We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Sandton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A great location corner 59th St and 5th Ave manhattan overlooking the park. A 5 star hotel with ex friendly staff that really make you feel welcome and at home and who go the extra mile, Nothing is too much trouble for them. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Sherry-Netherland is a jewel, with impeccable, understated service and the quiet luxury of a private New York pied à terre -- not surprising, since many of the rooms are private residences. On the corner of Fifth Avenue and 59th Street, in the heart of Manhattan, it is a haven from the bustle of the city. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and well appointed; the small lobby is exquisite; the elevators works of art in themselves, with intricate, delicate paneling. The staff at every level are incomparable -- gracious, attentive and respectful. Within this tiny space are the elegant Garren salon, a workout facility and the restaurant Harry Cipriani. The Sherry is the best hotel in New York, and possibly anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmayphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Sherry. Always a pleasure to stay here. Fabtastic location and all of the staff are extremly welcoming. I am looking forward to my next visit. The lobby is currently under restiration but don't let this put you off and when it is completed it will look incredible and bring the Sherry back to all its original glory

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I recently returned to the Sherry Netherland hotel with hopes that it would be as enjoyable as our prior visits. I am pleased to report that our experience was even better, indeed terrific. Every aspect from convenient location to its rich history, architecture and furnishings, to its friendly and most professional staff attention to detail from arrival to departure were superb. Deserving of its recognition as one of New york's finest,
RonM

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for three nights last week and were pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. This hotel is right by Central Park, 25 yards out the door! It is on 7th Ave and the great shops are really just seconds away. They dont have a bar which I always consider a negative, but the Plaza with all of its opulance is only 100 yards away. What sets this hotel apart is the top notch staff and reception you get. They even have an elevator operator! The plus side is that this hotel is a real 5 star with 4 star pricing. All the more left over to see the city. If you don't mind not having the glitz in the lobby, this is a nice quite retreat in a fab location with a very attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawneerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

As with all the other reviewers, the Sherry-Netherland Hotel is wonderful in all regards, We feel it is our home away from home.

If there is a negative, it is that room service comes from the Cipriani restaurant, which is semi-attached to the hotel. From Cipriani we have never had a good meal.

Room Tip: We always a suite; all of which have been spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Every time I walk through the doors at the Sherry I am welcomed with chimes of "Welcome home"! And I love it! From the gentleman that greats me at my car, the front desk, elevators, housekeeping and even in the Restaurant. Such a friendly atmosphere in a city that most people find the local cold and un friendly. At the Sherry Netherlands it is and always will be my home away from home.

Room Tip: All perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 466 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,514 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,256 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
The Towers at Lotte New York Pal...
#10 of 466 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#6 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,760 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#7 of 466 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing