We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really liked this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Year’s Eve in NYC
Ranked #260 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really liked this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Really liked this hotel. The location was perfect, right across the street from Penn station. The room was comfy and spacious for our needs, and very clean. The bathroom was small, not enough counter space, but this was minor, and the elevators were slow but its an older hotel. I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear stcroix2013,

Thank you for the kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would visit us again. On your next trip, be sure to join us for our new evening wine hour.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    673
    302
    123
    84
See reviews for
493
566
70
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

When we first arrived our room was quite small but clean, well furnished with a good sized bathroom with superb shower. It was at the front of the hotel on the 5th floor and rather noisy. Ear plugs are provided which helped. The next day we asked if we could be upgraded and we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the 13th floor away from the front of the hotel. The suite was very spacious with 2 bathrooms (one with a bath) and full sized kitchen. Again, very clean with a comfortable bed. The decor is how it looks on the website but the paintwork lets it down a little. The bathrooms are modern but the tiles are old. All in all the hotel is good value for money. All staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is in an excellent location, really central for Times Square, the Empire State Building, 34th Street for shopping, a short walk to the Rockefeller Center and half an hour to Central Park. Penn Street Station with trains to Newark Airport is just across the road as is Madison Square Garden. We didn't eat in the restaurant or bar but the menu seemed reasonable and food looked good.
We ate breakfast in a cafe a couple of doors away - great selection and reasonably priced.
After reading previous reviews before arriving we were a little apprehensive but needn't have been. It's not as modern as other 4star hotels we've stayed in but we had a really comfortable stay.

Room Tip: A higher floor room away from the front of the hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Dillybop,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am pleased our team was able to upgrade you and that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our one-bedroom suite. We often hear that we have an excellent location and it sounds like you found it convenient too. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to New York.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

great central location! good value

crazy comfy pillows and bed, room was clearly "updated" from an older hotel but it was all we needed for our NYC stay. would have been nice to have free wifi in the room.

the free use of yoga mats and other concierge items was a nice treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Vanessa H.,

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds and our convenient location near Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

jenna made this trip extra special!!! thank you jenna!!! The room we got was a great surprise and worked very well to accommodate 2 adults and 3 kids...
The location and room and price were the best in town!
Look for the summer deals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear miamitraci,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. I am glad you found our hotel location convenient for your family trip. Many of our travelers enjoy the spacious rooms and proximity to Times Square and the Empire State Building. I will be sure to pass along your enthusiastic compliment to Jenna. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our second visit demonstrated that the Affinia Manhattan offers excellent customer service, comfortable rooms, and an upscale yet affordable style. The hotel is pet-friendly with a very reasonable fee per stay and the staff made us and our little dog feel especially welcome. The hotel is close to the theatre district and many midtown sights. The hotel is convenient to Penn Station and several subway lines, with restaurants and shops all around. There is a restaurant and bar on site but plenty of other dining options nearby too, of various styles. We expect to stay with Affinia Manhattan again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Eviker,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is great to read that our team was able to make not only you, but your furry friend welcome too. We have a new pet program launching later this year so be sure to check it out before your next trip. I think your pup will really enjoy the new items. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed on the 15th floor very nice hotel ,but the reception staff said when we check in you will have a very good view of the Empire State Building when you look out your window but the view was not it was the back of the hotel very disappointing ,overall the staff very friendly room very clean .We will stay again definitely

Room Tip: Higher floor have less noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Leticia D,

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and clean rooms. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be sure to join us on your next trip for our new complimentary wine hour each evening.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

rooms are big, Staff are very hospital.
Location is excellent and in the heart of Manhattan.
Would have loved to have free wifi at the room comparing to the room rate.
Room service is a bit pricy.
Toiletries could be improved.
Bell captains are very friendly
do not expect to have a late checkout the staff will not even try

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear TheBigb0ss,

Thank for the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and found the location convenient for your trip. I will pass along your kind words to our bellman. I hope you will choose Affinia Manhattan again on your next NYC visit.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#235 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just right for those who love the thrill of Broadway life and live performances. Manhattan NYC captures the spirit of a buzzing pre-show theater. Guests gather under high ceilings and flow between its New York inspired lobby, stunning ballroom, designer event space and suites. Manhattan NYC's location puts you at the crossroads of the city's most iconic districts. You'll be staying steps from Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea and Times Square. Designed by the acclaimed Rockwell Group, Manhattan NYC's 618 guest rooms and suites have a downtown look. Striking a balance between residential and stylish, select suites are over 1,000 sq. Ft. And come complete with kitchens. Up -to-the minute amenities are provided including 37" flat screen TV's, IPod docking stations and wireless internet. Up to 325 guests can be accommodated in over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile event space at the hotel. From the palatial ballroom to a VIP boardroom, there are nine distinct, multi-purpose venues in total. Each unique, but all are outfitted with cutting-edge audio/visual equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.