We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Grand Weekender
Ranked #167 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Soho Grand. The service was wonderful, the doormen are fantastic, friendly and helpful. The front desk personnel could not have been nicer and the room was lovely. Having lived in NYC for many years and now going back to visit, I am very picky about where I stay and how much I spend. I can honestly say that this hotel is a great value, the rooms are large by NY standards with beautiful and roomy bathrooms and closets and it's in a perfect location! My room faced Canal street, which can be noisy at all hours so if you are very sensitive to noise, ask that you face the other side. The bar is very stylish and inviting as well. The hotel is upscale, sophisticated but comfortable and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear MYGreenberg,
Fantastic review. Thank you very much for sharing it. We hope you will be back with us soon.
Regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    438
    185
    97
    84
See reviews for
95
444
103
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, NJ
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I'm sure many travelers would imagine it's good to be in the Broadway area, but there's really nothing much to do there. Soho is a great place to be located because there's so much going on there. The Soho Grand was a beautiful small hotel and just a quick subway ride to other parts of the city. We loved the hotel itself, found our room to be ready for early check in and enjoyed the bar, the music and the food. The room was well appointed (robes, etc), the bed comfortable and the staff as friendly and charming as can be. We also appreciated the big bowl of apples by the elevator! Best of all, the neighborhood provided endless stimulating walking and restaurants--everything within reach. We did not experience any negative issues. We stayed late at the bar. We were impressed by the fact that when our waitress had to leave she took the trouble to bring the new waitress over to us and introduce her. A special touch!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Carolyn B,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both the Soho Grand and the surrounding neighborhood. Our service goal is to go above and beyond your expectations. I am happy to hear about the server introducing her replacement. It’s the little things that make all the difference and outstanding service is key.
We hope you will be returning. Email me directly so that I can personally assist you with your next stay kfahey@sohogrand.com.
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Hotel is cool and the service was amazing, in fact so amazing that I didn't notice it. I would be in the taxi after being ushered into it by an amazingly accommodating young footman. I'd be in the lounge and be eating something that is not on their menu because the waitress went out of the way to see if the chef would accommodate my request. If I seemed lost there was always someone there to ask me if I needed help. Service great! Location, even better...Soho is busy and fun, hip and cosmopolitan, great shopping, great little eats, and access to wonderful and new art and architectural establishments. I like to exercise and I found the gym to be tiny and very basic. Not a lot in terms of running paths and parks...not that I saw anyway. I did take the subway to Central Park...an adventure in itself! BUT...I'm 55 years old and I like quiet, so my upgrade to a corner suite overlooking Soho was a bit noisy for my liking. Thank god for sleeping pills. Be sure to ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeper. AND I need light...the hotel was DARK! Almost post nuclear dark, most probably to accentuate the warehouse architectural ambiance it so wants to be identified by. The hotel room washrooms could use a lift and the rooms are tiny, but the beds were divine and as I could not really see the rest of the hotel I'm afraid I can't comment on the decor.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room...the street side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear turnbsy,

We take great pride in reading that our “service was amazing”, thank you for that. I am happy to hear that your server was able to honor your special request. We try to go above and beyond whenever possible. The Soho neighborhood makes getting around town easy. Trains and cabs are easy to access so it’s convenient for anyone who wants to explore Manhattan yet prefers the energy downtown for their hotel stay.
Please let me know when you will be returning so I can add your preference for additional lighting on your reservation. kfahey@sohogrand.com

Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at the soho grand last year and decided to return however this time I wasn't to impressed with the overall service. I feel like its loosing its touch. The employees are friendly but not like they were in the past and the rooms can use a little TLC. With so many other hotels in the area I wish the soho grand luck. I'm sure they will get better

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Nicole T,
I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your last stay. Please email me so we can discuss the issues in detail. We then can begin the process of rebuilding your faith in our brand. kfahey@sohogrand.com

Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent last weekend at the Soho Grand and found it the perfect location and price point for a last minute NYC weekend getaway. We booked our room on the internet while driving down saturday morning from Boston. The process was easy and our room was ready when we arrived at 2:00 pm. Parking is right across the street so getting rid of our car was seemless. Our room had a view of West Broadway. It was small but very comfortable. The bathroom was actaully larger and nicer than some we hav evisited recently. The lobby bar was very active on both Saturday evening and Sunday brunch. The only negative of the hotel was that it had a very small lobby. if you like to read the paper in the lobby and watch the world go by this is not ofr you. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and i recently stayed at the Soho Grand. We had a wonderful time. The staff are fantastic and very accommodating. The bars are wonderful. food and drink are all above average. The location of the hotel is it's biggest selling point. Within waling distance to many bars and restaurants. Concierge is very knowledgeable. the only negative this time is it didn't seem the thermostat was working properly. The room was too warm and I could not cool it down. Not a big deal though. This is not the first time we have stayed here. That should say it all!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I live close to the city, but had to stay overnight in style for a work related project. The Soho grand was by far one of the most comfortable stays i've had. Great bed, great bar, with comparable prices, interesting decor, and a service minded staff thats friendly. Can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Choose a suite, if you can splurge. Its worth it ( mini bar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mark S,
Amazing! Thank you for your review. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Sincerely,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.