We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced right and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Affinia Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Affinia Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Labor Day Weekend
Ranked #254 of 452 hotels in New York City
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Priced right and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went up for 3 nights with my friends. The hotel was under construction but that didn't get in the way at all the rooms are great, view was great and staff was perfect. My friend booked her 2nd trip there the day we got back!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear CFOL2013,
Wow, what a great review. We're honored to be your hotel of choice when traveling to New York. Best regards,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    565
    249
    105
    66
See reviews for
418
465
57
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Cockroach in the bath tub, water leaking from ceiling, room rarely cleaned to a reasonable level of satisfaction. But the lobby is renovated, which is about as far as the renovations seem to have gone. Rough area - not a place you want to walk around at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff and good, clean comfortable rooms in a very large, stylish old building. Only thing that took getting used to was New York never sleeping, so noise is ever present outside the windows, but that would affect any hotel and this one was just fine. Ideally placed for the tourist in terms of shopping (large variety of local shops + Macey's 3 blocks away), sightseeing (Empire State, Madison Square Gardens, Times Square all under 10 minutes walk). Penn Street subway just across the street, this is a quick way to get around. The hop on hop off tourist buses run past the hotel going south and are great for getting downtown (Statue of Liberty ferries, Wall Street, Ground Zero) or if you walk to the stop, uptown (Central Park, Rockefeller Centre, Museums). We would thoroughly recommend this place and its staff. By the way, if you are flying back to the UK from Newark Airport do not take a taxi, it is expensive and can be slow with the NY traffic. Take the New Jersey Transit train from Penn Street station by the hotel. It's quick and cost effective - $25 for 2 singles, August 2013.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and the air conditioners on the service area roof below us were consisten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear dolomede,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed our central location, it seems you were able to get a lot done during your time in New York. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you're in New York.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is a favorite of mine due to the proximity to the Amtrak Train and quality of accommodations. I always request the STUDIO SUITE size room with 2 Beds as it has a kitchen and plenty of room for relaxing and working. Rooms are updated and decorated with style. Lobby has lots of energy, but the room floors are quiet and clean. Entire hotel staff is friendly and makes my stay easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Kathryn F,
We're proud to be your "favorite" hotel in New York! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very well located in mid town on 7th Ave, close to subway. Surprisingly quiet rooms (apart from the air con system which we switched off during the night). Products in bathroom fairly basic. We had a suite and were pleasantly surprised as to the size of the rooms. Very comfortable and very large bed in bedroom and sofa bed also reported as comfortable. Very clean. Small kitchen area reasonably equipped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Affinia Manhattan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MrsTnewcastle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. How nice of you to mention how comfortable and clean your room was, our Housekeeping team always works hard to ensure our guests are happy while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location for all sight seeing attractions, great staff very nice place to stay, with clean and well decorated rooms. Free wifi in hotel lobby.Good food and service in Niles restaurant and bar. I would recommend this hotel for family's and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are currently staying in this great hotel in mid town manhattan, we have been here for 6 nights and leave tomorrow. it is Ideal for exploring New York City. The staff are very friendly with the 5pm wine libation is a welcome chill before the evening adventures. We took our 2 girls (13 and 11) and had a double room. At first we thought it was a bit on the small side, but it was perfect for our stay. I was concerned about the noise from the fire engines before we came but we hardly experienced this at all. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Affinia Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Manhattan

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Affinia Manhattan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely renovated hotel features a stunning new lobby with a stylish, smart, and comfortable design infused with the energy of New York City. Get comfy in one of our 618 new guest rooms, redesigned for maximum comfort by the world-renowned design firm, Rockwell Group! Kick back and relax. The comforts of technology await, including flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and wireless Internet. Then choose from our Six-Choice Pillow Menu, and doze off on one of our signature Affinia beds. Hungry? Studios and suites all have kitchens. Or, pop down to the hotel’s restaurant, Niles New York City Restaurant & Bar, for contemporary American cuisine, stylish décor and a very lively atmosphere. (Note: When there’s a game at the Garden, there’s a gang at Niles.)Staying at the Affinia Manhattan affords guests access to a complimentary Wine Hour. Or walk outside, New York City is at your fingertips. Just steps from Penn Station and most subway lines, it’s easy to explore the city’s most exciting neighborhoods and attractions -- Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue shopping, Chelsea art galleries, Broadway and Times Square -- at our Midtown Manhattan hotel. And for larger groups, we have more than 9,000 sq. ft of meeting space and great catering options to accommodate any event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Affinia Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.