We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay As If You Live In NY
Ranked #3 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classic Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I decided to splurge for our 40th anniversary and stay at the Sherry-Netherland Hotel for an extended weekend. I must say the experience was delightful. The room was elegant and spacious and the staff could not have been more helpful. They even arranged for a complimentary bottle of champagne on account of the special occasion. I will return on our 50th.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    33
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
95
124
20
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Sherry Netherland countless times over the last five years for work. The location - at 59th and 5th - is obviously great and the hotel is priced pretty reasonably. The rooms are well sized for Manhattan and I love that they have a complimentary mini-bar. The hotel gym is pretty pathetic for a hotel of this ilk -- it is my biggest gripe. The other annoying thing about the hotel is that elevators are always manned by hotel employees which seems like an antiquated novelty that makes me feel very uncomfortable. I often get upgraded to a larger when I stay which is always great and they always greet me with chocolates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kkinet1, Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our property. The hotel is a Boutique property and our fitness center is small yet has the ability for a decent work out. We have planned a upgrade of the facility and it will have the most updated equipment, which will be completed by November 8th . We have been complimented on our elevators being manned, many guests feel the sense of being safe when they are here. Since we are a mix of residential apartments and hotel rooms we are very conscious about security. We pride ourselves on our attention to our guests needs, and our staff focuses on providing outstanding service. I am pleased you seem overall to enjoy your stay and we do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Definitely one of the nicest hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to the USA.

The staff were very friendly. They always greeted you warmly, making it feel more like you were coming back home rather than back to your hotel room.

Our toilet overflowed during our stay, after a call to reception they had two staff members there in a matter of minutes to fix and clean it. Couldn't have asked for better.

Fantastic location, easy walks to Times Square, Central Park and anything else you could want.

Would highly recommend the Sherry-Netherland!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel's own motto holds true: as a European (demanding) traveller, we have highly appreciated the discrete, elegant top service of this place. Located at the heart of what makes NYC tick, it is a true pleasure to sejourn here, just like being at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying at the Sherry-Netherland Hotel is a wonderful experience of old world charm and execleent, friendly service. I always feel welcome and appreciated as a customer. I go to New York City six or seven times a year. My rating of the Sherry has been and continues to be excellent in all categories.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

it was really nice to stay here, the location, the beautiful and quaint rooms, the professionalism of the staff, the breakfast and the services offered make this place a must to stay in NY
congratulations!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The Sherry-Netherland is unmatched for service, courtesy and professionalism. The staff, one and all, made us feel completely at home in the middle of NYC. One evening, when noisy neighbors had us fearing an uncomfortable night, the front desk immediately spoke with them and peace and quiet was soon returned. It's adverse circumstances like this and how staff handles them that are the true measure of an elite hotel. The Sherry is superb!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.