We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, avoid the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Soho Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Grand Weekender
Ranked #151 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, avoid the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, stylish SoHo base. We had a very nice corner room which was plenty big enough (palatial by usual NYC standards), clean and quiet.
The doormen, bellboys and concierge team looked after us incredibly well. Always a smile on their faces and genuinely willing to help.
Our only small disappointment was breakfast. It appeared that there were not enough staff so service was rushed and more often than not inaccurate. There are plenty of great breakfast venues nearby so I would suggest eating outside the hotel.
Otherwise, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    459
    193
    99
    86
See reviews for
106
480
106
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I love this hotel and I'm generally very picky. The Soho Grand is in a great location, with a warm inviting lobby and staff. The room are on the small side but very well appointed and comfortable. The aesthetic is elegant comfort.

Make sure to get a higher floor and then you can avoid some of the comments made about noise. My room was on the 7th floor and very quiet. I slept very well in the wonderful bed. The hotel has a nice gym if you want to work out and a salon if you want a little pampering. There's no spa but the salon has many spa services.
The Lobby Bar is a great spot for a quiet breakfast in the morning and then turns into a hip scene at night. The staff looks straight from the catwalk. Both the men and women are gorgeous without a hint of snobbery. You can't beat this hotel for location.. when you walk out the door, you're in the heart of Soho and all of its shops and cafes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and we weren't disappointed. If you want to spend time in SoHo - this is the place to be. The rooms are a good size - maybe a little dark as there are no ceiling lights (or I could just be getting old!). You couldn't fault the service you get at this Hotel. Everyone we dealt with was friendly but professional. It's always a good sign of a Hotel's impact when you just don't want to check out. And yes - FREE in room wi-fi!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Chic hotel with friendly staff. Trendy looking lobby. Excellent location for boutique shopping and plenty of small restaurants around. Subway stop is 5 minutes walk away.

Free wifi is always a good sign (and should really be the standard nowadays). However, it lounge/club (located next to the lobby) can get pretty noisy over the weekend. We staid at the 7th floor and yet I was woken up by the rowdy clubbing crowd on the street with noises of glass shattering and constant car-honking. This may very well be an one-off incident however.

Side note: tricky toilet. Either I am stupid or need operating instruction. :-)

I recommend this hotel for a nice couple getaway or singles looking for a good time to spend over the weekend. Definitely a nice refreshing change from those hotels at the tiring tourist area, e.g. Time Sq.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Having grown up staying at the Regency and St Regis i must say i love the cool vibe and layed back atmosphere of hotels like the Soho Grand. We had a great night which started out with drinks in the bar and wound up with a party in the penthouse with one of the best city views. This is now our romantic choice for a night in the city!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Okay, so it's not amazing value for money and the rooms aren't huge, but this is New York so we'll take those negatives as a given.

On the plus side, this is a perfectly-situated hotel on the edge of TriBeCa and Soho. Perfect for shopping and restaurants, and the C line is close by so you can head uptown no problem.

Inside the hotel, the decor is a deft blend of stylish and comfortable. I actually prefer it to its sister hotel TriBeCa Grand, where they spent all their time designing a cool atrium and forgot to put any love into the rooms and bathrooms and corridors.

The bars are really great, a good mix of sofas, tables and barstools, with unusually friendly hosts and excellent and knowledgeable bar staff, moody lighting and everything from sharp cocktails to a well chosen mix of draft beers.

A very cool place which is now my first choice when in NY.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The rooms are clean, very stylish (everything is kept in dark colours, so sometimes you wish just to switch on more light) and the view is nice. The beds are comfortable, unfortunately the noise from the street was a bit annoying in the morning but all in all the location is great. All shops are nearby. I had breakfast in the nearby "Pain Quotidien" which is 2 minutes walk away from the hotel. The staff was friendly and the food in the restaurant was delicious. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.