We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just returned from a terrific from NYC. We treated ourselves to the Sherry and it did not disappoint. There are so many reasons why we loved the hotel but we do not want to repeat what the other reviewers have already described so well: the location is absolutely fantastic, the attention from the staff is very welcoming and we especially loved the attention to the detail - fresh flowers, Godiva chocolates, a personalized welcome note... and so much more. We loved it all and we will be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    37
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
119
173
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We picked this hotel largely for its #1 review on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.
My wife and I had a weekend stay and it seemed as if were the only people in the hotel, we never saw anyone else in the elevator or the hallways.

First the hotel is beautiful.. Old world, clean, the elevators have the most beautiful paintings said to be from a Vanderbilt mansion. Our room was a single and it was good sized especially for NYC. Our room had a safe and the refrigerator was stocked with soda and water which the bellman said would be replenished free of charge and they were. We felt very safe there and it was quiet at night.

The entire staff was friendly and professional, from the front desk, bellmen and the elevator operators. It was a classy operation. Chocolates in your room and turn down service, what's not too like? Complimentary lemon cookies with coffee is a nice, delicious touch. Everyone was helpful with tips on places to eat and sights to see.

The Cipriani restaurant on the first floor is a trip, great people watching. Way overpriced, seemed to be rich people looking to make to make the scene. Some odd pairings. The staff however was again excellent, Pouring Bellinis ( champagne and white peach juice) freely and dessert after dessert. Overall fun as after two Bellinis you can't take anything too seriously.

Last the location was excellent. Directly across from Central Park and on Fifth Ave close to shopping.

The Sherry is not cheap, but we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

What can I say. This place is perfect.

1) You can't beat the location. Its across the street from Central Park and the NRQ trains.
2) All employees were helpful and courteous. If we needed directions, advice on local dining, reservations, or room service they did not disappoint. Also their advice for a great cup of coffee or some of the most satisfying sushi was well appreciated.
3) The history of the hotel is intriguing. You're transported to a lush way of living once you walk into the lobby. Amazing architecture, historical art, and details that make the eyes wander.
4) The rooms are regal. Extremely comfortable with a lush feel. Just amazing charm. More charm than any other hotel I ever stayed at. Very impressive.
5) Just a great place to enjoy. It has so much to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This review is long overdue. The two of us wanted a special and romantic place to stay for New Years Eve. We could not have picked a better hotel. The location is perfect and we walked across the street to Central Park to see the fireworks.

All members of the concierge gave us exceptional attention and made us feel as if we were the only guests. We became quite comfortable coming back each day to friendly faces and an inviting room after a busy NY day.

The rooms are beautiful and full of wonderful details. The little box of chocolate in our room reminds us of such an amazing experience, we are using it as the box to hold our rings at our wedding rings this August!

I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

Room Tip: Even if your outside view is simple, turn around an enjoy how gorgeous the rooms are inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sherry Netherland in a one bedroom suite for a week in mid June. This was our second visit over the last 12 months and it was again a very happy experience. Staff at the front desk greeted us with genuine warmth and made us feel " at home" right away! The accommodation is spacious at the Sherry and furnishings of high quality. We had one of the most comfortable beds to sleep in and the bathroom was quite large by NY Hotel standards. But the standout feature is the service - Sherry staff are all just so friendly and helpful. They are obviously well selected and highly trained. Well done! We look forward to our next visit to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

"Old School Elegance" Staying at the Sherry is the way staying at a hotel used to be! Providing superior accommodations; large room, very quiet, complimentary soft drinks, water and toiletries, and turn down service, the Sherry exceeded my expectations. The staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Highly recommend to anyone looking for that home away from home luxury experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large, if you are not particular about a view, the interior rooms offer the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose the Sherry Netherland for a trip to celebrate my son's 16th birthday. Our purpose was to see the museums, central park and a show. I wanted something unique and different and the Sherry did not disappoint. The 2 room suite (207) overlooked Cartier and the Apple store, the bathroom was a great size. The living room was spacious. Loved the small kitchen with Kuerig and fridge stocked with waters and soda ( all complimentary). What really impressed was the personal service and attention to detail. From the minute we arrived, my son was greeted and wished a Happy Birthday, check in was quick and pleasant, valet parking was no hassle. The bellman who showed us our room ( I believe it was Mauro) could not have been more helpful. Jacqueline Acosta who assisted with my reservation took such good care, answering all my questions pre-visit. The birthday card, and cupcakes with candles waiting by the fresh flowers was an impressive touch. No request was any problem. Each and every member of the staff we encountered was so pleasant and kind. We were sad to check out after the weekend ended. The Sherry will definitely be the hotel selected when I return to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,947 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,062 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,557 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Hotel Giraffe
#5 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.