We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for new years 2014, perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stayed for new years 2014, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for a week to see in New Years 2014. Had the best holiday of our lives and the hotel contributed to that.

We arrived to a big smile and welcome from doorman Ben, and when we got to our room a bottle of champagne on ice was waiting for us as it was my partners birthday. We didn't ask for that, they just did it. Excellent touch.

The location is excellent, right in the heart of the soho shopping district and far enough away from times square but you can still reach it within an hours walk or 15 minutes on the subway (if you feel the need to go). Its also a 5-10 minute walk to chinatown, little italy and loads of great restaurants.

The room was the perfect size, not too pokey and not too big. Decorated in a contemporary way, we particularly loved the bathroom decor.

We spent new years eve at the hotels black and white ball which was brilliant, we bought the general admission tickets and had a blast. Premium open bar until 2am and more champagne than you can ever imagine! Midnight was a riot! Definitely go if you're staying for new year!

If you want to experience the proper new york city, stay round here and visit the surrounding areas. Definitely hop over to willimasburg in brooklyn!

The hotel was full of cool people, the staff were all very friendly, helpful and attractive. There's no set 'uniform' which adds to the casual feel of the place and the bar guys certainly knew their stuff!

We're already planning our return visit and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

HOWEVER…. if you want to be in the centre of tourist things 24/7, times square, empire state, rockerfeller etc this may not be the hotel for you - stay closer to times square.

Room Tip: Email beforehand and ask for a room with a view. If they have one available to allocate you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear tbboy87,
WOW! Thank you so much for detailing all that added to your “perfect” stay. Our NYE party is one of the highlights for both our guests and our team.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed ringing in the new year with us. We hope to have you back again for the next one and hopefully for a holiday sometime between then and now.
Happy new year to you,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    511
    224
    106
    88
See reviews for
123
547
117
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A wonderful hotel, friendly staff and such a welcome away from home. Evening meal good and yummy porridge for breakfast and a relaxed environment and a willingness to always assist.

Good location and shops away from the crazy 5th avenue.

Thank you

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Nikki662,
We strive to be the “home away from home” for every person who steps through our doors. It is wonderful to hear when we hit our mark. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you will be back soon.
Thank you,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I simply can't fault this hotel.
The accommodation, food and service were just excellent.
I particularly liked the location. The Soho area is a great part of New York with really nice shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Laurence P,
Such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your taking time to post. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Warmly,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanremo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has just become my favourite place to stay in NYC. The location in Soho is perfect me and my husband walked everywhere. The hotel staff are really helpful and friendly and the rooms are a great size. We had a corner king room with a view of Manhattan that was just breath taking. The size of the room is excellent for NYC and the beds are very comfortable. Wifi works perfectly for such a big hotel. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and we will be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear mamaloosha,
Thank you for this amazing review! That is what we aim for. We look forward to your return. We would also like to invite you to join our new guest loyalty: GrandLife Rewards. GrandLife Rewards recognizes that guests staying with us most frequently deserve greater rewards – including exclusive 10% discount, special offers and points per stay that can be redeemed for complimentary guestrooms, upgrades, hotel services, Apple products and more. To learn more, please visit grandliferewards.com
Regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel left us in awe. It is just beautiful. Classic style with a staff that knows how to make you feel welcome. The restaurant is excellent and the rooms are a nice size for Manhattan. The location is fantastic. It is pricey but you absolutely get what you pay for. This place is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Dave M,
Thank you so much. What a fantastic review! Please let me know when you will be returning so that I can make your reservation for you personally kfahey@sohogrand.com
Best regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was here on business (for a book tour) and not only did the land line beep due to battery running low during my live on-air radio interviews (which I was excited to do from my room -- I ended up having to use my cell phone for three hours of interviews) the internet was so spotty during my 3-day stay (despite repeated calls to the desk to see if there was some other solution) that I was really unable to conduct any business at all. It was beyond frustrating. I've never stayed in a hotel that was harder to work from. I love the design but the service was not good as far as remedying these problems, and I can't wait to get to another hotel or train or plane where I might have internet more than a few minutes so I can finally catch up on business.

Room Tip: Maybe a lower floor would have better reception?
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Cindy C,
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues with your wifi.and with your landline. We don’t hear issues like often however I am very sorry to hear that it impeded your work. I have gone ahead and alerted our IT department and we are making the proper corrections so that this is not a recurring issue.
We do hope you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you on your next stay.
Warmly,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just stayed at the Soho Grand for a long weekend and loved the hotel staff. They were so friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We enjoyed having a drink at the bar each night and the bar tenders remembering us as well as the host/hostesses as we entered...the front desk as well as the doormen were also top notch. It was expensive but we loved the neighborhood....nothing negative to say except would love to pay less...but I guess you get what you pay for and I thought this hotel was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Travel017,
What a lovely review. Thank you for sharing it. When you are next traveling please contact me directly so that I can assist you with your reservation to ensure it’s best suited to you. kfahey@sohogrand.com
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.