We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Namur, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 8 days in this beautiful and charming hotel. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a superb suite on the 21st floor with view on the plaza. The staff was helpful and very friendly and competent at all times. Our suite was extremely comfortable, we had a huge living room, very nicely decorated, a big bedroom with walk in dressing room and ensuite bathroom. There was also a fully equipped small kitchen.
Room service was from Harry Cipriani, restaurant down stairs, which we used once to order a simple salad. This came in a large bowl with a basket of fresh bread, butter, ice water and a plate of delicious cookies served by a classy butler: impressive. We went to the restaurant too which is a great place especially for the bellinis and watching " the people" dining there
The interior decoration of the public areas of the Hotel is very warm and elegant with a special mention for the elevators' interior.
We needed guidance ( restaurants, shops...) on several occasions and were allways given very good advice.
For what we wanted to do in New York the Hotel was located right were we had to be, close to the museums and shopping areas, so most of the time we could just walk to our destination.
As foreigners we knew New York was not cheap but at this hotel the expense is worth every penny and I would recommend it to everyone wanting to feel home when traveling.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better (probably).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    35
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
113
158
24
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location on 5th Avenue right on Central Park. The room was a decent size. Service was excellent with free wifi, water, coffee, and tea in the room. The reason for not giving a better rating is that the room next to us was a construction site. Drilling and pounding started as early as eight in the morning. From a five star hotel I would have expected someone to inform us of this construction work and offer to switch rooms if necessary.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location is incredible and only after you are inside you realize the history behind the building,
really friendly service, there is so much staff available.
Try to get a room in the front with a view, or the corner with the Plaza view.
The higher the better of course................
Some bathrooms are original, amazing decorations, please not the quality of the elevator interior.
Enjoy your stay in one of the best hotel in the world.

Room Tip: back for silence front for view but noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin, French Antilles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are looking for excellency on service and professional staff, The Sherry-Netherland Hotel is one of the great places to be at. Accommodations are of a unique style, extremely clean and with a particular enchanting charm. The hotel has a convenient location and offers a wonderful ambiance. Congratulations to each and every staff member for contributing to an excellent job like this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have stayed here many times and have never had one complaint. This gorgeous property has an amazing staff. The location is perfect and the hotel is quiet. Great access to subway and across from Central Park. This is my home away from home and won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The decor and its meaningfully helpful staff transport you back to a halcyon age of effortless charm and comfort, with just 50 rooms I found the attention to detail was unrivaled and was always delivered with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel has excellent location which near all the big brand names and services were very pleasant. room was very clean, nice decorated and quit too. The restaurant serve good foods. overall its a very good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.