We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Grand Weekender
Ranked #152 of 458 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The lounge at the hotel is awesome. Like one big living room. Great manhattan hip crowd. Rooms are small but good enough for NY. Right in the heart of soho. Surrounded by really good shops and 10 min walk from TriBeCa.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear RO75,
Happy to hear you had a great time with us. When you are next returning please contact me directly so that you have a point person during your stay.
Kinds Regards,
Kelley Fahey
kfahey@sohogrand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    461
    193
    99
    86
See reviews for
106
480
106
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've been travelling frequently in Europe and the US for eighteen months and just had to say this is the worst hotel experience we've had. Badly in need of refurbishment with staff who are not in the hospitality industry. This is a nightclub for under twenty fives not a Hotel.
The memory of this Hotel always comes back to me as hard as I try to forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Jenesaisrich

I’m terribly sorry to hear of your experience. I would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you to try and restore your confidence in us. Please reach out to me directly at your earliest convenience at kfahey@sohogrand.com

Best regards,

Kelley Fahey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I returned to this Hotel after more then 13 years , this time it felt nicer...
You can feel the buzz of the Soho in the Hotel Lobby Bar and the rooms are small but neat.
Had a unique incident , after check in ,I took a shower , went out with underwear (luckily ) as suddenly another guest open the door , and was totally shocked to find a big men in underwear :) .
Anyhow for me it was amused , but i noticed to the reception , they decided to give me a compensation a breakfast , that was nice of them

Overall , nice hotel , but better if you find a good deal (I booked in the last minute Via Booking,com 279$ and got a double upgrade) as I am not sure if it worth the full price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Salvex239,
It is very nice to hear you decided to return after so many years. I apologize for this incident and I am happy to hear that you were pleased with what our team was able to offer you.
Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance with rates directly.
Kind Regards,
Kelley Fahey
kfahey@sohogrand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The best hotel in NYC. Great atmosphere, excellent staff. Overall a wonderful place to stay. I have been staying here for six years and always have had a great time. The rooms are super cozy with great amenities in the bathroom. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Make sure to join the rewards program it has a lot of great perks every time you visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to stay on. It's a better view of the city. Corner kings are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dustin,

Glad to hear you enjoyed yet another stay with us. Thank you for your continued loyalty. As always let me know when you will be returning so I can make your reservation for you.

Best, Kelley
kfahey@sohogrand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Soho Grand over the Christmas holidays and could not have been happier with my experience. The rooms were spacious, particularly for NYC. They were comfortable and had everything I needed. The drinks/dining area was really nice. I had coffee and read the paper there in the mornings, and had pre-dinner drinks there in the evenings. It was filled with couches and comfy chairs rather than looking like a restaurant. The best part of the hotel, however, is probably the location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go - though it is not walking distance to Times Square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to have you back.
Please contact me directly on your next trip.
kfahey@sohogrand.com
Best, Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

a good well positioned hotel that delivers in terms of what a hotels should in terms of room, furnishings etc.
The let down was that with 3 days of attempts at breakfast i never received what i ordered .....more disappointing was the staff's distain and insolence at being asked to correct the situation.
This was akin to our arrival after a transatlantic flight at 11.55pm to be told that we couldn't have any drink at the bar as they had cleaned down the ice....we were after wine...

...go elsewhere there are plenty choices in NY

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Neil61a,

I am very sorry about your disappointment, I would love the opportunity to continue this conversation with you, please feel free to contact me directly, kfahey@sohogrand.com and I will do my best to restore your confidence in us.

Best regards,

Kelley Fahey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed here before and was somewhat turned off by the staff. Not true on this trip. I was greeted very warmly and genuinely upon arrival. The bar staff was equally friendly but the host tried to hard to be intimidating. Just walk right past them and seat yourself in the bar area.

My room was nice, bedding was super and towels were fluffy. I also love a nice hotel robe. There was coffee and cool magazines on the floor - close enough that you could go in the robe.

I loved the location - a subway stop right around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback of your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and will relay them to our team. Please feel free to contact me directly when you are planning your next NYC trip and I would be happy to assist with your accommodation.

Best regards,

Kelley Fahey
Kfahey@sohogrand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.