We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Divine Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location could not be more perfect. From the moment we walked into the lobby with the handpainted frescoes of the Vatican Library to the exquisite hand painted elevators, to the service, to the rooms, we were enchanted. The suite was so beautiful, with views and kitchen, that we never wanted to leave. Cipriani's Restaurant in the hotel was superb. We ate there 3 times during our stay and they provide the room service for the hotel. Magical experience. At the corner of Central Park, across from the Plaza, and Bergdorf Goodman and FAO Schwartz, no reason to ever go home again!!!!! Thanks to the amazing staff as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    36
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
115
170
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent one night at the Sherry-Netherland in early May of 2014. What a wonderful lobby to stroll into, and the location was perfect for proximity to our event at the Society of Illustrators, and just poking around Central Park. The staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

At the corner of 59th and 5th, the location is perfect. As someone who tries to avoid chain hotels (of which there are many in New York) this is one of three perfect alternatives. This is not a see and be seen place. The lobby is beautiful but tiny. No one gets past the front desk and into the operated elevators (elevatormen!) without being known. Rooms are all different (many are actually privately owned condos that are rented out when the owners are not there) and impeccably maintained. Room service is from Cipriani's; food is great but service not at the level expected at this kind of hotel. It is delivered and picked up, but the flair is not there. In any case, one of the best places to stay in NYC when price is no object.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the "outside" or you will be looking at nothing but other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have just returned from an eleven night stay at The Sherry-Netherland. What a fantastic experience. The interior of this hotel, especially the lobby is stunning. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. They are incredible. Our actual suite was out of this world. It consisted of a beautifully furnished sitting room that was huge, a very large separate bedroom with the most comfortable bed ever, a kitchen with a coffee pod machine(very handy) and a lovely period featured bathroom. There was plenty of hanging storage space which is not normally the case. The refrigerator was kept stocked with complimentary water and soft drinks. The bathroom had lots of first class toiletries and many extras.
The concierge Russell was so helpful, as was Renee. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff go the extra mile.
All the staff are an asset.
Definitely our best holiday ever!

Room Tip: City or park views are a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I just spent a weekend in Manhattan and after staying at many of the well known 5 star hotels over the past 4 decades,I was ready for a change.
I was attending a wedding at the Plaza and as my last stay there was non impressive, I decided to try The Sherry - Netherland directly across the street on Central Park.
I read reviews of the SN on trip advisor and most were favorable.
I checked in feeling a bit under the weather on a rainy friday afternoon and the process was warm and welcoming and our stay at this gem of a hotel kept getting better and better.
The staff warmly greeted us by name and escorted us to our charming and elegant room where we were welcomed with fresh flowers,chocolates and a lovely handwritten note .Our room was laden with complimentary mineral and still waters,sodas ,coffees,teas,(various types)and just about any type of toiletry that one could possible need.
Our room was very spacious ,comfortable and reminded me of a time gone by with old time elegance ,charm and extraordinary comfort.
We proceeded to the downstairs bar at Harry's Cipriani,had great cocktails and returned to our room before heading out on the town.
The housekeeping staff here was the best that I ever encountered and our housekeeper,Jade was a treasure .When she noticed that I suffered from allergies she brought me bottles of mineral water and various coffee and teas for the excellent brewing system in the room.
We felt as if we were in our own quiet apartment above the busy city as contrasted to the larger more impersonal feel of many of the larger chains.
As a matter of fact when I returned to the Plaza for wedding events over the course of the weekend,I was delighted that I decided to stay at the Sherry- Netherland Hotel.
The often impersonal and rude service I received by various servers and attendants at the Plaza made this customer certain that I would never return there.
I plan to return often to the S-N,my new hotel of choice in Manhattan and understand why it continues to get such high reviews and accolades on Trip Advisor and other rating services.
Hats off to the staff for a job well done.
Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Spent two days at the Sherry Netherland,to celebrate a special birthday. When we arrived I was a little surprised at how quiet the lobby was,seemed like we were the only people there. We up graded for a small fee to a suite.Omg,Omg the room was old world elegant,it was the size of an apartment.Bathroom had enough towels to last a week.Service was excellent,everybody knew you by name.It was very relaxing,if you are looking for action this is define truly not the place. This hotel far exceeded my expect ions. They even sent flowers and chocolate almonds to the room!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was our third stay in the last six months. The first was due to the hotel's Tripadvisor rating, the next two were due to the wonderful experience we had in the previous stay(s). The building is a classic Fifth Avenue co-op building with a hotel interwoven within. I think there are only about fifty units which are rented as hotel suites. The rest are occupied by the residents. These residents are in effect the employers of the staff so the service is amazingly personal and attentive. We loved having breakfast in the on-site restaurant, one of the Cipriani chain of restaurants which offers a discount to hotel guests. I will mention parenthetically that the hotel also has a discount arrangement with the Botega del Vino restaurant next door. We had several great lunches there. They have a carryout counter, a casual eating area (no table clothes) as well as nice dining room (white table cloths).
The location of the hotel at the corner of Fifth and 59th is very convenient, particularly to mid-town and the east side and is a short cab/healthy walk from Times Square and the theater district. I characterize it that way because cabs are hard to come by when all the theaters let out at the same time so we usually walk back to the Sherry. Yes that's how we regulars refer to the hotel:-). The hotel is on the northeast corner, and counter clock-wise you have the huge Apple store, FAO Schwartz, Bergdorf Goodman (men) Bergdorf Goodman (ladies), the small park in front of the Plaza Hotel, and finally the large park known as Central Park on the northwest corner.
And, if you really fall in love with the place they have a number of units being offered for sale at any given time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.