7th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear MVM81,

Thank you for your comments.

We're pleased that your first time in the Big Apple was with the Affinia Manhattan. We hope when you return, you make us for your hotel of choice.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I ended up at this hotel due to Priceline's Name your Own Price. They put me in what a front desk clerk called their "petite room" initially. Jenny came to our rescue and placed us in a different room which most likely has not been remodeled. That room had a shower fly infestation. I sent an email to the hotel manager but heard nothing before our departure. Judging from the other comments, I guess it was the Priceline quality rooms that I got. When I bid for a four star hotel, I expect a four star room. My bad!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Rstary,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for mentioning Jenny. It is great to hear positive comments about our team.

We hope to see you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay. Lovely hotel, good location geographically.

Pro's:
Free in room safe.
Very helpful staff, always seamed to be someone around when we needed them.
Free wi-fi in lobby.
Six lifts to cater for the 28 floors so didn't have to wait long for one.
Spacious room (one bed suite) with a comfy bed and extra pillows if needed.
Concierge very knowledgeable.
Two entrances which was handy when one was busy due to check-ins.
General location in city was great.

Con's:
Fire station VERY close to hotel, we thought ''Surely there can't be that many fire's?'' but it really was noticeable. Each evening/night must have heard at least five so be prepared to be woken up.
As it's situated on main road you can also hear taxi's (mainly) beeping each other non stop all night as they all lane change and turn which is so annoying and effected sleep quality. They do offer ear plugs so use them if you remember, however that doesn't 100% release the issue.
Both above not hotels fault but still need to be said,

Design of sink (square and 100% flat) meant that it didn't drain properly so you have to clean it even more so than in the UK, not ideal when on holiday and itching to explore. Same to be said for shower.

Within a 10second walk of Starbucks, 5second walk of a Dunkin'Doughnuts, 30second walk to Subway(fast food chain not tube) a 2minute walk to McDonalds and a 30second walk to Penn Rail/Subway Station on 34th street (mainline station).

Found out MANY tips when exploring not relevant for this post so if anyone needs advice please feel free to email me :]

Room Tip: Higher room would be better, in room wi fi is sooo expensive so try use free lobby wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tim G,

We are pleased you enjoyed the free wifi, spacious room and general location. We located near Times Square, Macy's, Broadway and the Empire State building. In addition, we are situated near some of the best dinning in NYC.

We hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just right for those who love the thrill of Broadway life and live performances. Manhattan NYC captures the spirit of a buzzing pre-show theater. Guests gather under high ceilings and flow between its New York inspired lobby, stunning ballroom, designer event space and suites. Manhattan NYC's location puts you at the crossroads of the city's most iconic districts. You'll be staying steps from Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea and Times Square. Designed by the acclaimed Rockwell Group, Manhattan NYC's 618 guest rooms and suites have a downtown look. Striking a balance between residential and stylish, select suites are over 1,000 sq. Ft. And come complete with kitchens. Up -to-the minute amenities are provided including 37" flat screen TV's, IPod docking stations and wireless internet. Up to 325 guests can be accommodated in over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile event space at the hotel. From the palatial ballroom to a VIP boardroom, there are nine distinct, multi-purpose venues in total. Each unique, but all are outfitted with cutting-edge audio/visual equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Groupon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.