We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced right and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking & Wifi
Ranked #261 of 460 Hotels in New York City
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Priced right and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went up for 3 nights with my friends. The hotel was under construction but that didn't get in the way at all the rooms are great, view was great and staff was perfect. My friend booked her 2nd trip there the day we got back!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear CFOL2013,
Wow, what a great review. We're honored to be your hotel of choice when traveling to New York. Best regards,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    762
    342
    139
    91
See reviews for
558
641
81
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Cockroach in the bath tub, water leaking from ceiling, room rarely cleaned to a reasonable level of satisfaction. But the lobby is renovated, which is about as far as the renovations seem to have gone. Rough area - not a place you want to walk around at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff and good, clean comfortable rooms in a very large, stylish old building. Only thing that took getting used to was New York never sleeping, so noise is ever present outside the windows, but that would affect any hotel and this one was just fine. Ideally placed for the tourist in terms of shopping (large variety of local shops + Macey's 3 blocks away), sightseeing (Empire State, Madison Square Gardens, Times Square all under 10 minutes walk). Penn Street subway just across the street, this is a quick way to get around. The hop on hop off tourist buses run past the hotel going south and are great for getting downtown (Statue of Liberty ferries, Wall Street, Ground Zero) or if you walk to the stop, uptown (Central Park, Rockefeller Centre, Museums). We would thoroughly recommend this place and its staff. By the way, if you are flying back to the UK from Newark Airport do not take a taxi, it is expensive and can be slow with the NY traffic. Take the New Jersey Transit train from Penn Street station by the hotel. It's quick and cost effective - $25 for 2 singles, August 2013.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and the air conditioners on the service area roof below us were consisten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear dolomede,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed our central location, it seems you were able to get a lot done during your time in New York. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you're in New York.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is a favorite of mine due to the proximity to the Amtrak Train and quality of accommodations. I always request the STUDIO SUITE size room with 2 Beds as it has a kitchen and plenty of room for relaxing and working. Rooms are updated and decorated with style. Lobby has lots of energy, but the room floors are quiet and clean. Entire hotel staff is friendly and makes my stay easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Kathryn F,
We're proud to be your "favorite" hotel in New York! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very well located in mid town on 7th Ave, close to subway. Surprisingly quiet rooms (apart from the air con system which we switched off during the night). Products in bathroom fairly basic. We had a suite and were pleasantly surprised as to the size of the rooms. Very comfortable and very large bed in bedroom and sofa bed also reported as comfortable. Very clean. Small kitchen area reasonably equipped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MrsTnewcastle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. How nice of you to mention how comfortable and clean your room was, our Housekeeping team always works hard to ensure our guests are happy while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location for all sight seeing attractions, great staff very nice place to stay, with clean and well decorated rooms. Free wifi in hotel lobby.Good food and service in Niles restaurant and bar. I would recommend this hotel for family's and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in this great hotel in mid town manhattan, we have been here for 6 nights and leave tomorrow. it is Ideal for exploring New York City. The staff are very friendly with the 5pm wine libation is a welcome chill before the evening adventures. We took our 2 girls (13 and 11) and had a double room. At first we thought it was a bit on the small side, but it was perfect for our stay. I was concerned about the noise from the fire engines before we came but we hardly experienced this at all. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just right for those who love the thrill of Broadway life and live performances. Manhattan NYC captures the spirit of a buzzing pre-show theater. Guests gather under high ceilings and flow between its New York inspired lobby, stunning ballroom, designer event space and suites. Manhattan NYC's location puts you at the crossroads of the city's most iconic districts. You'll be staying steps from Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea and Times Square. Designed by the acclaimed Rockwell Group, Manhattan NYC's 618 guest rooms and suites have a downtown look. Striking a balance between residential and stylish, select suites are over 1,000 sq. Ft. And come complete with kitchens. Up -to-the minute amenities are provided including 37" flat screen TV's, IPod docking stations and wireless internet. Up to 325 guests can be accommodated in over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile event space at the hotel. From the palatial ballroom to a VIP boardroom, there are nine distinct, multi-purpose venues in total. Each unique, but all are outfitted with cutting-edge audio/visual equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.