We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Excellent Hotel, The Best of NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, Excellent Hotel, The Best of NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

"Old School Elegance" Staying at the Sherry is the way staying at a hotel used to be! Providing superior accommodations; large room, very quiet, complimentary soft drinks, water and toiletries, and turn down service, the Sherry exceeded my expectations. The staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Highly recommend to anyone looking for that home away from home luxury experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large, if you are not particular about a view, the interior rooms offer the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    42
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
123
175
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose the Sherry Netherland for a trip to celebrate my son's 16th birthday. Our purpose was to see the museums, central park and a show. I wanted something unique and different and the Sherry did not disappoint. The 2 room suite (207) overlooked Cartier and the Apple store, the bathroom was a great size. The living room was spacious. Loved the small kitchen with Kuerig and fridge stocked with waters and soda ( all complimentary). What really impressed was the personal service and attention to detail. From the minute we arrived, my son was greeted and wished a Happy Birthday, check in was quick and pleasant, valet parking was no hassle. The bellman who showed us our room ( I believe it was Mauro) could not have been more helpful. Jacqueline Acosta who assisted with my reservation took such good care, answering all my questions pre-visit. The birthday card, and cupcakes with candles waiting by the fresh flowers was an impressive touch. No request was any problem. Each and every member of the staff we encountered was so pleasant and kind. We were sad to check out after the weekend ended. The Sherry will definitely be the hotel selected when I return to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We've stayed at the Sherry-Netherland for years and its always perfect. But, somehow it just keeps improving. The lobby renovations are almost complete and look spectacular. The suites are all different, but all beautiful and exceedingly comfortable. Service is so friendly and attentive you feel as if you are the only ones there. We find the fluffy comforters too hot, so the first night replaced the one on the bed with the blanket from the closet. On subsequent nights, during turn-down service, housekeeping made up the bed that way. It's just one example of the attention to detail here. The location alone would make this an easy choice, but with everything else to recommend it, we never consider trying another New York hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

What can I say, this was an amazing hotel. I was fortunate to get in at the last minute given a friend who couldn't use the reservation. Too notch in every area. The rooms luxurious, the food to die for, the staff super professional. Thank goodness my company footed the bill because it was pricy!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is an incredible hotel. It is a charming European boutique hotel. It is located in a prime Manhattan location. The staff is exceptional. Truly a 5 star experience.The room was beautiful. It had a gorgeous view as well.I look forward to a return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I brought our two youngest daughters (11 & 13) to NYC for 4 days of shopping, dining and shows. This was my first time staying at this fantastic hotel and our experience was incredible! Great staff (especially Reginald and Tammy) throughout. The gentlemen operating the elevators were always very welcoming as were the doormen. The bartender in Harry Cipriani's(don't know name. Bald with glasses) was a great guy! Very accommodating and great to talk to. The manager in the restaurant was great as well. We are looking forward to our next trip to NYC and to The Sherry Netherland!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This was the most fantastic hotel stay I have ever experienced!!! My husband and I went to NYC to celebrate my birthday and the Sherry-Netherland staff treated us like VIP's. As soon as we arrived they upgraded our room to a suite just because it was my birthday. Complete with two bathrooms, a living area and the most amazing views. They had two cupcakes and a birthday card waiting for me in our room when we arrived. They did everything from making our dinner reservations to helping us secure theatre tickets (thank you Elizabeth, you were a dream!). The staff is amazing!! Pete went above and beyond to make us feel "at home". He even personally escorted us to a restaurant instead of just giving us directions. One night after returning from the theatre (late) we really wanted something sweet, but everywhere was closed. Pete had the restaurant, Cipriani's open up their already closed doors for us and they served us the most amazing desserts!! The location is amazing. Right on 5th Ave in front of Central Park. The interior of the hotel and room was amazing. Very clean and elegant...trust me because I am super picky about where we stay. My husband and I have both been to NYC several times and The Sherry-Netherland far exceeded our expectations. We will most definitely stay here on any future trips as I cannot imagine a hotel any better than the Sherry!! If you are looking for a fantastic NYC experience, look no further. They are THE BEST!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,009 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,154 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,625 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#5 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,551 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at The New York Palace
The Towers at The New York Palac...
#12 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.