We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place good location ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Grand Weekender
Ranked #165 of 456 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place good location ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beautifull Hotel with a gréât service
The atmosphère is trendy and smart but te room are very différents
Its my 4th trip and stay here
Some room are very dark and need more sunlight
But i Will come back
The restaurant is fine but the room service need to have à menu more végétarian

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    441
    185
    97
    86
See reviews for
96
449
103
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Ok I love to give great reviews and this is a very interesting and fun hotel in the best area of soho. Lots of qualities including energetic warm and friendly staff, clean room, nice bed linens, great atmosphere with very trendy people/furnishings. Liked the smaller bar ok and the menu looked amazing although we didn't eat there. (Check out the awkwardly huge ice cubes in the drinks, they have a mind of their own) I would love to call this place home when I go into the city for the weekend but what was is lacking there, which is THE most important thing to both my husband and me was the smaller king sized bed that was as hard as a rock. (Ok maybe with a thin pad on it). No one can tell me they can sleep on that mattress and get any sleep, enjoy the newspaper, relax in the morning reading or just enjoy a nice conversation stretching in bed. Not to mention, being able to just fall into bed after a long night of walking and shopping. Enough bed talk! Rooms were tiny but we expected that. The price we paid reflected a small room. If they fixed the bed situation, I would definitely go back and request a bigger room and pay extra. Mini bar refridgerator was hot. The bathroom was very small with old style decor and tub. Very minimal but nice products were supplied. Enough shampoo and conditioner for just one person. Everything was clean tho. Best part about this hotel was the lobby/restaurant/bar area atmosphere and if small rooms and hard beds are your thing, you might enjoy it. For the price we paid, (260 plus tax) not a bad place at all. Just can't sleep there in comfort. Sorry

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear shooflyfarm,
Thank you for this detailed review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed both the bar and the lobby. Our Salon and restaurant are major factors in the total experience for our guests so we always enjoy hearing that appreciated the atmosphere. We offer a variety of rooms so on your next stay we will be sure to find one that best suits your needs.
We hope to have you back soon.
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is my regular hotel in New York and I continue to love the location, overall vibe and general service (reception, concierge, doormen etc). The beds are also super comfortable. Yes, there is the slight New York attitude but what do you expect? However, rooms are getting tired as others have commented and the Tvs are completely out of date. Wifi is beyond slow at times. The worst has to be the attitude of the servers in the bar and lounge area..they make you feel beyond small and insignificant and this simply isn't right. My love for this hotel is becoming love-hate. I hope that the next visit won't be my last as I will soon start considering alternatives if these issues are not addressed. Judging by recent comments, I am not alone in this view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear dsbali,
Thank you for reviewing us. Can you please email me directly so that we can discuss your experience and make sure we address each issue directly. As a repeat guest we know you are well aware of our culture so when we have a kink in the system your feedback especailly helps us see where we need improvement. Please email me kfahey@sohogrand.com
Thank you,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camberley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting Soho Grand for many years. We love the location and the concierge and doormen are great, helpful and friendly. However, this hotels prices are getting out of hand for what's on offer. Generally tired and small rooms, questionable plumbing in the bathrooms, pretentious bar and restaurant vibe, the staff taking it on themselves to favor some customers and not others, to the point we avoided the place. Breakfast is cramped into the bar or seated uncomfortably on lounge couches and armchairs in front of coffee tables, looks great, totally impractical. Parking charges are out of control we should have approached close by garages ourselves. The hotel charges $55 per night. Quoted room rates per night charges are high enough but the amount of city and state taxes adds quite a lot of dollars per night to your stay, almost $60 additional in taxes alone each night, not mentioned when you make your reservation. To add insult to injury they charge you $10 for a bottle of Evian that is normally complimentary in hotels in this price range. Many better hotels with equally good or better locations and better prices available, I am afraid we will not be back to the Soho Grand.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Stay for business trip. Free WIFI is convenient. Room is ok size for single person stay. Room is well cleaned everyday and bath room is ok.
As a Japanese, it would be better if Japan NHK TV can be available..

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Great location in heart of Soho near some fabulous shops, bars and restaurants. Hotel very dark and stark. Rooms clean and sufficient for needs. Nice hotel but trying too hard.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear laydee9,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are in fact in the heart of fabulous Soho and many bars and restaurants are close by.
We hope to have you retuning soon and look forward to your next review.
Kindly,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

- my girlfriend and I stayed for one night at this hotel.

- the overall experience was pretty good and what you expect from such an establishment in this price range.

- The interior of public areas and the room are really nice, a bit arty and stylish. The place and room were clean.

- bathroom products provided were of high quality.

- the view from our room (12th floor, facing empire state and skyline) was stunning and a real treat to goto bed and weak up with.


- The room seemed a bit small but that is probably standard in NYC.


- one thing that was slightly irritating but understandable:
For quick check-out a final invoice with all details was to be found slipped through the door in the morning of check out. This makes perfect sense for business people or guests in a rush. As i was there with my girlfriend that was invited, this was not the most romantic thing for her to come across in the morning especially as she did not ought to know about the rate and costs.

Nevertheless that wasn t something, which could have ruined the overall experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear nessie420,
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate a night in the city with your girlfriend. We appreciate your taking time to review and pointing out some of the things you enjoyed during your stay. We are sorry about the bill. We do that as a convenience for our guests but could always forgo it if we are told not to.
We do hope to have you back soon.
Regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.