We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people make the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Weekend Escape
Ranked #155 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The people make the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Grand just has a wonderful friendly atmosphere: every single member of staff we encountered were friendly and efficient, striking exactly the right balance between the formal and the familiar. Breakfast was good, bar is too. Gilligan's is a great place for a couple of cold ones post-shopping, pre-dinner. Whilst the room wasn't jaw-dropping and the bathroom a little tired, the bed was very comfortable and road and AC noise complained of by some other reviewers not an issue - I slept like a baby every night. Location is A1.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear sandy_abstentia,
Thank you for your review. We love that you felt a balance between “formal and familiar” and we hope that you will join us again soon.
We look forward to having you back.
Best regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    461
    197
    100
    86
See reviews for
107
482
106
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is a charming place, old style, room can be small but well decorated, it is also very clean and well situated close to Canal Street Subway Station.
We were at the 11th floor but we could hear the street clearly, that can be annoying at night.

I really liked the place and my stay there but I have to say that there is something a bit "posh" about it, a little bit too serious... Staff is helpful but not very friendly.
People seemed to me a little bit judging, condescending. It is just a feeling.
The bar is beautiful, there is some salons that are also very beautiful, you should definitely explore and visit the place by yourself because no one will show it to you. And there are some very charming hidden spots to be discovered.

I don't regret my entire time in this hotel, it is still a good place but next time in New York, I will try another one !

Room Tip: Maybe rooms that are not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear julilali,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize for any discomfort or negative feeling you experience during your time with us. I would appreciate the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Please email me directly at your earliest convenience kfahey@sohogrand.com

Warmly,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Soho Grand was once a really nice place to stay. Time has not been good to it. While the staff were all great and super friendly and helpful, I think it is time for a deep cleaning of the hotel itself! The main lounge area is adorned with faded, dirty, stained furniture and frayed carpeting. As this is such a key spot/offering for the hotel, why not replace the old tattered furniture? I agree with other reviewers that the darkness/dim lighting is over the top. The rooms are a cross between craftsman, cabin and eclectic design. For the most part my room was clean but the 'step to turn on' lamp had a protruding piece of broken plastic that cut my finger as I fumbled to figure out how to turn it on. Yes AC unit was very loud. While we were there a room was broken into. I called room service once and got a surly, terse staffer. This is a great location, with mostly great staff. Order the kale salad from Gilligan's. Very good. If you can get past the rough around the edges state they have slid into over the years, decent option for Soho area. P.S. very dog friendly!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

So nice to stay in a property where you never "want." Great bed, awesome shower, beautiful view.

More importantly, everything worked perfectly/efficiently -- swift check-in, great service at Gilligan's, friendly staff, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Christopher A,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back.
Best regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Super staff, super dog friendly, super room, super concierge, super service, super hospitality, super place, super Soho Grand. We will see you again soon. Thanks for the perfect place to stay in NY if you want to feel like you are at home on vacation. FYI Louie loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear bkf8556,
Well thank you for your “Super” review. We look forward to having you back at home with us.
Best regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed here for 16 years, and altho it's not quite the hipster attraction it was in the early days, rooms are clean and fresh, and service is better than ever, especially being greeted by Jose at the front door, he always recognizes and acknowledges my husband with a handshake and a smile. You can't beat the location for easy walking access to the Hudson, TriBeCa, Meat Packing, NoLita and the Village.

Room Tip: Prices are low July 4th week so we upgraded to a spacious corner king and the bathroom seemed a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear CO,
Thank you for keeping us your hotel of choice after all these years. Jose and our front door team always make our repeat guest feel like they’ve never left.
Best regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Soho Grand over 4th of July weekend. The location, on West Broadway, was perfect. We were close to subway stops, shopping, and fabulous restaurants. Our concierge, Alicia, got us reservations at Jimmy's at the James hotel for the 4th. I don't know how she pulled that off, but we went to the front of the line and were let in immediately while others were turned away as it was "guests only" at that point.
Great bar in the lounge; all around good spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Janice D,
Thank you so much for the review and for pointing out Alicia. The concierge team knows how to wow our guests and it seems they did it again.
We look forward to your return. It would be my pleasure to make your next reservation for you personally kfahey@sohogrand.com
Best regards,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.