We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor housekeeping...and watch the mini bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Wiscasset, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Poor housekeeping...and watch the mini bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

This hotel is OK if you can get a good discount but not if you pay the rack rate. The location is excellent if you like the seedy fringe of Soho next to China Town (which I do), but not if you need to be in mid town for an early meeting or are nervous about the dingier parts of Manhattan. The rooms are small and comfortable but the housekeeping is consistently poor. The lobby and hallways are grimy and in need of refurbishment. On a recent stay the cleaner removed the soap and the toilet paper and two light bulbs, and did not replace them. On another occasion, the television remote control was missing and a replacement never arrived. After my last stay there mini bar charges were incorrecttly added to my credit card one week after I had left. I never use hotel mini bars but when I contacted the hotel they refused to reverse the charges and I eventually gave up trying to do anything about them.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    531
    228
    109
    91
See reviews for
132
569
122
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

I stayed at the Grand Soho Hotel during a very busy night, Valentines day. The location is pretty good, about two blocks away from a major subway terminal (Canal Street). The hotel is situated by a very busy area, however the entrance is on a less populated block. There are 24 hour restaurants in the China Town area and a 24 hour Deli directly across the street from the entrance. The employees are all REALLY nice, they never came off as "snotty". Upon check-in all guests received free champagne, they filled our cups to the top... NICE. The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms have nice artistic wallpaper and are designed nicely. The tub is larger than standard size. The shower has some great water pressure, a feature adjustable. The beds are very soft and easy to sleep in. The beds are Queens size, my boyfriend is 6'2 and had no problems sleeping in it, his feet were not hanging out, etc. Their television is a bit out dated, however it has cable and you can watch DVDs (if you bring your own - the player is free to use). The mini bar is a bit expensive, I would recommend to go across the street and purchase whatever you need. The rooms are very quiet as well, on a busy day I expected to hear lots of noise.... but I was left undisturbed. The hotel has multiple elevators, I never waited more than a minute to use them. Pets are also allowed in the hotel, which is very obvious from the artwork to the pet food on the menu. There is also a machine on every floor that disburses free coffee, tea, hot chocolate, ice and water. Overall this was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

I had two rooms during my split stay, one was luckily north facing and on the 16th floor enabling me to see the Chrysler Building and the Rockefeller Centre. Absolutely stunning at night...

The service was great and the rooms and hotel averall are modern, stylish and clean. THe downside is that this all comes at a cost. Breakfast for two as room service will set you back at least $70, but having stayed elsewhere in New York then it's worth the extra if you can afford it. The location is superb too.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Stayed at S.G. last weekend, loved the restaurants on corner - Ate at Lusso, and had a great time. Shopped up and down West Broadway then over to Broadway. Eveerything was close by, and the doormen at S.G. were very helpful..

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed at the Soho Grand for a weekend away and it is very aesthetically pleasing, but that is pretty much all I can say. The staff seemed like they were doing me a favor versus actually providing customer service. The rooms were nicely appointed, but small and the bathrooms were very small. Plus, there was absolutely no counter top, which I can't stand in a hotel. I found the price reasonable as compared to any other hotel in the city. It is in a great neighborhood, but I was just expecting more. The $8 beer we got from the mini-fridge was completely flat and we could not get the room service folks to understand that we felt owed a new beer.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Agonised over where to stay for nine nights in NYC. Have been there every couple of years since 1985. Have never been treated as well in a New York Hotel as we were at the Soho Grand. Surprising for an establishment frequented by the odd celebrity but never for a moment felt anything other than genuinely cared for by great people. Smallish King bed room for two people for nine nights but very good use of space made it absolutely fine. And overall tremendous value for money. Seriously impressive place and people.

  • Liked — the staff, the amenities, the design.
  • Disliked — no criticism at all
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

My husband picked the Soho Grand because of it's great location, which was all that really mattered to me initially, but my stay was one pleasant surprise after another.

Our room was part of a "Seduction in Soho" package, so we were offered champagne upon arrival, which was nice. But the real treat was the staff. I kept thinking that someone had informed them it was our anniversary because everywhere I turned, someone was being warm and helpful (and not in the annoying overbearing way I find in some of the places I visit in the city). It turns out, that's just the way they are. Thanks to all of them, every transition was smooth, I got everything I needed, got great directions easily, was introduced to my new favorite dessert (warm berry crisp with ice cream) and enjoyed a worry-free, relaxing weekend. I'm generally more a fan of the raw and gritty NYC and often choose to stay in hotels like the Chelsea Hotel to avoid too much of the trendy and "sceney", but this was just right. Comfort, culture, colorful people. And I found the lounge a great place to take it all in.

We stayed in room 1606 with a great skyline view, featuring the Empire State Building. Rose petals and chocolates were a nice touch and our package also treated us to cocktails in the lounge (they have some great ones!) and a nice breakfast (in-room service if you like). Comfortable beds, good bathroom lighting and a "skinny" full-length mirror were some other room features that kept me in good spirits.

Based on this stay, we've decided to make the Soho Grand our new NYC headquarters. We'll be back soon.

  • Liked — Location, staff and lounge
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.