We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - Best in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Tampa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb - Best in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

This is going to sound a bit over the top but I had an exceptional stay at the Sherry Netherland and give the hotel my highest recommendation:

Location: A perfect location for exploring the city. Central Park is across the street, the exclusive Boutique shops of 5th Avenue and Madison are blocks away, Broadway Theater - Rockefeller Center - top Restaurants and Museums are all a short walk (there is also a beautiful restaurant off the lobby - Cipriani's - but we did not have a chance to visit).

Service: Warm, friendly and very crisp service was delivered throughout my stay. Housekeeping was flawless - with one of the most thorough evening turn-down services I think I have ever experienced. Every inch of our suite was immaculate.

Room: Staying at the Sherry is like having your own luxury apartment right in the city. We had a City View Suite with a lovely view, spacious living area, dining area, beatuiful bath with a fantastic shower and every bath amenity imaginable, and great bedding and linens. Fresh flowers, chocolates, and soft drinks were complimentary with a nice welcome note from the management. The decor was classy and elegant and included all of the modern electronic conveniences.

Summary: Staying at the Sherry makes you feel like a celebrity. It is so intimate and personal, yet offers everything (and all of the services) you can want. Hands down my favorite hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    35
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
112
158
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

When you arrive the door will be opened for you. When you get into the sequestered gilded lobby you will be introduced to each of the staff members who will be helping you during your stay. One of them will escort you to your room. This is a hotel for extreme privacy, right on the southern edge of Central Park. The spacious rooms evoke an old Holywood film, and you leave partly surprised you didn't meet Fred Astaire. If you've never felt special, this place will teach you some tricks.

  • Liked — superior service and privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

SN is a small jewel.
It has only 50 rooms and suites. Most or all are individually owned and furnished but run by the hotel. Rooms are recently renovated and are luxurious in traditional way.
It is like having your own opulent apartment at the best location in NY.

  • Liked — private ldeluxe apartment feeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

Absolutely gorgeous, large suite with expansive views on Central Park. It even came complete with binoculars and a bird watching book as well as a telescope - very nice touches! Lovely large master bathroom, huge living room that was really lushly appointed, not so large bedroom ( ! ) , sweet guest bath. Extraordinary views, excellent service, excellent room service, great location. If you don't mind spending - this is a wonderful choice.

  • Liked — Lushness of suite
  • Disliked — can't think of anything!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

Very nice hotel, a little overpriced. I do have to agree with a previous write-up, in saying that the front desk help are not very nice. You would think they would be a bit more courteous. Just remember there are plenty to choose from.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Watch yourself with this hotel! They wait until the night before you arrive to send out a confirmation email and they change the prices.

We booked ourselves into a suite 6 weeks in advance. A day before we arrived they sent a confirmation email with a 15% increase in price and an extra charge added for our intended use of the sleepr sofa for our two children.

The reservation clerk I spoke to giggled on the phone when I called to ask why the price had been raised.

The Netherland has seen better days - recommend avoiding it!

  • Disliked — Extremely poor service and attitude
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCityRoadie, Rooms Division Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2007
The Sherry-Netherland regrets that this traveler felt he was overcharged, and that the hotel is overpriced. In the event a guest has not been sent a confirmation, The Sherry will make every attempt to honor the rate the guest thought he was entitled to. Our policy is to send a confirmation within 48 hours of booking, and on all confirmations it should state the price of an additional bed, $20. This clearly did not happen for this guest, and we apologize for the omission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I was put up here for the week by a client after the usual hotel I stay at fell through, and it was a pleasure. The room I was in was wonderful, though I didn't get the view of the city or park that other rooms would have. I'd like to complement them on being the first hotel I have stayed in where they actually have HDTV programming for the HDTV's (everyone else just has stretched standard TV signals on their expensive LCD TV's I find). The hotel gym was by far the best I've had in the past year on the road, with plenty of cardio equipment with individual LCD TV's, and a good selection of machine and free weights as well. The shower in my room was the best I've experienced as well, tons of pressure.

The only downsides to the hotel were that the wireless internet access was fairly slow, and would drop sometimes for a few seconds, and it just felt strange to me to have someone run the elevator for me. I didn't like having someone know that I was just stepping out to grab a burger down the street.

It's out of my price range when I come to NYC for fun unfortunately, but I do hope that work can put me up here again the next time I'm in town for business.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.