We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Pet Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (SoHo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer in Soho
Ranked #158 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Pet Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Walked into a classically beautiful lobby with my dogs (and no pet fee). They checked me in, and sent me to my room with complimentary champagne. The room was clean with a comfy bed, and a bathtub. I had great apps and cocktails in the lobby bar. The most amazing dog park is part of the hotel. (I honestly can't believe they used all that NY real estate for pups, but was so glad they did!). Overall quite a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Allie C,
Love to hear that both you and your pet enjoyed your stay. The private dog park has been a big hit. We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.
Warmly,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    594
    257
    113
    98
See reviews for
165
653
129
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A beautiful building with lots of character that is well considered in it's design. The majority of the staff are delightful and could not be more helpful but sadly the team is let down by one or two of the hostesses in the bar area who are decidedly snooty! The stars of the show are the doormen who are unfailingly helpful and polite, the housekeeping staff are also lovely.
The breakfast is excellent, and very good value for NYC.
My main gripe is with the hotels dog friendly policy - strange as we are dog owners and at first thought how lovely it would be to be able to bring the pooches along, unfortunately not all guests are considerate of others, or the needs of their animals and this can have a major impact. A room across the hall was occupied by a couple and three dogs, all was well until the couple decided to go out fr the evening leaving their furry friends behind with only the TV, on loud enough for us to hear when we came back from dinner, for company. At 10.30pm the dogs started barking, then howling, and continued to do so until the owners finally returned at 12.45am. The hotel staff were powerless to deal with the problem as one of the dogs was so unsettled it had become aggressive - the most the team could do was issue a warning and request that the owners return as soon as possible. The room had been soiled and the entire floor were kept awake. This experience has changed my opinion about dog friendly hotels and should we stay at one again the first thing I would ask would be whether they have dog free floors for sanitary as well as restful purposes.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State and a dog free floor unless you intend to take your dogs with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear fiona 1509,
Thank you for your review. We do in fact offer floors that are set aside for our guests traveling with animals and other floors are restricted. We have shared your feedback with the areas of concern and we will address all your issues internally.
I do hope you will return and all us another opportunity to win you as a repeat guest.
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a nice long weekend stay with my wife in Soho Grand. The hotel has a relaxed, nostalgic atmosphere with flavors of fashionable hip. The staff was very friendly and curteous. The lobby/bar area is small but comfortable. We were however disappointed with the size and quality of the rooms. We booked a deluxe to get some view but the room initially offered was facing constructions works on W Broadway side and very dark. Although the hotel is non-smoking, the floor also smelt like a bar. We were transferred to a corner room in the 15th which was significantly better. Both rooms were somewhat dated and small. No space to open your suitcase, yet a big minibar in the room (with silly prices - bottle of water USD10). Even on the 15th the rooms are noisy with street traffic. Also the AC is ancient and noisy, handset of the phone did not work.

Overall the friendly staff and practical location were worth a lot but I do not consider this a 4,5* and at an average of USD400/night somewhat overpriced. The potential is there but especially the rooms are in need of a refresher. The F&B prices are also very steep (a beer at 9 USD, glass of red wine USD 15+). We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel but only at a lower rate. Based on what we paid there are better options.

Room Tip: Make sure to book on a higher floor as the lower floors - and especially on the W Broadway side - ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear DPL9473,
Thank you for taking to for your review. We are happy to hear that our team was friendly and that you enjoyed the bar and lobby. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room size. We do offer a variety of room types that may better suit your needs. When you are next thinking of returning please email me directly so that I can better assist you in finding a room that works for your kfahey@sohogrand.com
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife for an evening in the city to briefly depart from our quiet suburban life. I had a good feeling from the moment I booked by phone. Exceptional service and the warmth was evident immediately. Got there a bit late but no problems checking in. In fact, the woman that booked my stay picked up and made notes to the entire front desk staff about my arrival. The room was beautiful and quiet (corner king) on the 4th floor. So romantic. When we came back from dinner, the same woman whom I spoke with left us a plate of sweets and a note of thanks. Capped the evening with drinks at the Salon. Beautiful and and great service. Valet parking smooth and checkout a breeze. One of the finest establishments that I have ever been to anywhere in the world. Outstanding.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Kei S,
Wow! Thank you for this. We love to hear when our team goes above and beyond. Repeat guests are what we aim for and I hope we found one in you.
Please email me when you are next planning a trip so that I can handle your reservation myself. kfahey@sohogrand.com
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We are sooooo coming Bach here . A really smart , cool and friendly hotel in a fabulous location for Soho and the village . Communal areas are excellent , especially the 2 busy and atmospheric bars . My room , 501 a little small and with poor outlook was still stylishly designed and fitted out . And heh : who wants to spend time in their room when in New York. I love the free wi Fi with no sign in required .....Hotel owners take note !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear siezahedley,
Thank you so much for this review. We are happy to hear you had the time to experience the entire hotel. We offer a seasonal menu and curated cocktail list which I hope you had the opportunity of indulging in. It’s always a treat when guests’ enjoy the space as much as we do.
We hope to have you back soon.
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Soho Grand over Christmas. It was a return stay and our experience was even better than the first time last August. There are several reasons we love the Soho Grand. First, the location is fantastic- guests find themselves at the intersection of Soho and Tribeca. Restaurants, shops, walks along the river- they are all inside a small radius. Convenient transportation to tourist areas to the north and south is minutes away. Second, the overall service at the Grand is outstanding. It begins at the front door (where Martin wows with his impeccable manners) and continues throughout the hotel, at every contact with staff. How do all these people remember my name, I wonder. Finally, I must mention my favorite part of the Soho Grand: the lounge area, where one can have meals or just drinks or just sit around and people watch. It is truly magical. The decor is dramatic (very high ceilings), and both spacious and cozy. We invited some friends there for drinks and nibbles on the first night. They were staying at another boutique hotel in Soho (like us they are from Miami) but loved the Grand's lounge so much they returned again two times during their 6 day NY visit. In the lounge, I especially want to compliment Matteo for his attention to detail, Svenska for her graciousness and Keith for his professionalism. In addition to great service, creative dishes, and the best cappuccino in town, the music choices add to the magical feel. All in all, my husband and I left new york smiling, and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great because they have two windows, doubling the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband, dog and myself just returned from a 2 night stay at the Soho Grand. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels in the city but this was by far the best experience we have ever had. The staff is truly fantastic and this is was made our stay so special. We really wanted to bring our dog Jasper, a really sweet Portuguese Water Dog puppy with us but we needed a pet sitter for Christmas day as we were meeting friends for a movie and dinner. The concierge tried so hard to accomodate us but no one was available to pet sit. Omar and Tom at the front desk volunterred to watch him and walk him while we were out. I was so blown away that they went out of their way to help us out!! From the door staff to front desk, concierge, food staff and all that we came in contact with, everyone was amazing. We loved it and can't wait to go back to the Soho Grand. Truly a 5 star experince!!!! P.S. Jasper loved the dog park!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear mrsleo,
This is such a wonderful review and on behalf of the Soho Grand team, thank you for sharing your experience.
Have an amazing new year and we hope to welcome you, your husband and Jasper back soon.
Best regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#144 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
TriBeCa
Tribeca Grand Hotel
Tribeca Grand Hotel
#162 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#258 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#191 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#7 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Trump SoHo New York
#89 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.