We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 5* luxury and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing 5* luxury and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a hotel. This place is a real must in nyc! Upon arrival treated like royalty. The hotel made a real fuss of our 2yr old daughter and bought a nyc teddy for her and left it in the room for our first night return. Russel the concierge was lovely made us feel so welcome. Chocs and flowers were a real touch but the free wifi and complimentry drinks in the fridge was just lovely. Large room and huge wardrobe space. We also tweeted about the hotel and received two free bellinis. Whilst we didnt have a room with a great view the hotel was perfect in everyway. Thanks for an amazing stay. Superb location we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    37
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
119
173
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautifully appointed rooms, great service, fantastic views and perfect location. Splurge for the central park view, you won't be disappointed. Kitchenette is a major bonus if travelling with small kids. Only (minor) drawback is the room service, while very good, is overpriced. But you are in Central New York, you have a million food options!

Room Tip: Central Park Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Travelers will notice first when entering the Sherry-Netherlands Hotel on the east side of Fifth Ave at 59th Street the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, then the coziness of its lobby, and the brief walk from the street to your lodgings - suite or room. You'll notice a historic property, still lively and vivacious, marked by elegance, cleanliness, comfort, artwork and excellent food, but it is that short walk - for there is no grand piano playing, no echoing marbled lobby to clang and trudge through with noise bouncing from the floors and walls, no the Sherry has the feel of grand elegance and style on an intimate scale.

Room Tip: If you have the doo-rey-me - enjoy a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the beautiful Sherry Netherland Hotel for two nights. I wish I could have stayed for a week! The staff is nice, polite and extremely helpful. When I returned at night, they made me feel like I were returning to my home for the evening. The lobby and elevators are spectacular. The rosewood in the elevator is amazing! My room was beautiful and spacious. Room service is provided by Cipriani--who could ask for more? The location is the best in the city. I will definetly stay there on all my business and pleasure trips to New York City.

Room Tip: My room looked out onto a beautiful, quiet courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A great stay at a wonderful hotel! Theresa and the entire staff were exceptional!!! Our room was perfect!! Very spacious with the most comfortable bed! We loved the old world style of the hotel, the view to central park and the location!!! We highly recommend staying here and look forward to going back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a quiet refuge but in an excellent location. We again had a spacious room, very comfortable bed, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Our 2nd visit to this hotel was as good as the first, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Views of the park are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is a real treasure. We were treated with utmost friendliness and helpfulness by the staff at all times. The rooms were huge - the courtyard room that my teenage son had on his own was not officially a suite but had 2 bathrooms, sitting room and massive TV. The view over Central Park from our room was quintessential New York. Decor was comfortable old style but modern functionally so met all our needs. Do stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,956 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,070 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,561 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Hotel Giraffe
#5 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.