We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Location and Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Greenwood, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, Location and Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at The Sherry- Netherland and will not be our last. The staff was absolutely wonderful and catered to all your needs. Tammy, the concierge was so helpful. She even discussed in length with our 16 yr. old one evening an itinerary for following day. The rooms are the largest I have ever seen in NYC. The bathroom is marble and has every special item you would need, including extra toothpaste,mouthwash,etc. The mini refrigerator is stocked with water and soft drinks during your stay and a coffee at no cost to you! Location was fantastic! I can't say enough about this hotel except thanks to everyone that made our stay so nice!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    35
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
112
156
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had the pleasure of being recommended to this hotel by a family member. We stayed here for three nights. Stunning hotel. The lobby is just beautiful, when I walk in, I thought I was at the Sistine Chapel in Rome. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised, that was the best part, we were given a large suite with a very nice bathroom, large closet, nice leaving room and a kitchen area, everything was very lovely and clean. The staff was very friendly it was just wonderful, we just can’t fault anything. My only regret, no enough time, there is so much to do in the city. Location is perfect. I can’t wait to come back and stay at this gorgeous hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited the Sherry-Netherland Hotel for the first time this past weekend. We were deeply impressed by all aspects of the experience. The hotel staff are the friendliest we have ever experienced in Manhattan. The facility is immaculately maintained, the rooms are spacious and beautiful, and the little extras are noticeable. For example, the hotel provides free wifi, free soda and bottled water, free Sunday NY Times, a box of dark chocolates on arrival. These are things that you typically expect to pay extra for at other high-end NYC hotels. Other establishments may have larger reputations and more heralded names; none, including the Waldorf, is better than the Sherry-Netherland.

Room Tip: For a more affordable experience, choose an interior room with no view (to speak of). Chances are y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An absolute PERFECT experience from check-in through check-out, we just enjoyed three nights of absolute bliss! Beyond reproach, the staff, service, food, cleanliness, location and view are the best that we have ever experienced in NYC and we will continue to return to The Sherry Netherland Hotel for all of our future trips.

Room Tip: Room 1204!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was big (for NYC). The water pressure in the shower was seriously amazing. The staff is helpful. The location is perfect (right across the street from the Plaza). They give you a very cute tin of chocolate covered almonds when you arrive in your room. The whole experience of staying here was fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary with a trip to NYC. The entire experience at The Sherry was fabulous. From the room with fresh cut flowers to the beautiful lobby to the fabulous staff it surpassed our expectations. I can't recommend it enough.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all I would like to thank all whom write a positive comments coz the hotel and people over there really deserved they cover the tiny details. I made my reservation based on your high reviews.Nothing to add; other than emphasizing on your recommendation, true every single thing let you feel home, the People work their are outstanding where all have the charisma to let you feel delight. It's true bathroom and hotel are old; lobby and reception are very small give you the feeling that it's not a 5 stars hotel but a soon as you enter your room all your estimation will change. The location is amazing for whom want shopping and walk around for cafe and food. If I'm back the sherry Netherland will be my first choice. Thank you all for making my stay royalty.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.